We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming place with incredible food”
Review of Ryokan Fujioto

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nagiso-machi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ryokan Fujioto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had walked from Magome to Tsumago and were looking for somewhere to eat. Unlike Magome, we were struggling to find somewhere for a family lunch. There was a picture of food so we walked down the path and into a welcome in English. A quick look at the menu and we were seated beside a well needed fan. Once we looked at the menu again we realised we had stumbled upon the Ryokan we had booked for the night. We had a very pleasant lunch and compleat the check in paperwork at the same time. After lunch we were shown to our room which was the largest in the Ryokan. We collected our baggage from the information centre and settled in. After a stroll around the town a bath was well needed. The bathrooms here can be locked so there is in requirement to share with others. You just need to be aware that others may be waiting. But the water is no hot in the bath that you can't soak for too long. It was nice to be able to bath as a family.

Dinner was fantastic and we loved the fact that all the dishes are locally sourced and the owner personally talked us through all the dishes. We were also served by the lovely lady who served us lunch. I forget her name but she was warm, friendly and a credit to the business.

After dinner we strolled through the town and then settled in for the evening. My one comment was that a number of people sat outside in the front garden smoking after dinner and that smoke smell came inside and wasn't particularly pleasant. The front doors were closed I think in an attempt to manage that.

Breakfast was great and on our table presented in a piece of origami was a photo that had been taken the night beside, printed in a postcard format with a picture of the ryokan. A very nice touch. Fabulous place!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank travellingbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

What a wonderful surprise to arrive at Fujioto and have the proprietor, Fujihara-san, waiting to greet us. He whisked us upstairs to the Hinoki, special guest room, a most generous upgrade! The American and Italian ambassadors have both stayed in this spacious room. We arrived a bit later than the requested 5pm check in due to a longer than expected drive, but Fujihara-san was very gracious. An exquisite dinner was served in the dining room. Mrs. Fujihara is the chef, and especially renowned for her tempura, which was light and greaseless. The meal included many local delicacies: trout, mountain vegetables, beef and larval wasps! Each course was introduced and explained by Fujihara-san. After dinner we walked through the quiet street enjoying the lantern light. The rooms do not have their own bathroom or furo, but the inn's facilities are classy and spotless. Walking down the hall to use the restroom or brush your teeth only adds to the cultural experience. Fresh flowers are in every room. The sound of frogs and water rushing through the irrigation channels lulled us to a restful sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

if you want to experience Japan, this is the place! exquisite food, traditional rooms. the Owner speaks, english, italian and spanish... Shared bathrooms but it is not a problem at all!! My kids really enjoyed this place!

Room Tip: there arecorner rooms with amazing view. they will give sukata(robe) ans surippa(slippers) to wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vtr56463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We got an advice to visit Fujioto ryokan on tripadvisor. If you want to go away from huge Japan cities and discover tručy Japan than visit Nagiso and Fujioto ryokan. We were there on Golden week, and reserved an accomodation months ago. When we came the owner warmly welcomed us, we was the first visitors from Slovenia ever and got the fantastic room in glass with view to blossoms cherrys outside, incredible. We had also a dinner there, and the owner ask you for punctuality. The dinner was incredible, fantastic with typical japanese local food, unforgettable, the owner and his employee (from the USA) explain us what and how to eat (there was local beef, bee maggot, raw salmon, different kind of local vegetables, cherry blossom etc, etc), Dinner last about 1,5 hour and you are traditinally dressed. The owner also explain us the using of bathroom. You can use huge wood bath tub with hot water, you use it alone, amazing and perfect clean. The breakfast was also fantastic. You take off your shoes at the receprion. The owner also has a fantastic garden. The hotel is located in the middle of the village. I suggest you to take a taxi from the railway station in Nagiso, it cost 1.400 Yen. If you need money you can withdraw it from ATM at the local Post office, 5 minutes walk away from hotel, but because it is located in the Post office, it is opened only till 5 or 6 pm. You can pay hotel only by cash! We also made a hike from Nagiso to Magome it last a little bit more than 3 hours, but we also make a stop at the rest house on the way (15-20 minutes, I suggest that you make this), and also male a lot of photos, but we were in a good shape. I suggest this hike because you find out truly Japan. Also highly recommend the visit of Fujioto ryokan, it was the highlight of our Japan tour, and also the unforgettable dinner.

Room Tip: Take the room in first floor with the view to the cherry blossom if you come from March to end of Ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ales V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Our favourite ryokan in our favourite place during our stay in Japan. I simply cannot say enough good things about this place. The owner was extremely helpful when we had a bit of a mishap and almost lost our passports and money, going out of his way to help us track them down. We had the large upstairs room looking over the front garden and street. The food was amazing and it was great to be talked through the items and what to eat when and with what. Not just a place to stay, but an experience. A highlight of our trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

When researching for a place to stay in Kiso valley, we came across this place. From the beginning we have been skeptical, since the very high number of positive and sometimes enthusiastic reports are practically all written by foreigners. After having visited a huge number of Ryokans all over Japan we decided to give it a try:
Location: Very good in the centre of the small historical village Tsumago in very beautiful and quiet setting. A few parking places are available. The building style is harmonically integrating into the village. Nice outer and inner Yard.
Reception: We missed the warm and polite welcome as well as Ryokan service. We had to take care of our shoes and baggage by ourselves. Explanations where rather short and registration took place very administrative/technically.
Room: There are Tatami rooms, but no water or toilet. Tatamis are rather old, have some spots. Little privacy and room could not be locked.
Bath: Only common baths. Bath water was dirty with hairs in it – so we only washed in the shower. There are 2 common bath rooms (no Onsen), which can be used and locked in the evening. In the morning difficult to take a private bath, since customers should not lock the door in order to enabling other guests to do their morning wash. No mirrors for shaving. No shaving equipment, spare towels, etc.
Food: No room service. Food will be served at a certain time in the dining room. Most guests are foreigners and this might be the reason, why normal (high) tables and chairs are used. No oshibori (hot wet towel) was served! Food was strange and some typical parts of a Japanese dinner have been missing (e.g. no Miso soup). Rice was served, but not prepared by the water into the bowl. Very few food explanations have been given and it was very strange that Hachi-no-ko (Beelarvae) was served to foreigners. In many years of travelling to Japan I never came across Hachi-no-ko and also my (Japanese) wife only heard about it. Is it purpose of the owner, to give foreigners in Japan the feeling that Japanese eat strange food?
Under the bottom line this should not be rated as Ryokan, more likely as a Minshuku.
Considering that many foreigner visit this place as their first choice to experience a Ryokan, then there is a lot to be improved in order to reach real Ryokan hospitality and quality. Saying this, the Japanese owner - who himself travelled to and lived in other countries - may also consider, that due to his foreign visitors he is giving a strong impression and image about Japan and Japanese service and hospitality.
Unfortunately his knowledge of the compared to Japan very low European and American service standards, seems to give the owner the reason to cut down on the usual Japanese service level. Not having the possibility to compare, many foreigners then seem to believe that the offered is high Japanese standard – but unfortunately it is not at all.
I hope that the enthusiastic writers in these comments will once have the chance to experience a real Japanese ryokan.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Iverratnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Possibly one of the most amazing places we have stayed. The owner and staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. We had the large room upstairs overlooking the garden, so beautiful. The dinner is out of this world! Incredible food. We loved everything about this place. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Zambia_Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagiso-machi
4.2 mi away
Hotel Fuki no Mori
Hotel Fuki no Mori
#2 of 8 in Nagiso-machi
87 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tokonamiso
Tokonamiso
#4 of 8 in Nagiso-machi
15 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Hanasarasa
Hotel Hanasarasa
#1 of 15 in Nakatsugawa
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kisoji
Hotel Kisoji
#3 of 8 in Nagiso-machi
156 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tajimaya
Tajimaya
#1 of 16 in Nakatsugawa
125 reviews
3.9 mi away
Magomechaya
Magomechaya
#2 of 16 in Nakatsugawa
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Fujioto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Fujioto

Address: Tsumago Azuma, Nagiso-machi, Kiso-gun 399-5302, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kiso-gun > Nagiso-machi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagiso-machi
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ryokan Fujioto Hotel Nagiso-Machi
Ryokan Fujioto Japan/Nagiso-Machi, Kiso-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing