We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and a cozy atmosphere.”
Review of Stockton Bridge Grille - CLOSED

Stockton Bridge Grille
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food and a cozy atmosphere.”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We went with friends to this restaurant last Sunday night. We were looking for a restaurant with entrees and small plates that offered an atmosphere conducive to conversation. It helped that the restaurant on a Sunday night was almost devoid of customers so reservations were not necessary. The menu contained small plate items as well as standard plate entrees. The ladies opted for dinner salads topped with salmon, my friend had a cheeseburger, and I had the medallions of ahi dipped in a light tempura batter, briefly deep fried, and served with a wasabi based sauce. The food was delicious and the service was prompt and gracious. My wife and I plan to return next week on our anniversary and this time will try the small plate menu.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocPhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not just a hamburger and beer joint”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We drive to Capitola, a cute little seaside town on Monterey Bay, for lunch whenever we are in the Santa Cruz area and the last couple of times, we have eaten at the Stockton Bridge Grille. It is around the corner from the row of burger and beer joints and has a nice view of the water. It also has an outdoor area although the day we were there it was a bit too chilly. I had the New Zealand mussels and my wife had a salad. Both were delicious. It was a bit more expensive than the burger joints, but had a much more quiet and higher class environment.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chaslin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Almost very good: Menu choices, quiet relaxing enviro, great views.”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is a relatively classy, yet casual place, nice feel to the space, with almost too many great menu items. A limited selection of wine by glass, but a decent wine bottle list, and not 'overly' pricey. Unlike many other downtown Capitola eating establishments, it is not a crazy bar scene. We ordered several small plates, all very tasty, but maybe a little small per cost/volume ratio. Service was attentive, yet in that slightly non-authentic way.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“casual, Fine Dining With an Ocean View”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We visited this wonderful restaurant while visiting Capitola. First off what makes this place stand out is that it is NOT a noisy, rowdy, beach place. It is quiet and well placed on the corner in the middle of town , right on the water. The views are excellent, the staff attentive but not overbearing, and the food very nice. The menu had a wide selection of meat, fish, and a few vegetarian dishes. We started out with a fe signature drinks, then moved on to the delicious Oysters Rockefeller then choosing a few fine salads, which were tasty and generous. The waitress came back within 3 minutes of serving our meal making certain we had everything we needed and that the meals were OK ( this is a big thing for us ) and we never give more than 3 stars if the server does not come back to check out the meal quickly after serving it. The price was moderately high but not extreme, but the location and quality justified it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo1317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stockton Bridge Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing