We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
15
45
36
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
45
36
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese experience traditional hotel japanese style hot pot outdoor onsen tatami internet toilet ski
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2018

This Hotel is good only if you enjoy Onsen. You need your own transportation to move around the Niseko area or go Skiing at your convenience. Using the shuttle bus, you can only enjoy visiting Hirafu and Ski resort at the specific timing. After 8.15 pm from Hirafu center, no more shuttle bus and you have to take a taxi back to the hotel if you intend to spend more time at Hirafu foothill.
Not all is bad. The Hotel Onsen is good to soak in to cure your aching muscle after Skiing. But ladies beware than no all men cover their parts when going to the open-mixed onsen.
Only go to this hotel if the booking price is correct (US110-US140), otherwise, don't spent too much on this hotel during witner.

Room Tip: All Roos has a good view of the mountain.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yeenkee2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

As many have said before, great outdoor onsen, fun, truely japanese experience. Rooms are soso but price okday. Rather mixed crowd at our visit. School kids, ski bums, ... Would go back there anytime, at least for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mertelWiggae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

We didn’t stay in the hotel but travelled from Hirafu to visit the open-mixed onsen (only one in Niseko).

The onsen itself was fantastic but the service quite bad and even a little hostile. Upon entering, the staff seemed a little reluctant to answer questions and the usual warm, friendly and inviting greetings experienced anywhere (and everywhere) in Japan were non-existent.

After we experienced the onsen, upon leaving we asked the staff at reception if they could call a taxi for us as we don’t speak Japanese. An older gentlemen at reception refused to do this - bluntly stating that ‘there are no cabs’, as it was peak hour and we did not book prior. As the area is somewhat remote, there are no public transport options near their hotel. It was 7pm and we needed to get back to Hirafu for a dinner reservation (20-30min taxi). He did not offer other options or was not helpful whatsoever - he refused to even call the taxi company and ask. We ended up calling our hotel in Hirafu, who called a taxi for us straight away and the taxi arrived for pick up 10-15 minutes later.

We’ve visited Japan many times and always had nothing but great things to say about customer service overall. Sadly, this experience was disappointing - as it’s the only outside-mixed onsen in Niseko, you may have no other options but be prepared to lower your standards on service.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank williamsydney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Being my first time in this place, I really did not know what to expect. First impression is that the place is outdated. However, I soon realized this is the traditional Japanese way. It is minimalist yet it has everything you may need in an overnight stay. The room we got has Tatami installed, a first for me. The room is comfortable and the heating system is adequate. The toilet is too small however. If you wish, guests can use the onsen free of charge. The dinner included in my room rate is buffet style with hot pot and other Japanese dishes. The breakfast is a Japanese style located on the 5th floor, giving you a great morning view.

As the officers speak little English, be ready in communicating with them with a translator on your mobile phone. They are friendly though. The internet is a bit choppy, so you might want to have those pocket wifi for rent. They also
offer free shuttle bus to select ski resorts, which is just a few minutes drive from the property.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Benedict U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We managed to catch the full autumn colours at Niseko Grand, with a natural spring across the road a major attraction. The hotel's buffet breakfast and traditional Japanese dinner was fantastic. The natural onsite onsen has a mixed couple pool where one is allowed to go in the spa dressed, was especially great for a shy friend wouldn't have gone in otherwise.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TerriK861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews