We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little place in a great village”
Review of Ryokan Fujioto

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nagiso-machi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ryokan Fujioto
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful little place in a great village”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This ryokan is lovely. Great staff and wonderful food. It's located right in the Center of a traditional Japanese village, which is very quiet in the evening, when all the tourist visitors have gone.
The owner speaks many languages, and will explain everything, if this is your first ryokan experience.
There is a lovely 7km walk to do between 2 villages, which is well signposted and worth doing. It's helps build an appetite too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    23
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
196
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We can't think of a single bad thing to say about this ryokan. AT ALL! Amazing food, warm friendly service.

We walked from Magome, trekked through snow, to finally reach this gorgeous town. This place was not hard to find at all. We walked in and was greeted by the owner, already expecting us. We were advised we were the only people staying that night so got a free upgrade to the best room! The room was clean and had an amazing view of the beautiful garden. We took a bath as soon as we got there, no better way to recover our bones after 8km walk...slipping through snow.

Next came one of the most amazing part of this place. The dinner. Locally sourced produce and local delicacies. This is a must try. Without spoiling too much, the tempura was amazing. Delicate and perfectly cooked, it was as beautiful as it was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayxIsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Highlight of our trip to Japan. Everyone at Fujioto was so welcoming and hospitable and went out of their way to make our stay so memorable. Food was some of the best we had in Japan. Rooms are so spacious and comfortable. Could not fault a thing. Would make sure we stayed there again on our return to Japan. Amazing.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Highlight of our trip to Japan. This place is run by a friendly gentleman called Franco. His wife will make you some of the best Japanese food you will eat in Japan, all local ingredients and recipes.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the surrounding gardens immaculately kept. If you're gonna spend some time at a Ryokan, it won't get much better than at Ryokan Fujioto,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Almost everything positive one can say about this place has been said already. I second all of that: excellent ryokan experience, amazing food/rooms/garden/baths/and most of all Franco and his wife and staff. And I also second the sentiment: HIGHLIGHT OF OUR TRIP TO JAPAN! For any friend visiting the region, I would almost insist that they make a stop here.

We hiked up from Magome (left our bags with the courier who brought them to Tsumago=excellent). The 2 hour hike was gorgeous (we took our time).

I might also mention, that the day we hiked and stayed in the ryokan was also the day my fiance and I got engaged... When Franco found out, he had his staff prepare a little photo with our picture (they took it upon our arrival) and the date of our engagement on it... in addition to a little congratulatory plate from Fujioto and flowers and candles in our room. It was beautiful and thoughtful and something we will keep forever.

We loved the 10 course meal (I never thought I would eat wasp larvae - but it was surprisingly good, and apparently an aphrodesiac according to our server!) The tempura was beautiful - looked like modern art.

The rooms were so quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed wearing the robes (can't remember the real name of them) and the slippers. Oh, and the hot bath they had us take before dinner was so relaxing and a great way to start the evening.

So yes, everything here is wonderful/beautiful and I can't imagine anything you would change about it. But I think what really makes it special is the obvious love and attention to detail that Franco and his wife and staff put into making the ryokan really, really special. In my opinion, this is one of the best places/experiences I've ever had while traveling anywhere in the world... this is a place that everyone should experience at least once in their life.

*We were there in May of 2012. My original review disappeared, so I am reposting it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avideno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here in November and just loved it. The owner was very solicitous and thankfully explained each course in detail. The meal both nights was an adventure. Enjoyed the routine of having a bath before dinner and then relaxing in our Yugatas before dinner. We walked the Nagasendo Way in both directions. It only took us less than 3 hours to get to Magone and less back (more downhill). Perfect day with all the autumnal colours you expect this time of year. A real highlight of our 2 weeks in Japan. Fortunately didn't meet any bears en route. A really great stay and highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sjmluckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The lovely owner of the ryokan was waiting for us as we arrived. Although we had arrived late, he was very gracious and gave us a tour before ushering us down for a fantastic multi-course meal. Tempura with matcha flavoured salt was really good.

Excellent english spoken, as well as free wi-fi and very clean facilities. In the morning before we left, our host made sure to tell us about the local historical parade that was to take place, as well as arranging for a taxi to take us to the train station afterwards.

The room was very large and spacious with an excellent view of the gardens.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arabella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagiso-machi
0.0 mi away
Tokonamiso
Tokonamiso
#4 of 8 in Nagiso-machi
10 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Fuki no Mori
Hotel Fuki no Mori
#2 of 8 in Nagiso-machi
81 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Hanasarasa
Hotel Hanasarasa
#1 of 15 in Nakatsugawa
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kisoji
Hotel Kisoji
#3 of 8 in Nagiso-machi
148 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tajimaya
Tajimaya
#1 of 16 in Nakatsugawa
120 reviews
3.9 mi away
Magomechaya
Magomechaya
#2 of 16 in Nakatsugawa
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Fujioto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Fujioto

Property: Ryokan Fujioto
Address: Tsumago Azuma, Kiso-gun, Nagiso-machi 399-5302, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kiso-gun > Nagiso-machi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagiso-machi
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ryokan Fujioto Hotel Nagiso-Machi
Ryokan Fujioto Japan/Nagiso-Machi, Kiso-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing