We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Mini get away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Mini get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This was the second time we stayed here is a great place clean, friendly ppl. But if you are a road trip kind of person and might be arriving before 3 don't plan on checking in, both times we asked for early check in when making our reservations and both times we were denied, other than that it was a great place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    100
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
149
108
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
280 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here on a family trip to visit friends in nearby Aptos. Were a little concerned, as we have not always had the greatest experience at Fairfield. This one blows all the others away. It is well designed and very clean. We had upgraded to a suite, and there was great space to sit and talk as well as work. Free wifi and an excellent full breakfast that is included in the rate (do them yourself waffles are great).

When the only thing you can find wrong with a room was that it did not have a make-up mirror, you know it is a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cr8it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the road
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I picked this for a 2-night getaway based on Tripadvisor reviews, and was pleased I did. It was a bit pricey ($220) but worth it.

What we liked:

* The hotel is new, well laid-out, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable.There's a great jellyfish chandelier in the downstairs lounge area.
* The wi-fi worked well (hurrah!);
* There was a fridge, a microwave, a coffee-maker.
* The room (which may have been a junior suite, IDK) had a nice seating area with sofas opposite a second TV and a desk.
* Lots of power outlets for all our gadgets.
* Good beds, nice linens.
* The hotel has continual coffee and a pretty good hot breakfast.
* Free secure parking in a clean keycard-operated garage under the hotel. We weren't there on the weekend, and found space with no trouble. The elevator goes up to the room from the garage, making unloading and loading convenient.
* The staff were generally friendly and helpful.

The bathroom was functional, with modern decor. One small problem was that the ventilation couldn't keep pace with the water-pressure from the rainfall showerhead, making the air very humid and tough to breathe. Cracking open the bathroom door solved that.

Though we had a balcony room, it didn't mean much. There wasn't really a view - it was mainly rooftops. Fortunately the rooftops were part of the hotel building, and were a pretty terra cotta tile, so it wasn't ugly. But equally, it didn't entice us to go out on the balcony.

The location was both good and bad. It's quite accessible from CA-1, and it's reasonably close to Capitola village and Soquel. But it's situated amid large shopping malls - not very atmospheric. It's not an easy walk to anywhere, except maybe a mall. We drove everywhere.

On the balance, it was a very good experience. We'd happily stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hotel is new, clean, staff is nice. Everything was like it should be. The only one concern is that the hotel is pretty much far away from Santa Cruz city center and beach. On the other hand is much cheaper providing very good quality....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RafalXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
176 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We did our best in finding a hotel in Capitola, near Santa Cruz, and ended up in Fairfield Inn in Capitola.
This hotel you can recommand to everybody, it is very nice, clean and has very friendly staff.
The walk from the hotel to the beach is a pleasant one, it take 1/2 hour that we liked doing.
The beach in Capitola is not so spectacular for swimming but the number of pelicans is impressive.
The breakfast in the hotel is complementary and fine. The breakfast room is nice and well kept.
Parking is in the garage under the hotel.
We liked it there very much.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with a small balcony, I can imagine that with nice weather it is nice to have a...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is doing more it's best than most of the places we visited on our trip in the US. Off course it can be better but this is a great start.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

At long last, there is a Marriott brand in the Santa Cruz-Capitola area. I've stayed here twice over the last couple of years and it’s one of the nicest Fairfield Inns I’ve stayed in. True, it's a Fairfield Inn, but it looks nothing like a budget hotel. The architecture is grand and definitely unique with a huge glass jelly fish chandelier in the lobby crafted by a local artist. The rooms are large and very comfortable. Comes with a great breakfast and a friendly staff. Space is at a premium in this high end area, so the owners managed to include a very functional underground garage. Price-wise, it is an excellent value given the location. There are many great restaurants nearby (Shadowbrook, Paradise Beach Grille, etc.). Capitola is a really neat beach town. It's worth hunting a parking place to walk around here. Great shops and restaurants. Visit the Buttery in nearby Santa Cruz for breakfast, lunch and bakery goods. It’s about the best around for that sort of thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We reserved a room at Fairfield Inn for an anniversary trip to Capitola. Originally we wanted something by the beach, but those places were either too pricey and/or looked outdated. I get Marriott points so I chose the Fairfield because there was a fireplace, a living room and a whirlpool tub for a reasonable rate so we were OK not being in the center of everything.

The room was fairly basic, no frills but everything was clean and updated. The fireplace was nice to have. The setup for the tub was kind of weird...there were shutters that opened up to look into the living room -- presumably so you could watch TV from the tub. But the problem was that there wasn't a separate toilet room so it was rather exposed if you're modest or would just like some privacy. Also, there was no body lotion or hair dryer supplied in the bathroom. I suppose that's something I could have asked the front desk for because maybe it was just an oversight.

Also there were some kids running (jumping?) around on the floor above us late at night that continued for a while. My fiancé called the front desk and the manager was apologetic and said he would take care of it. We heard them again in the morning....but that's not the hotel's fault. The ceilings were pretty high and it's not like the walls were thin--we couldn't hear voices, just the banging around and running.

The breakfast room was nice, and the bartender at the bar was helpful. He told us that the restaurant we were going to would pick us up for free if we asked.

Overall it was a good place to stay for the weekend if you're just looking for a spacious and well-kept place to rest your head, not to hang out all day. So it was perfect for us because we spent our days and evenings sightseeing and eating out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Lila,

We sincerely appreciate your staying with us during the busy Memorial day weekend. We are happy that you enjoyed your room and our bar as well as our charming community. We always have complimentary skin lotions available at the front desk and your hair dryer which can be used in any outlet was located in a little black bag that was suspended in your room's closet. I apologize that you were unaware of it location. My staff and I look forwards to your future stays.
Sincerely
Derek Grell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitola By-the-Sea Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn
3.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Address: 1255 41st Ave, Capitola, CA 95010-3911
Region: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz-Capitola Hotel Capitola
Fairfield Inn And Suites Santa Cruz-Capitola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing