We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finding ale”
Review of Britannia Arms

Britannia Arms
Ranked #14 of 106 Restaurants in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Finding ale”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Standard pub fare; we shared a mixed app of deep fried onions, mushrooms and zucchini, which hit the spot. Ales on top were tasty.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Millwall - Come on ye Lions”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

This is a decent British pub set next to a lovely beach. Good honest British pub grub and a great staff make this place possibly one of the best eateries in Capitola. Great abundant fish n chips and good ales took me back to London from where we are from.

Millwall is a tough no nonsense football team from south east London. Andy the owner is an ardent Millwall fan. I guess someone has to be!

Top marks to Andy and his crew for serving good (not haut cuisine) food at honest prices. Loads of American football on the five screens makes it quite lively when a game is on.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Savagemushrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches at the Beach!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

At the end of the cute little Beach town sits this restaurant. Sandwiches are huge fresh bread and ingredients. The outside is the best to just chill. Inside is small and the staff looked like they were short staffed while we visited. Still they had a smile. Bar is limited and small, on a busy day you'd be better off waiting for a table outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1randy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Brit is Average.”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Visited the "Brit" in Capitola on Fathers Day. Not real crowded so we tried it. A table outside on the patio was available so we eat there. They have heaters outside but management refused our request to turn them on at 4:00pm. We were told not until the sun sets. So much for customer service.. Fish and chips are large portions, hamburgers are average and the clam chowder was all broth very little clam and very small portion. All the food was served hot and service person was very friendly. If they would only commit to some of the small details they could be a great restaurant. Will try other restaurants next time before I revisit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining patio”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I had fish and chips to go, but wished I had stayed and enjoyed the patio area. Next time I visit, I will definitely stay. The fish was delicious and very large portion. The restaurant was busy (on a weekend) but had a very friendly vibe to it. I would feel comfortable dining here alone. I often eat solo, so it is important to me that a place feels inviting when I walk in. This one definitely does. Nice choice for restaurant dining while in Capitola Village.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Britannia Arms also viewed

 

Been to Britannia Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing