We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Capitola Hotel(Capitola)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pelican Point Inn(Santa Cruz)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Cruz Inn(Santa Cruz)
View Hotel
Harbor Inn(Santa Cruz)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
248
105
14
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
105
14
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground parkingsanta cruzgreat hotelwafflessitting arearoom keysofa bedking suitefree breakfastwhole foodsthe breakfast areafront desk staffshort drivewould definitely stay here againrooms are largeexercise roompool and hot tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Maybe the nicest Fairfield Inn that I have ever stayed at. And I am a Marriott Rewards member so I have stayed at quite a few. Everything seems very new and up to date. Very clean and sharp. Great secure parking garage. Great breakfast. Very comfortable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank tmonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Recently stayed 4 nights at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Capitola By the Sea. This hotel is relatively new (maybe 2 yrs old) and very reasonably priced for the Capitola/Santa Cruz area. Our party of 3 adults stayed quite comfortably in a 2 bedroom queen suite. Altho the 2 room suite was not hugh, it had plently of room and was well appointed. There was a nice sized bedroom w/two queen beds, a separate sitting area with a desk, two chairs and a couch that made into a queen bed, a nice sized bathroom with a tub/shower combo, and a small in-room microwave oven, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Both the bed and sitting rooms had nice flat screen tvs. The hotel has a cocktail lounge adjacent to the lobby which offered daily happy hour specials and there was a very nice breakfast area on the mezzanine level of the hotel with indoor and patio seating. The daily complementary breakfast was served between 6 - 10 am and was more than adequate with a nice selection of breakfast foods which you served yourself. A 24-hr self serve coffee and tea station was also available in the main lobby. Staff at this hotel were extremely friendly and accommodating and maid service was excellant (thank you, Rosa!); rooms were very clean and very quite! Heard no hallway or outside noise. This hotel also has a secured, free underground parking garage which is a plus as street parking in Capitola can be challenging. The hotel is very conveniently located to all attractions in the Capitola/Santa Cruz area and is within easy driving distance to Capitola Village, the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Santa Cruz Wharf. I would definitely stay here again when visiting the Capitola/Santa Cruz area and would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends. Its a very good value! Only negative would be the bathroom towels; very thin and felt like they were ten years old! Hotel could definitely use an upgrade in this area. Tip: Public parking in Capitola is very limited; mostly 2 hr metered parking w/no extensions. The Pacific Cove Parking Lot located behind Capitola City Hall offers long-term metered parking for $.50 per hr w/no time limit and is open daily 8 am - 8 pm. Lot is short walking distance to Capitola Village; Capitola Village is quaint with lots of shops, restaurants and a public beach area. Also, don't miss the West Cliff Drive in Santa Cruz. Very scenic with lots of pullout areas where you can stop, get out, walk around and enjoy the beautiful coastal views and, it's free!

Room Tip: All suites are exactly the same but some do offer interior patio views.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ModernGigi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel is probably the best property experience I have had anywhere at any price. Checking in was great. The gal at the front desk couldn't be any better and suggested a room on the lower floor which I took her up on. You park underneath the hotel and it is secured with gates that open with you room key. You need your key for everything as this hotel is very secure. From going from one building in the hotel to another, to parking, going to the pool and so on, you need your hotel key card. This hotel is clean inside and out and well taken care of! The room was very clean, well laid out and everything worked perfectly. Here is where there is an exception for myself and others with us. The beds were not good for us at all. Not sure it was the quality of the bed, rather these beds are on the firmer side and we all woke up with back aches. I tossed and turned all night. The other thing I didn't like was the pillows were small pillows but again that is a personal preference. Breakfast was great as was the location and for those that like to shop, you are maybe 5 minute from Capitola Mall. In short this is a great Hotel! Very friendly staff, clean property, easy on the eyes just a great place stay all around. Again, I like softer beds and these were on the firmer side, but that is just my preference. Don't hesitate staying here as it is great in every aspect and it was very quiet here for sure!

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor if you have kids that want to use the pool or spa because you have an extra door that goes outside closer to the pool and spa.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wingnut5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

The new building and reasonable rates were a welcome feeling so near Santa Cruz. The front desk staff were friendly and went out of their way to make sure they could help you find things around the area. If we are ever back here again will stay here.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Tldaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

If you just want to get away, or even take a long vacation, this is the place to come! Free parking downstairs, free breakfast for you and the family, and a nice pool/recreation outlet for when you just want to be lazy and not go anywhere. Room 231 was so great!

Parking is free and easy right downstairs, and you can relax during happy hour. If you missed it, just ask the front desk if they can help you out with drinks at the bar. I got some buy 1 get 1 free drink cards that made the trip a dream, especially since the 49ers lost!

Worth the vacation if you live close by and worth the extra if you're a Marriott rewards member!

The ONLY downside, which was more annoying than anything else, was that the staff came in later that night and they were high (and loud), talking to the front desk workers who were working the night shift. I can't say the behavior was something I wanted to see from an employee who had just checked me in earlier in the day!

Room Tip: We were "upgraded" to a nicer suite with a jacuzzi style tub, balcony, and a fireplace! It's worth if if it's not too much more. It helps being a gold or platinum member!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarBearSSF-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews