We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly OK but not quite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritime Park & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Pak Nam
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for one night on a wildlife tour of Thailand. We arrived after dark and left just as it got light. We didn't get chance to use any of the facilities apart from the restaurant. There was plenty of choice on the dinner menu but the food was expensive by Thai standards. The food wasn't particularly good and service was fairly slow though we didn't mind this. At breakfast there was a reasonable choice but most things were stone cold. A lflame was put under the food pots to heat them through which we thought a little odd. You would expect the food to be cooked and brought out hot
Our room was very large with a big double bed. The bed was comfortable so we got a reasonable nights sleep. There was also a dining table with four chairs so I guess you can eat in your room if you wish. There was an old fashioned TV at the end of the bed but we didn't watch any programmes so we don't know if there were any English speaking channels. There was a wardrobe and dressing table as well. There was also a balcony overlooking the impressive looking swimming pools and a large pond. It looked as if it would have been a pleasant place to sit and have a drink
The bathroom had a small shower area, separate bath, wash hand basin, and loo. It was all a little shabby and in need of a facelift.
If we return to Krabi again it's unlikely we'd stay here given the number of hotels available.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorfolkNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Not sure what the previous reviewers found so bad about this resort. We are currently at the resort. The architecture is great, the views quite marvelous. The staff has been professional and courteous. The rooms are very clean and updated. Two chairs for the patio. Everything works well. The cost of a taxi to the bus station is 160 baht. The tour prices are about the same as anywhere else, somewhat better than higher fees in town. The free shuttle to town is as advertised. If one complains about the resort being too far from town, they should not have booked here. Slightly hard to move a resort once built.

From our following Trip Advisor for several years, the comment about absentee management may be true, for the simple reason that there has been no response from management about the poor earlier reviews. From past travels, really good management watches Trip Advisor like a hawk, and immediately responds to poor reviews with an apology.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garrison51040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

..where to start!

1. The place is in need of urgent maintenance and update,

2. Its remote from any good location to visit (i.e. Ao Nang Beach),

3. Food choices were really poor, even though they were nice about preparing us a breakfast meal for vegetarian,

3. Transportation. This is were it get nasty. Transportation to major attraction are infrequent and poorly served. In addition there is clearly evidence of collusion between the hotel and the taxi drivers!! This is not only illegal, but also costing tourist 5 times the regular price! For example a trip from hotel to Ao Nang beach (since we had to take a taxi as the service shuttle runs only 3 times a day - none at night) was around BATH 500.- for 4 person. Note that Ao Nang beach is 30-35 min away. From the hotel to Krabi town, which IS ONLY 10 MIN. away we had to pay 80 BATH pro person. While I do not mind contributing to the local economy, I do not like being ripped off! If you consider to stay in a place like this for a week, you probably end up using the taxi many times and spend lots of money (and time) just for travelling. To finish, when we asked to taxi drivers in town, they where scared to take us back to the hotel and told us that they would drop us off only at the entrance without entering in the main hall!

4. Room were ok. Not really clean!

5. The service was really bad. Upon arrival they did not have us registered and we had to wait for our room, the staff was incompetent and poorly trained, the travel agency in the hotel was not much help!

6. Other sketchy stuff was that speaking to other tourist, having same room standard, very different prices were paid!

To summarise, I will never go to this hotel ever again and I would not advise to anybody, unless big steps are taken to change management, update infrastructure and staff training.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arisberna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Pleasant resort, but needs updating. Too remote from main attractions. Some young staff need training and customer skills. Food good although breakfast was generally a free for all and some of the food was served cold. On the whole able to relax and that was the point of the holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed here for one night so I could meet up with a friend. The place is very isolated with an infrequent shuttle bus into Krabi Town. If you want to arrange a taxi anywhere, you are taken to an office where they want to charge you 200 baht just to go a short distance. However if you walk to the end of the hotel drive (a good 5 minutes walk), you can get a ride for 20 baht from one of the thai taxis going by. I was also able to get a motorcycle taxi from town back to the hotel for 40 baht. The staff are helpful and friendly but management is somewhat wanting in the place. The bar in the hotel lobby appeared to be closed most of the time and after a certain time, it is impossible to get any food. There was one shop selling snacks and drinks but I never saw it open while I was there. We had to walk a good 20 minutes down the road to find a bar to drink in for the evening.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night. The hotel is quite majestic and its built in a good location. The rooms are dated and things could have been cleaner, however our main complaint was the service.
After having experienced excellent customer service at hotels with all sorts of star ratings in Thailand, we were disappointed with the lack of it here, in most departments. Unfortunately it spoilt the experience as the hotel has alot of potential.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melita191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

All the hotel pictures (excluding nature around) are old and give totally wrong impression of the facility. Rooms have seen their best days about 20 years ago. The hotel is not worth 4 stars.
Also the sevice staff is not performing any up dated Thai smiling friendly hospitality, but presenting a low level service attitude. You will be served upon a separate request!
Only after cancelling my stay, there were a slightly service attitude experienced, but it was too late! I already had decided to change to a five star facility elsewhere.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have a nive view to the garden and pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelsinkiJom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pak Nam
1.9 mi away
Dee Andaman Hotel
Dee Andaman Hotel
#2 of 18 in Pak Nam
379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krabi Seabass Hotel
Krabi Seabass Hotel
#1 of 18 in Pak Nam
57 reviews
6.5 mi away
Centra by Centara Phu Pano Resort Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,399 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ananta Burin Resort
Ananta Burin Resort
#30 of 111 in Ao Nang
670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#15 of 18 in Pak Nam
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Park & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Park & Spa Resort

Address: 1 Tungfah Road | Amphur Muang, Pak Nam, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Pak Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Pak Nam
Price Range: £42 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maritime Park & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maritime Park & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Park And Spa Resort
Maritime Park Hotel Pak Nam
Maritime Park Krabi
Maritime Park & Spa Resort Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing