We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hearted welcome at the Aegean Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Votsala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Piryoi Thermis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Votsala
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Piryoi Thermis
Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Warm hearted welcome at the Aegean Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at Daphnis & Chloe, an annex of the Hotel Votsalah for three weeks. We experienced a most warm hearted welcome and throughout our stay Daphne and Iannis and their team saw to it to make our vacation for us and the kids a very pleasant one. It is nice to hang out at the sea front but there are also plenty of activities offered where Iannis and Daphne show the Island from perspectives that would be hard to discover as an individual.
We might well come back one day and would recommend this place warmly, particularly for families.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOS2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    8
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
37
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have travelled a lot around in Greece, both on islands as well as on the mainland, and now we have found a new favourite hotel in Greece : Hotel Votsala on Lesvos.
If you dream of having your breakfast under an olive tree close to the sea - after having filled your tray in the diningroomarea with a good breakfast including a new dish of Greek cooking every day, fresh fruit, fresh eggs etc. - and everything accompanied by classical music - then Hotel Votsala is your place. After (or before) your breakfast you can jump into the warm and clean sea for a swim. After that maybe a walk in the olive groves - where you hardly meet a soul - or just relaxing in the garden next to the sea. If you don't choose to have your lunch (or dinner on Wednesday or Sundays) under the same olive trees, there are a couple of good tavernas just a few minutes walk along the beach. What is more peaceful than sitting close to the sea with a table filled with small Greek dishes - and with a full moon blessing it all?
The rooms at Votsala are basic, but nice. Greek in its simple style, and colourful. Nice bathrooms, and a good size balcony overlooking the sea or garden. Or both!
The owners, Iannis and Daphne, as well as the whole staff, are very friendly and efficient, and you feel at home and welcome right away. A very relaxed atmosphere - our laidback Greek dream of a place. We hope to be back next August as well. We know we have found a new gem in Greece.... Now I am there in my mind when I read Daphne's own cook book - and when I try to follow her instructions and serve my family Greek specialities following her recipees.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hedvig_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I'm counting down the days. Less than 50 days to go to our 10th year at Votsala (Sep 2013). The staff are like one big family and seem to have one objective, to help you have a wonderful holiday. The location is superb, eating breakfast on the beach from 8am til 11am or later!

Lots of trips organised by Iannis, normally ending up at a taverna sharing food together and sipping ouzo.

My only regret is when we leave,realising it's 12 months to our next visit

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Yet again we have returned to the Votsala. That is what happens; if you have read the website and decided that this is what you were looking for you will be drawn back again, and again. You have the warmth of the weather, of the sea and above all of the staff (the same, year after year), and the friendliness of the other guests - of many different nationalities - and you have the choices: to lie under the palm and olive trees relaxing between swims, to try some of the suggested activities, or to explore further afield. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francoise060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

A stay at Votsala is a unique experience and I can recommend it to anyone who rates thoughtful unspoiled gastronomic hospitality. I feel very rested after my 10 day stay. The Votsala team will stay in my heart after their unimaginable unswerving hospitality.

Where else can you stay and walk out 100 m along the beach and start to find remains dating 5000 years back?

Where else, if you cant attend an activity, because its not on during the week you are there, they will fit you in and take you to that activity in a diffent location (cooking lesson).

Where else will an owner lend you their mobile because you dont have one and they want to make sure you will reach your destination successfully?

We arrived very early on our day of arrival and were welcomed with awesome breakfast, and a room that was immediately ready for us. Basic but spotless, it served our requirements completely. I was hesitant about joining the activity program since I am quite individualistic, but the activities are absolutely wonderful and totally worth it. We ended up signing up and enjoying everything. Like most other reviewers I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask and you will receive. Just communicate your needs, and the team will do their utmost to accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lydia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Hotel Votsala is a gem. Situated in a quiet spot right beside the Aegean, it is ideal for both relaxing by (or in) the water or exploring the beautiful island of Lesvos. Yes, the remoteness will not suit everyone - if your idea of a holiday is endless nights of wild partying and days of shopping Votsala is probably not for you. However, there is a good bus service into the middle of Mytilini and taxis are reasonably priced.

The rooms are simple but attractive and all have a balcony overlooking the garden and the sea. The food, especially the breakfast, is wonderful and activites/trips are arranged foir those that want them. As we were there in (Orthodox) Easter week this was especially valuable in that we participated in ceremonies we would never have found on our own. But the best thing about Votsala is the warm and friendly atmosphere created by the owners, Iannis and Daphne, and all their staff. We certainly hope to return.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the sea but are in two buildings and I would choose the front building rather tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Booked in for 4 nights and so glad we did from Nina and Nana to Janet then Yanni and Daphne the owners with all of their knowledge on the Island. No wonder everyone wants to come back!! We do and we live in Australia just the most relaxing place and as many reviews say basic but perfect. Local buses which was fun the only thing not good was we are out of season so no local tavernas open and it is the end of April so frustrating. Still a fabulous place and Thankyou Trip Advisor!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaBribieIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piryoi Thermis
2.2 mi away
Pyrgos of Mytilene
Pyrgos of Mytilene
#2 of 6 in Mytilene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
3.6 mi away
Heliotrope Hotels
Heliotrope Hotels
#1 of 1 in Varia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blue Sea Hotel
Blue Sea Hotel
#5 of 6 in Mytilene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Theofilos Paradise Boutique Hotel
18.5 mi away
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
#3 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
4.7 mi away
Elysion Hotel
Elysion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Neapoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Votsala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Votsala

Property: Hotel Votsala
Address: Pyrgi Thermi | Mytilini, Piryoi Thermis 811 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Piryoi Thermis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Piryoi Thermis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Votsala 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Votsala Hotel lésbos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing