We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing secluded beach and superb outdoor facilities in an unexpected location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Parque Oceanico
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Coronilla
Certificate of Excellence
falls church
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing secluded beach and superb outdoor facilities in an unexpected location”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We were advised by friends to stay at this hotel. It is about 60 km after the nearest beach I new, and 25 km to the border with Brazil. Since we were in Punta del Este, we decided to risk it. What a wonderful surprise. The hotel is nestled between lovely trees and a very large farm.
There are two outdoor swimming pools with beautifully arranged outdoor seating in discreet sets of six. There could be multiple parties of six in the area, and you will never feel crowded. Children are very welcome, and they enjoy a host of activities dedicated to the little ones. The rooms are a bit old fashioned, yet large, extremely clean and with all amenities. Breakfast is included and it is served in a large dining area overlooking a park in both directions. The beach is less than a block down a lovely pass. We walked for three hours and saw only two fisherman. There are no homes, just two fisherman shacks in the entire area. It was such an incredible surprise to find a clean, deserted beach, in an area that is crawling with tourists just 50-60 km away. If you are looking for action, this is definitely not the place for you.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room for a very reasonable price. If you are willing to pay more, you can book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilonayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    74
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
69
46
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US/Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Good: Laid-back, family-friendly hotel in relaxing natural setting. Beautiful grounds and helpful staff. Decent value for the money if you consider that the price includes half board. !0% discount for cash.
The Bad: It's an hour and 20 minutes away from La Paloma, which is only bad if you were expecting to be closer. Not a 4-star hotel by any stretch of the imagination, but charming nevertheless thanks to its beautiful landscaping and friendly staff. No beach view, which may be a good thing (see below).
The Ugly: The Andreoli canal, which drains the inland rice farms and cattle ranches of Rocha, empties into the sea about 300 meters north of the hotel. The canal is often cited by Uruguayan environmentalists as a misguided effort to support agro-business at the expense of coastal tourism. In my research after the trip, I could not find any evidence that the canal water directly threatens bathers, but it has devastated the local marine ecosystem by increasing turbidity and nitrogen levels. La Coronilla, once viewed as a jewel of the Rocha coast, is now practically bereft of tourists (as evidenced by the fact that the Parque Oceanico is the only hotel left along this stretch of coast). When we were there, the waterline was rimmed with foam; not necessarily a sign of contamination -- it can be caused by naturally-occuring offshore algae blooms -- but definitely evidence of high levels of organic matter in the water.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building, where we stayed, looked nicer than the one we saw in an exterior buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BradSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The hotel is located near La Coronilla, a smaller town than La Paloma. If you are planning a vacation in a secluded place surrounded by nature, as we were, this is a great place. But if you're looking for a mixture of relaxation and bars, restaurants and clubs, La Paloma is a much better choice. The hotel's infrastructure is great: huge rooms, indoors and outdoors pools, a big park and direct access to an almost virgin beach that words cannot fully describe. The problem is that this amazing building has not been maintained and equipped properly: mattresses are worn down, there are bird nests between the ceiling and the roof, and the pool is not always clean. The restaurant is good but has very limited opening times during the low season, which is challenging because the hotel is kilometers away from the next restaurant or supermarket. Service is good, and the receptionist will help you arrange your car or try to have your mattress changed, but the place needs still needs some renovation work.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantida, Uruguay
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

The location of this property must be revised by Trip Advisor. It is not, as noted by others, but not corrected, in La Paloma. It is not near La Paloma. It is just west of the tiny village of La Coronilla, at Km 312.5, on Ruta 9, the Uruguayan coastal highway running to the Brazilian border at Chuy, approximately 18 km away. If the location is accurately listed it will help others find and use this property.

The hotel sits on 95 hectares of park like grounds with trees and grass spaces. It fronts a magnificent beach. The hotel provides full services and features three swimming pools, one indoors and two outside. Set back from the highway and on such a large property, it is an ideal escape.

The price for our stay (a couple) in mid-November was $95 and included breakfast. The staff were friendly and efficient. There were a number of families with children and there are children´s play areas on the grounds. However, the size of the property and the various areas available for guest use, means that families and those without children can mutually enjoy a stay at this hotel. We had a very quiet stay.

The location, close to the duty-free border shopping in Chuy and just east of the excellent Santa Teresa fort and national park, makes it ideal for many visitors.

The area where we feel improvement is needed is in the food selections available on the hotel restaurant dinner menu and at the breakfast buffet. There is little imagination. We decided to dine at the hotel before we checked in, but were disappointed with the choices available.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydblackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We spent one week's family holiday at Hotel Parque Oceanico in January 2011. We'd definitely recommend it to friends (in fact, we already have!).

What we liked:

-- LOCATION. As other reviewers have noted, HPO is not in La Paloma. It's a self-contained resort on the beach a couple of km south of the village of La Coronilla (about 4hrs drive from Montevideo). While many of Uruguay's beaches are jam-packed in January, the beach by the hotel is quiet - just a handful of families paddling and building sandcastles. And it's a good base for interesting side-trips to the beach/seal colony at Cabo Polonia, Punta del Diablo, the Santa Teresa fort and national park and the San Miguel fort (though you need your own transport here, since only the relatively unexciting village of La Coronilla is in walking distance). Definitely not a place to come if you're looking for shops, bars, nightlife, etc. This place is about relaxation.

-- SPENDING TIME AT THE HOTEL. The setting is gorgeous. It's a nice looking property set in attractive palm-tree-covered parkland just behind the dunes from the beach. Very pleasant pool area. The hotel was full the week we visited, but there are probably only about 30 rooms - it still felt relaxed.

-- KID FRIENDLY. We had an apartment with a double and a connecting twin room, which worked well. There's a good playground. And an informal kids club for younger children (3 to 10?). The staff were good with our kids. And there were children's options at mealtimes.

-- FOOD. Given some of the other reviews on TripAdvisor, this was the best surprise. Breakfast was pretty standard (can't say I've ever been overwhelmed by the breakfast options in Uruguay or Argentina). But the evening meals were consistently good. And although there were only two options each night as part of the resort deal, there was a great deal of variety over the course of the week. They also serve nice snacks (and cocktails) poolside.

What we hope they will improve:

-- THE ROOMS. They're clean and functional, but - as far as our room was concerned - that's about it. As reviewers seem to have been saying on this site for some time now, they could really do with a bit of updating.

-- THEIR WEBSITE. We almost didn't go after seeing the tired-looking pictures of the place on their website! But the reviews on TripAdvisor encouraged us to have faith. We're so glad we did!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank g1adst0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novo Hamburgo
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We spend 3 nights at hotel, nice place, like a beach farm, in La Coronilla, nearby Chui (Brazil), the food are very good, we loved the garden whit horses, birds... We want to come back soon.

Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DeaKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We needed a holiday to relax, lots of space, not many people. The combination of the hotel and the beach is superb. There are swimming pools for everybody, and even on rainy days, or after an active day at the beach, you can relax in the indoors-warm water-swimming pool. The hotel will be undergoing some needed updating (the building is rather old, and some rooms show it), but all in all it is ok. The lounge area is very cozy, and at least when we visited everybody tried to respect the quiet atmosphere. The food is great. They offer a fixed fee with breakfast (not continental, more like a South American breakfast, good cakes, everything fresh) AND dinner. Go for it with your eyes closed. They have two chefs, one for the first two dishes and another for desserts, and both are great. Even our little girl asked for more Orange soup! The waiters offer good service (Although nobody leaves tips, we did. They deserve it) and all the staff is super kind and friendly. We love the Uruguayan way, they are extremely kind and cool. Finally, the price is real good.
They offer horse-riding tours, and other entertainment.
We needed WIFI, it was only available in the first floor (restaurant, lounge) and some of the first rooms in the second floor.
Don´t expect anything too fancy, modern or loud. I hope they don´t change their style when trying to revamp the place. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuchutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Coronilla
15.2 mi away
Hotel Internacional
15.6 mi away
Fortin San Miguel
Fortin San Miguel
#2 of 2 in Chuy
83 reviews
15.6 mi away
Turis Firper Hotel
Turis Firper Hotel
#4 of 7 in Chui
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
La Viuda del Diablo
La Viuda del Diablo
#1 of 12 in Punta del Diablo
242 reviews
14.5 mi away
Posada O Mar do Nicolas
15.2 mi away
Nuevo Hotel Plaza
Nuevo Hotel Plaza
#1 of 1 in Chuy
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parque Oceanico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parque Oceanico

Property: Hotel Parque Oceanico
Address: Km 312.50 Ruta 9, La Coronilla 27201, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Rocha Department > La Coronilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Coronilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Parque Oceanico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing