We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid unless absolutely desperate!!!”
Review of K. Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
K. Guest House
Ranked #5 of 11 Pak Nam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We arrived after booking by phone earlier in the day and were shown the room which was stuffy, smelt of damp and overlooked the noisy main road. The owner was pretty rude and when we explained that my partner was 6 months pregnant and the room was too stuffy and noisy and that we would have to look elsewhere she got even ruder and demanded we pay 100b for simply having sat on the bed and used the loo once in 10 mins. She then ranted about how awful us 'tourists' are and how bad we are to the poor people if Thailand! Nasty piece of work she is, and having read some of the other reviews on Tripadvisor I can see we are not alone in our opinion. How this place got in the lonely planet I will never know!

Go next door to the Kyo Ngean Chao Fa Mansion instead. Lovely hotel, much better rooms, pleasant staff. K guesthouse was without doubt the worst reception I have had in ANY hotel on my travels period!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiceSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2010

We checked in late at night and found the owner to be a bit of a bully and only interested in our cash. We asked to see the room and she refused and became stroppy saying that we've agreed to take the room over the phone and we must pay first. We'd have normally have moved but arrived from a long and tiring journey. The rooms were very basic and the beds uncomfortable. We paid extra for air con which worked for a few minutes and when we complained the next morning, the owner said that was normal!! The loo paper was on limited supply and as soon as we began to check out the owner came to take the surplus, which was shocking. She then tried to sell us places to stay in Ko Lanta, telling us that other guests were going there, but this was not true. Other travelers also complained about this woman for similar reasons. For eg, people were charged for wi fi use which did not work and she suggested there was problems with pc's. I could go on....but you get the gist.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonNish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

This guesthouse is very reasonably priced, we paid 500 baht for a night for an aircon room with a double bed. The place was very clean. The beds were o.k, too hard for my liking. Like another review mentioned, you may be bothered by barking dogs and noise from the street. Overall it was a good place to stay if you want to save on accomodations.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariah84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Pojana keeps this guest house clean, well managed and respectable. The only problem is that the rooms with the balconies and airconditioning face the street, which means noise and barking dogs. The ground floor rooms "suffer" from the activities above, However, position and cleanliness are to be commended. Great position, close in town and a songteow to take you everywhere you wish to go. Seek it out if you are a sound sleeper. Kids and adults of all ages are respected, so it attracts a varied selection of travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyboopinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Whilst the room was good for the price of 450baht, our welcoming was brutal! well, the thai girls on arrival were nice enough given lack of English (this doesn´t bother me AT all) but the owner I found to be pushy, if not aggressive. Perhaps we just got off on the wrong foot, or she was having a bad day as from reading other reviews she doesn´t sound nearly as bad as what we thought. But we were there for one night and the location was good for strolling Krabi Town - it served it´s purpose. Can organise your airport and bus transfers. Walls are thin and it´s right on the road so pack your earplugs.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melitasut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

Its a nice budget option at only 250 baht a night, but the roof is tin so it really traps the heat, the rooms are tiny with only a small fan so is very stuffy. The service is great, a lovely lady, but to be honest theres several places down the road which are cheaper and nicer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xwennix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Very nice and good looking hotel almost in center of Krabi. Service and host was very friendly and pleasant.
Only big minus are walls. Hotel has been made from wood and walls are very thin, so all noises of traffic and voices of other people will drift into your room. If you are light sleeper or you want to sleep longer than others I would not recommend this to you, but otherwise very nice.
You can get a room with a double size bed and A/C 650B. Without A/C 450B.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
Thank Karhuvaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pak Nam
0.1 mi away
Hop Inn Krabi
Hop Inn Krabi
#45 of 184 in Krabi Town
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pak-Up Hostel
Pak-Up Hostel
#5 of 333 in Krabi Town
910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krabi City View Hotel
Krabi City View Hotel
#19 of 313 in Krabi Town
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chan Cha Lay
Chan Cha Lay
#13 of 333 in Krabi Town
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rooms At Krabi Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Krabi River Hotel
Krabi River Hotel
#34 of 313 in Krabi Town
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K. Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K. Guest House

Address: 15-25 Chaofah Road, Pak Nam, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Pak Nam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pak Nam
Price Range: £8 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — K. Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your K. Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k. Guest House Hotel Krabi Town
K. Guest House Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing