We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay”
Review of Ryokan Fujioto

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nagiso-machi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ryokan Fujioto
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Highlight of our trip to Japan. Everyone at Fujioto was so welcoming and hospitable and went out of their way to make our stay so memorable. Food was some of the best we had in Japan. Rooms are so spacious and comfortable. Could not fault a thing. Would make sure we stayed there again on our return to Japan. Amazing.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    23
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
195
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Highlight of our trip to Japan. This place is run by a friendly gentleman called Franco. His wife will make you some of the best Japanese food you will eat in Japan, all local ingredients and recipes.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the surrounding gardens immaculately kept. If you're gonna spend some time at a Ryokan, it won't get much better than at Ryokan Fujioto,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Almost everything positive one can say about this place has been said already. I second all of that: excellent ryokan experience, amazing food/rooms/garden/baths/and most of all Franco and his wife and staff. And I also second the sentiment: HIGHLIGHT OF OUR TRIP TO JAPAN! For any friend visiting the region, I would almost insist that they make a stop here.

We hiked up from Magome (left our bags with the courier who brought them to Tsumago=excellent). The 2 hour hike was gorgeous (we took our time).

I might also mention, that the day we hiked and stayed in the ryokan was also the day my fiance and I got engaged... When Franco found out, he had his staff prepare a little photo with our picture (they took it upon our arrival) and the date of our engagement on it... in addition to a little congratulatory plate from Fujioto and flowers and candles in our room. It was beautiful and thoughtful and something we will keep forever.

We loved the 10 course meal (I never thought I would eat wasp larvae - but it was surprisingly good, and apparently an aphrodesiac according to our server!) The tempura was beautiful - looked like modern art.

The rooms were so quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed wearing the robes (can't remember the real name of them) and the slippers. Oh, and the hot bath they had us take before dinner was so relaxing and a great way to start the evening.

So yes, everything here is wonderful/beautiful and I can't imagine anything you would change about it. But I think what really makes it special is the obvious love and attention to detail that Franco and his wife and staff put into making the ryokan really, really special. In my opinion, this is one of the best places/experiences I've ever had while traveling anywhere in the world... this is a place that everyone should experience at least once in their life.

*We were there in May of 2012. My original review disappeared, so I am reposting it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avideno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here in November and just loved it. The owner was very solicitous and thankfully explained each course in detail. The meal both nights was an adventure. Enjoyed the routine of having a bath before dinner and then relaxing in our Yugatas before dinner. We walked the Nagasendo Way in both directions. It only took us less than 3 hours to get to Magone and less back (more downhill). Perfect day with all the autumnal colours you expect this time of year. A real highlight of our 2 weeks in Japan. Fortunately didn't meet any bears en route. A really great stay and highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sjmluckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The lovely owner of the ryokan was waiting for us as we arrived. Although we had arrived late, he was very gracious and gave us a tour before ushering us down for a fantastic multi-course meal. Tempura with matcha flavoured salt was really good.

Excellent english spoken, as well as free wi-fi and very clean facilities. In the morning before we left, our host made sure to tell us about the local historical parade that was to take place, as well as arranging for a taxi to take us to the train station afterwards.

The room was very large and spacious with an excellent view of the gardens.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arabella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Fujioto (and Tsumago) were highlights of our two week trip to Japan. On arrival at the ryokan we were made to feel very welcome and given a detailed tour of the facilities and routines of the traditional ryokans. There were no language difficulties, the hosts all speak great English. We were shown to a very large room that overlooked the large front garden, and separate from the other bedrooms, so very quiet. Our only sadness was that we were only staying one night, and ideally we'd have loved to just spend a whole day relaxing in that room, drinking matcha and watching the world go by.

The food here was simply fantastic and plenty of it, I've never eaten anything like it. We were introduced to all the local delicacies with some hints of how best to approach (and combine) the dishes. I thoroughly enjoyed the evening meal and breakfast I had here, wearing yukata and staring out over a wooded mountainside.

The cedarwood baths were great - they offer private bathing (unlike other ryokan we stayed at), which was great. The bathroom at the rear of the property looks out over the mountain, and you can bathe with the window open without being disturbed.

The toilets are separate to the the rooms, as expected, and can be a little cold in the evening. However, this is a small price to pay for such a lovely place.

We were due to walk the postal trail to Magome following our stay, but the weather was terrible. The owner very kindly drove us to our next ryokan in Magome and gave us some umbrellas. We then walked back to Tsumago the following day (which was gloriously sunny) and called in at Fujioto again to thank them for their kindness (and return some umbrellas).

I can highly recommend a stay here, where you can be assured of a warm welcome, and look forward to returning again some day.

Room Tip: The room above the kitchen is very large and has the best view of the large garden in front of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Very welcoming place to stay. Food was excellent with enough vege options to make a complete meal both at dinner and breakfast. Room was comfortable. Could possibly improve shared bathroom experience: soaking tub water was just tepid not hot and downstairs bathroom toilets had strong odors. Also, bathrooms close for cleaning in the morning during a time that would be useful to have them available.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippin321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagiso-machi
8.6 mi away
Hotel Route Inn Nakatsugawa Inter
0.0 mi away
Tokonamiso
Tokonamiso
#4 of 8 in Nagiso-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Fuki no Mori
Hotel Fuki no Mori
#2 of 8 in Nagiso-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kisoji
Hotel Kisoji
#3 of 8 in Nagiso-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Hanasarasa
Hotel Hanasarasa
#1 of 15 in Nakatsugawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tajimaya
Tajimaya
#1 of 16 in Nakatsugawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Fujioto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Fujioto

Property: Ryokan Fujioto
Address: Tsumago Azuma, Kiso-gun, Nagiso-machi 399-5302, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kiso-gun > Nagiso-machi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagiso-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ryokan Fujioto Hotel Nagiso-Machi
Ryokan Fujioto Japan/Nagiso-Machi, Kiso-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing