We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maritime Park & Spa Resort
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pak Nam
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have mixed feelings about this resort and I am really thankful for some of the advice here on tripadvisor before I embarked on my trip with my family.
Overall the resort is nice and pleasant but I wished it could have been better.

Here are my feedback:
1. Efficient and friendly staffs. (Some with limited command of English but they are willing to listen, so just show them what you want)
2. Friendly buffet breakfast for preschoolers (as in non-spicy friend rice and noodles)
3. Gorgeous view of the mountain.
4. Lunch is not too expensive and delicious.
5. Free shuttle service option to Krabi town or Ao Nang Beach.

Now comes the not so good part...
1. Tap water has a layer of grease somehow, so if you have to boil water for your hot tea/coffee, please request for the free bottled water from housekeeping. They usually respond very fast.
2. Not much to buy within the resort, I would have love to grab a beach mat and extra swimwear....
3. A lot of floating stuffs on the pool even though i can see them vacuuming the pool every morning. (they probably need a better cleaner?)
4. A lot of mosquitoes, be sure to spray your bed with some citronella before sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Booked Maritime last November for stop-over before flying down from Bangkok without, I'm glad to say, checking Trip Advisor first. Frankly, I've been shocked into becoming a first time reviewer after reading the miserable impressions left by others.
Arriving at night in a rainstorm we were impressed by the faded grandiosity of the architecture, with the water streaming down among the lush vegetation in the grounds. The location is unique, bordering the tropical forest next to the river, with sublime views from all the rooms (especially the upper floors, I guess).
Yes, there are signs that the rainforest is trying to reclaim the building a little at a time, but this is part of its charm: and, yes, there is wildlife, including a few mozzies at night. You do get bugs in a natural setting near a river and without them there would be no geckos, or bats hunting along the airy outdoor corridors.
Our room was comfortable and spacious and we were later up-graded to a top floor suite (used by the cast and crew of "The Beach", so we were told by our exuberant room-service guy). Sitting on the balcony to watch the sun come up behind the limestone outcrops over the river is one of the most tranquil ways you can imagine to start the day.
Breakfast, fine hot and cold buffet though not primarily designed with the typical Western palate in mind. Lovely terrace setting over-looking the bird filled trees in the grounds. Coffee was the normal Thai waste of time, to a caffeine-head, but you could order espresso from the bar.
Food from the restaurant generally was a bit uninspiring and over-priced. We twice walked to the end of the drive (5 - 10 minutes, serenaded by frogs) to the very good and slightly hilarious outdoor fish restaurant, which is right outside on the road into Krabi. There are street restaurants within a 5 minute radius and the centre of Krabi is only about 15 to 20 minutes away even on foot (5 mins by tuk-tuk or cab).
The pool is huge and great and was largely deserted. The hotel often seemed rather empty, with sudden influxes of big parties (tours and conventions) from Thailand and other Asian countries, which we found interesting: we enjoyed meeting nice people from the region, not just other Europeans.
The travel agency offered competitive prices for the usual boat tours (though not for airport taxis, book your own) and impeccable service, which is why we opted to stay at Maritime as a base for our tourist activities around the Krabi coast. The hotel offers good value for money generally, which was the other main factor.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. At the end of our stay, they arranged an excellent rate and a free transfer to stay a couple of nights at their sister hotel Islanda Eco Resort. It's true not much English was spoken but, after all, you only needed to mime eating a packet of crisps and one of the girls from reception would come and open the snack shop especially for you.
This seems to have turned into a bit of a rant, but we enjoyed the atmosphere of the Maritime even if it is a bit faded, and we liked having Krabi, which is a cracking little town, on our doorstep. I would urge anyone who's passing through to give it a try. It's not for everyone, I guess, but you might just love it too.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mr-Mousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights and loved it. On our arrival staff were very friendly and told us they had upgraded us free of charge. Our room overlooked the pool and lake. The pool was very nice and big and we also thought the room was very nice! We used the kayaks free of charge to go around the lake. The food nice. Its about 20 mins walk into town but we didn't find we needed to leave the hotel. We went to krabi town once and went to walking street which was cool and got some bargains! Yeah the hotel could do with an upgrade if you are picky but personally its the best place we've stayed in Thailand. There is a 7/11 5 mins walk.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Personally, i don't have much to criticize about the resort. To evaluate this resort depends on the kind of trip you are in. This resort has its own share of Pros and Cons associated with day to day affairs. After reading reviews from others, i just feel lucky that it was not a nightmare stay for me.
Pros:
1. The Resort is Huge and Green as far as you see from your room balcony.
2. Room was large with all the amenities.
3. Staff was courteous
4. Good Blue Pool
5. Very near to the Krabi River Crab Statue and Krabi town market. Just 10 mins from Scooty.
6. Krabi tours at the hotel is good.

Cons:
1. No 7 - 11 around. Had to walk a lot to reach one.
2. No Forex available at the Hotel
3. Had to walk miles to reach room from reception. Missed path a couple of times during 4 days of stay.
4. Hotel shuttel operates only till 5 in the evening..
5. Pick and Drop to airport not available. Drop at Airport is 500/- per person.
6. The room has no locker
7. Room has no Wi-fi connectivity. Only in the lobby,
8. Needs renovation and some designing.

Tips:
1. Hire a scooty from Hotel at 400/- B maximum for 24 hrs. Check the fuel status and test drive. Dont forget to take drivers helmet.

2. Opt for rooms with Balcony facing the Hills and Pool. The Higher the Room, the better the view. Ours was 8th floor.

3. Keep sufficient Foreign Exchange. Difficult to live with Dollars there. And in case the hotel agrees to change, they will charge extra.

4. Keep proper snacking and water with you.

Overall, i enjoyed my stay at the Resort, because i was out to the sea during the day, and to the town market during the nights :p Just for sleep and relaxing by the pool at the resort is wonderful.

If i am back to Krabi and left with no option of sea side resorts, i will choose Maritime again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank piyushnewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Not much for me to recommend, but the staff seem nice enough. Now we have the positive out of the way, lets get down to business.

Upon check-in and me entering my room I was greeted by ants, they were all over the ceiling (see photo) and odd ones appearing on my bedside table and other furniture around the room. Reported this and the hotel sent someone to spray insect repellent all over the ceiling, which didn't leave a nice smell at all.

Everything in the room is old apart from the TV and that only has 1 English channel which is a dubbed German channel. The general cleanliness of room was ok but during the night you can hear geckos running around in the ceiling.

Breakfast was a no go for me. I didn't even make far enough to see what food they served. As I went to get a coffee I was greet by more ants. They were all over the cups and tables, which was enough to put me off.

Location of the hotel is also a negative. It is quite far away from nightlife or any kind of attractions. Even driveway to the hotel is excessively long, taking a few minutes to walk in or out of the hotel.

Overall its a depressing place and wasn't a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for one night on a wildlife tour of Thailand. We arrived after dark and left just as it got light. We didn't get chance to use any of the facilities apart from the restaurant. There was plenty of choice on the dinner menu but the food was expensive by Thai standards. The food wasn't particularly good and service was fairly slow though we didn't mind this. At breakfast there was a reasonable choice but most things were stone cold. A lflame was put under the food pots to heat them through which we thought a little odd. You would expect the food to be cooked and brought out hot
Our room was very large with a big double bed. The bed was comfortable so we got a reasonable nights sleep. There was also a dining table with four chairs so I guess you can eat in your room if you wish. There was an old fashioned TV at the end of the bed but we didn't watch any programmes so we don't know if there were any English speaking channels. There was a wardrobe and dressing table as well. There was also a balcony overlooking the impressive looking swimming pools and a large pond. It looked as if it would have been a pleasant place to sit and have a drink
The bathroom had a small shower area, separate bath, wash hand basin, and loo. It was all a little shabby and in need of a facelift.
If we return to Krabi again it's unlikely we'd stay here given the number of hotels available.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorfolkNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Not sure what the previous reviewers found so bad about this resort. We are currently at the resort. The architecture is great, the views quite marvelous. The staff has been professional and courteous. The rooms are very clean and updated. Two chairs for the patio. Everything works well. The cost of a taxi to the bus station is 160 baht. The tour prices are about the same as anywhere else, somewhat better than higher fees in town. The free shuttle to town is as advertised. If one complains about the resort being too far from town, they should not have booked here. Slightly hard to move a resort once built.

From our following Trip Advisor for several years, the comment about absentee management may be true, for the simple reason that there has been no response from management about the poor earlier reviews. From past travels, really good management watches Trip Advisor like a hawk, and immediately responds to poor reviews with an apology.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garrison51040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pak Nam
1.9 mi away
Dee Andaman Hotel
Dee Andaman Hotel
#1 of 18 in Pak Nam
373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krabi Seabass Hotel
Krabi Seabass Hotel
#2 of 18 in Pak Nam
47 reviews
7.6 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Centra by Centara Phu Pano Resort Krabi
1.3 mi away
Well Timed Hotel
Well Timed Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pak Nam
32 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#15 of 18 in Pak Nam
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Park & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Park & Spa Resort

Address: 1 Tungfah Road | Amphur Muang, Pak Nam, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Pak Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pak Nam
Price Range: £46 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maritime Park & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Maritime Park & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Park Hotel Pak Nam
Maritime Park And Spa Resort
Maritime Park Krabi
Maritime Park & Spa Resort Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing