We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Value!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Recently stayed 4 nights at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Capitola By the Sea. This hotel is relatively new (maybe 2 yrs old) and very reasonably priced for the Capitola/Santa Cruz area. Our party of 3 adults stayed quite comfortably in a 2 bedroom queen suite. Altho the 2 room suite was not hugh, it had plently of room and was well appointed. There was a nice sized bedroom w/two queen beds, a separate sitting area with a desk, two chairs and a couch that made into a queen bed, a nice sized bathroom with a tub/shower combo, and a small in-room microwave oven, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Both the bed and sitting rooms had nice flat screen tvs. The hotel has a cocktail lounge adjacent to the lobby which offered daily happy hour specials and there was a very nice breakfast area on the mezzanine level of the hotel with indoor and patio seating. The daily complementary breakfast was served between 6 - 10 am and was more than adequate with a nice selection of breakfast foods which you served yourself. A 24-hr self serve coffee and tea station was also available in the main lobby. Staff at this hotel were extremely friendly and accommodating and maid service was excellant (thank you, Rosa!); rooms were very clean and very quite! Heard no hallway or outside noise. This hotel also has a secured, free underground parking garage which is a plus as street parking in Capitola can be challenging. The hotel is very conveniently located to all attractions in the Capitola/Santa Cruz area and is within easy driving distance to Capitola Village, the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Santa Cruz Wharf. I would definitely stay here again when visiting the Capitola/Santa Cruz area and would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends. Its a very good value! Only negative would be the bathroom towels; very thin and felt like they were ten years old! Hotel could definitely use an upgrade in this area. Tip: Public parking in Capitola is very limited; mostly 2 hr metered parking w/no extensions. The Pacific Cove Parking Lot located behind Capitola City Hall offers long-term metered parking for $.50 per hr w/no time limit and is open daily 8 am - 8 pm. Lot is short walking distance to Capitola Village; Capitola Village is quaint with lots of shops, restaurants and a public beach area. Also, don't miss the West Cliff Drive in Santa Cruz. Very scenic with lots of pullout areas where you can stop, get out, walk around and enjoy the beautiful coastal views and, it's free!

Room Tip: All suites are exactly the same but some do offer interior patio views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ModernGigi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    101
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
153
110
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel is probably the best property experience I have had anywhere at any price. Checking in was great. The gal at the front desk couldn't be any better and suggested a room on the lower floor which I took her up on. You park underneath the hotel and it is secured with gates that open with you room key. You need your key for everything as this hotel is very secure. From going from one building in the hotel to another, to parking, going to the pool and so on, you need your hotel key card. This hotel is clean inside and out and well taken care of! The room was very clean, well laid out and everything worked perfectly. Here is where there is an exception for myself and others with us. The beds were not good for us at all. Not sure it was the quality of the bed, rather these beds are on the firmer side and we all woke up with back aches. I tossed and turned all night. The other thing I didn't like was the pillows were small pillows but again that is a personal preference. Breakfast was great as was the location and for those that like to shop, you are maybe 5 minute from Capitola Mall. In short this is a great Hotel! Very friendly staff, clean property, easy on the eyes just a great place stay all around. Again, I like softer beds and these were on the firmer side, but that is just my preference. Don't hesitate staying here as it is great in every aspect and it was very quiet here for sure!

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor if you have kids that want to use the pool or spa because you have an extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wingnut5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount, Nc
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

The new building and reasonable rates were a welcome feeling so near Santa Cruz. The front desk staff were friendly and went out of their way to make sure they could help you find things around the area. If we are ever back here again will stay here.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tldaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

If you just want to get away, or even take a long vacation, this is the place to come! Free parking downstairs, free breakfast for you and the family, and a nice pool/recreation outlet for when you just want to be lazy and not go anywhere. Room 231 was so great!

Parking is free and easy right downstairs, and you can relax during happy hour. If you missed it, just ask the front desk if they can help you out with drinks at the bar. I got some buy 1 get 1 free drink cards that made the trip a dream, especially since the 49ers lost!

Worth the vacation if you live close by and worth the extra if you're a Marriott rewards member!

The ONLY downside, which was more annoying than anything else, was that the staff came in later that night and they were high (and loud), talking to the front desk workers who were working the night shift. I can't say the behavior was something I wanted to see from an employee who had just checked me in earlier in the day!

Room Tip: We were "upgraded" to a nicer suite with a jacuzzi style tub, balcony, and a fireplace! It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarBearSSF-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had a free night from our Marriott rewards and decided to get out of town. We only stayed 1 night but it was a very nice hotel. Our daughter loved the giant jelly hanging in the lobby. I loved the big room with a nice living space. We had a great night sleep, enjoyed the breakfast the next morning and headed off for our beach adventures. I've already told my sisters that we should get all out families together and hit the beach this summer, and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethO_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My family of 5 were staying at a hotel within walking distance of Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. After staying one night, we did not like it so I searched and found this place for less. It's a short 5 minute drive from the boardwalk, but worth it.

We were greeted by a friendly desk clerk. She said our room with a balcony was not available yet, but offered us a free upgrade to a similar room, except it's in the courtyard. Well, who was I to refuse the offer.

After check in, we walked around the lobby because there was some fascinating decor. It reminded me of the Bellagio's lighted glasswork in their lobby, but at a smaller scale. Wonderful place to lounge. Upstairs in the mezzanine is the breakfast area. Every morning we enjoyed making our own waffles. The selection for fruits, cereals, breads, muffins, yogurt and hot breakfast was wonderful. They also offer a brown bag with a ready meal downstairs for those who just need to grab and go.

We went to park our minivan in the parking area below the hotel. Very tight parking spots, but I made it fit by backing in to a spot. You have to be very careful if you have a large vehicle, mostly if other cars do not park in the middle of their spot. And if you come back at night, it's hard to find a spot. But we were fortunate to always find one to squeeze into.

We always need a 2 Queen plus Sofa sleeper. The room was spread out nicely with the sofa sleeper in its own area with a desk and TV. The glass door lead to the courtyard, which was great for our 3 and 7 year olds to run around. Laundry room was down the hall.

There's a building with a work out room with treadmills and exercise equipment. The swimming pool was heated and towels are provided in a bin. Even through it was 55 degrees at night, the pool was warm enough to enjoy.

We had a great 3 day stay. This is now our favorite place to stay in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiibeachnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Perfect hotel for a family visit! Free breakfast, spacious clean new-looking rooms! Very friendly staff. Well located. This hotel has a bar/lounge and a small pantry to buy snacks and essentials. The lobby is beautiful! I will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pthughes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,572 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
2.1 mi away
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Chaminade Resort & Spa
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Address: 1255 41st Ave, Capitola, CA 95010-3911
Region: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Santa Cruz-Capitola
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz-Capitola Hotel Capitola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing