We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Capitola Venetian is great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitola Venetian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Country, CA.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Capitola Venetian is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2008

We just returned from a terrific 3 day stay the Capitola Venetian. The room was one of their largest, more like a small apartment. The view from the room was perfect, we could see the beach, the lagoon, and the restaurants across the way. The front desk staffers were always helpful, the room was clean, and the only noise was from the bars in town (across the lagoon). Once we parked our car at the hotel, we walked everywhere including to the wharf, the beach or to town for coffee & dining. This hotel is more on the eclectic or artsy side than fine living so if you're used to the Hyatt, you might not like it. We stayed with 2 adults, and 4 teenagers ages 14-20 and we all had a great time. Will go back again and again.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank NorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    29
    20
    4
    13
See reviews for
53
39
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

I was a little reluctant after reading some of the reviews, but now after having stayed their for 5 night and 6 glorious days I have to say, this is one of the nicest and most relaxing stays my wife and I have had for a very long time. It is not fancy but wow is it a wonderful place to stay if you just want to get away and relax. We stayed in one of the 1 bedroom rooms with a view and it was perfect. The staff was wonderful and very helpful at making recommendations about restaurants, entertainment, sightseeing. The rooms were very clean and extremely comfortable. Having the beach right at your front door and hearing those waves crash on the beach during the night was magical, we loved it so much, that before we ever left we made plans to return within the month. wow, wow, wow.

  • Liked — it fely very warm and relaxing
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkrtoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2008

This is such a fabulous place to stay. Any shortcomings in the accommodation were totally outweighed by the resort and location. The accommodation was adequate in a fairly basic self-catering unit. The bed was in a corner and fairly high so wasn't totally user friendly but nevertheless comfy and clean. Capitola itself is lovely, the beach is gorgeous and it is a good place from which to explore.

These comments are based on a December holiday when it was quiet and uncrowded. It may be that visitors in the middle of summer would find it very noisy as it is such a popular area and the accommodation is practically on the beach.

We would go back tomorrow.

  • Liked — Location by the beach and sea
  • Disliked — Bed was not user-friendly
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2007

This was sure not what we expected. We were in the area for a wedding and chose The Venetian because of a referral from a friend. We were VERY disappoined.

We had a non-view room, which means you are downstairs facing a narrow pedestrian alley that allows no light into the rooms. There were a number of garbage cans in the alley becuase it is shared by condos across the way. Smokers staying in the hotel smoke in the alley as well. Our room, #139, was very dark and dank. The ocean view room above us must have been a 24 hour fitness because an aerobics class was going on all night long. The shower was small and terrible and the temperature changed constantly during our shower.

We were to stay for 2 nights, but our room was so bad, we stayed for only half of the wedding we attended and checked out and went home. Because of their 7 day cancellation policy, we forfeted our money for the day we did not stay.

This hotel has such great potential to be a great place. The location is superb in a great town, but the noise insulation is terrible and the plumbing is terrible. For the price we paid, the hotel should have been much better'

Never Again!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Skubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2007

Stayed here for two nights hoping for a relaxing weekend. Property is directly across the sand from eight or nine bars and it is EXTREMELY loud. Once the decks of the bars close at 2:00 a.m. the party moves to the beach. On the second night it was so rowdy the hotel Manager called the cops and they said they were too busy to come down and break up the party.The Manager also told us housekeeping only comes on the third day so no towels changed, bed made or garbage emptied during our stay. Never again.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CaliforniaNutmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2007

This hotel is a bit of a roller coaster ride - the highs are really high, and the lows are way down there. First, the highs: superb location right on the beach, in the middle of the village, next to the wharf and in walking distance of restaurants and shops; unique suites have full kitchens; some suites have fireplaces and/or balconies; ocean view suites have really great views. Now, the lows: paper-thin walls that allow you to hear EVERYTHING in adjacent rooms and destroy the romantic atmosphere; mattresses so old and soft even those with healthy backs will complain; a bathroom with a shower so tiny you don't want to drop the soap. This charming hotel could capitalize on its fabulous location and unique suites, and instead left us disappointed.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank OceanDreamer960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2006

We were hopeful but very disappointed. This hotel was shabby and rundown and much too expensive for the condition. The location is good and the town of Capitola is adorable but the hotel leaves much to be desired. Poor ventilation, very little natural light, several rooms didn't have windows on the outside.

Also, very noisy with both pedestrian and traffic noise even at 3:00 in the morning. Not the relaxing beach hotel we were looking for.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Very shabby rooms and furniture
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CSCSCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitola By-the-Sea Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
2.7 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn
0.6 mi away
Monarch Cove Inn
Monarch Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Capitola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Chaminade Resort & Spa
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitola Venetian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitola Venetian Hotel

Property: Capitola Venetian Hotel
Address: 1500 Wharf Road, Capitola, CA 95010
Region: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capitola Venetian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Capitola Venetian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing