We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capitola Venetian Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This motel sits right on the beach at Capitola, since I was a kid we would come to the beach and I always wondered who were the lucky people who got to stay here, as it turns out I won a two night stay. This property was built in the 1920's and well maintained, the best location for discovering this town, no need to use your car. We enjoyed Pizza my Heart, and Zelda's restaurant, right up the street is Shadowbrook restaurant which you'll have to dress up a little for, beautiful property, a must see, great for picture taking along with a mural alongside the street on the way there. Don't miss Gayles Bakery in Capitola for breakfast lunch or dinner and take out for the beach, it's our families favorite place. Can't wait to rent this property again.

Room Tip: built in the 1920's, so not luxurious but very family friendly,comfy beds and furnishings, my th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryDCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Thank you very much for the nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Capitola and hope you'll be staying with us again soon,

Regards,
Duane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

Been there, done that at Santa Cruz and didn’t want to spend the big bucks for the same ole’ thing so we opted to stay in near by Capitola.
We where looking for; beach front, no driving required for food and fun.
Happened across the Capitola Venetian, a block from restaurants, shops, bars and a sandy beach 75 feet from the door, Book it Danho !! We didn’t look at any of the reviews prior to arrival so we were walking into this property blind.
Our room #124 is street level has a balcony and what’s with all the room?
There are only two of us and we walked into suite with 4 rooms, (2 bedrooms, a living room and kitchen). This place could easily sleep 8 and with a kitchen, a family or group of friends on a budget could rock this place for a week.
The rooms very clean, beds comfortable, plenty of closet space, the bathroom upgraded. The kitchen has a full size refrigerator. The balcony gives the view of the river, beach and pier. True you do have a building between you and the beach but all you have to do is look up and it’s easy to ignore what is at your feet and enjoy watching the waves crashing on the shore.
If you do want to visit the boardwalk at Santa Cruz (like we did) it’s a 10 minute drive along the cliffs and through the neighborhoods.
This is a great property with an excellent location We will be returning here again.
I recommend the rooms 123 – 131 they have balconies. Rooms 123 & 124 open to the street and do get traffic noise, so if this is a concern then stay in the upper numbers.

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms 123 – 131 they have balconies. Rooms 123 & 124 open to the street and do g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here in Capitola and hope to see you again soon. FYI, that room is rated for up to five people but we do have two rooms that can sleep up to eight.

Take Care,
Duane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had a wonderful family time and fabulous experience! My husband and I grew up on this beach . . . we had friends and family with us - who also had childhood memories of Capitola, as well.
The Hotel is run well, rooms are old - BUT clean and it's all part of the charm! Charming is Capitola by ~ the ~ Sea. The views from the room really great compared to some vacation rentals in the village. Always much to do, for all ages! The beach is steps away . . .
Make it HAPPEN, make your memories... we'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you so much for the nice review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks Again,
Duane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We booked a last-minute trip to Capitola, and chose the Venetian Hotel for its location (and to say that we'd "stayed at that place in the pictures"). We knew from reviews that the rooms would be different from what we're familiar with in a standard hotel (hence the "funky"). We stayed in Room 141, lower level, end room next to the parking lot. Duane was great at check-in (thanks Duane!).
Location Pros: The location for beach access is amazing. 60 seconds from door to sand. You can hear the waves at night when it's quiet. Walking distance to everything in Capitola Village - no need for a car.
Location Cons: Because the hotel is right on the beach, it is smack in the middle of beach access for the public. It's also right next to the wharf and the main street. We didn't notice too many people just "wandering through", but just something to think about. Don't plan on sleeping late - as it's a busy area.
Rooms: Wish I could have seen the original layouts of the rooms in this place. It's easy to tell that doors and windows have been moved around, and not always in a way that makes sense. Room 141 has a small kitchen (fully loaded), small table for 4, a small living area with couch, chair and TV. We didn't use the kitchen much, since we only stayed two nights, but for longer trips it would be very convenient. This unit has 2 bedrooms - you have to walk through the first room (queen bed) to reach the 2nd bedroom (double bed) and bathroom. We knew this when we booked the room, and it was just fine for a family with smaller children. The odd layout would probably not work for adults/couples. As mentioned by other reviewers, I found the mattress to be uncomfortable. Slept the 2nd night on the couch.
Bathroom:The bathroom overall was spacious, but the shower was tiny! Not a good use of space. We did not have any issues with the hot/cold water, as mentioned by some other reviewers.
Other: It's nice to have off-street parking, but the parking lot is very small. There is one space for each room, but if you have a large vehicle, you will not be happy parking here. One way in, one way out. There are water spigets located at either end of the building - nice to have for washing off feet and boogie boards. Rooms with fireplaces get 1 free duraflame log.
Overall, we would definitely stay here again, maybe in an upstairs room with balcony. We are missing the beach already!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SacKerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry you didn't find the bed comfortable. Several months ago we replaced the mattresses in that room with memory foam mattresses. We've had mostly positive feedback on them but I guess not everyone likes the same type of mattress. I hope you'll be staying with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Duane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed in room 113 (low ceilings, sleeps 8) and it was perfect for our trip! With our young children having a bathroom so close to the beach was a necessity. It made it possible for us to all enjoy the trip. Capitola is fantastic and being able to stay in the famous Venetians was wonderful. It is not luxurious, but it is close to everything, awesome to have a kitchen, and has personality. Being able to park your car in the (very small) lot and not have to use it again until departing makes staying here worth it since parking in town can be difficult to find, cumbersome to pay for in quarters or 2 hour stints, or far. It is loud on Friday nights (close to the bars in town which play music, etc. late into the evening) so factor that in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KrisAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and had fun in Capitola. We hope you'll be staying with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Duane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We were a group of four adults, one with dietary needs that required kitchen facilities, one with a taste for luxury and my husband and I. We stayed in the end unit visible in the picture and loved it! The property was built in the 1920's, and was in good shape for a building that age. It is located in a bar district, and with that caveat, I will say it was fairly quiet, even on the weekend. We did joke, however, about serenading our downstairs birthday girl neighbor with loud show tunes in the morning since she was obviously going to be suffering. Capitola is a darling little town with loads of interesting shops and good restaurants. All you have to do is cross the bridge and you're there in the middle of it all. If you want four and five star finery, and the world to revolve around you, this is not your hotel. If you want to immerse yourself in a funky little seaside resort, try the Venetian out. Our unit would have comfortably held eight, but we enjoyed having space and privacy, which when traveling in a group is its own form of luxury. We all agreed that if ever we wandered toward Capitola again, the Venetian would get our custom. Clean, great scenery, free parking (great perk in Capitola) and nice staff.

Room Tip: Our unit slept eight and had an ocean view and was on the corner next to the bridge. So pleasant, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellyD862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate it and hope you'll be staying with us again soon.

Regards,
Duane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We were very pleased. The location and view were excellent! I wanted a place where we could park and walk everywhere without having to drive and we did just that. We ate, shopped and took our 8 month old to the beach for the first time. We slept with the windows open and the noise was not a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bravos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad you had a good time and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Duane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.1 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
4 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
2.4 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
0.6 mi away
Monarch Cove Inn
Monarch Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Capitola
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitola Venetian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitola Venetian Hotel

Address: 1500 Wharf Rd, Capitola, CA 95010-3269
Region: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Price Range: £97 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capitola Venetian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capitola Venetian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing