We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this Place !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitola Venetian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this Place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My new favorite place in the world ! This hotel on the beach has everything you could want in a vacation. You can park your car for a few days and walk everywhere. There are shops, restaurants, beach, river, and the room even has a kitchen ! I even own an Inn myself and I see the great value here.

Kathleen from Bella Vista B & B

discoverbellavista.com

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you Kathleen for the great review! You're right; it's great having so much to do within walking distance. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Duane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    29
    20
    4
    13
See reviews for
53
39
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just got back from a 4 night 5 day stay at the Venetian. This was by far the most relaxing, comfortable, rejuvenating trip I have been on in years. We had Room 112 which was wonderful. 2 bedrooms with the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. they also had 2 murphy beds which we did not need to use. Large living room with big flat screen t.v. Fully stocked kitchen, refrigerator, stove, coffees maker with Wolfgang Puck Coffee. YUMMIE. We had a full view of the ocean and the river. So tranquil and relaxing. There was also a deck off the master bedroom which was wonder full with a bench to sit and watch the ocean, people, birds, etc. We went with 2 teenage girls who boogie boarded in the ocean and went to Pizza My Heart at least 2-3 times per day. Loved the Happy Hour at Paradise Grill, all drinks and appetizers 50 percent off food and drink. Loved the Capitola Pier, had a wonderful breakfast there and enjoyed browsing the Capitola Bait and Tackle Shop. Great deals on sweatshirts and t-shirts. Venetian Staff were fabulous, friendly, accommodating, anything we needed they provided. I nearly cried when we had to leave. I can hardly wait to go back. Will never stay anywhere else in Capitola except The Capitola Venetian Hotel. Love,Love,Love

Room Tip: I was told that room 112 was going to be noisy but we never heard a thing. Slept like babies. Even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyP9100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate it and hope you'll be staying with us again soon.

Regards,
Duane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

So on the outside, the location seems to good to be true. Because it is. The rooms are funky good in that they have a small living room space w/ a fully functional kitchen and a semi-private bed area, would have beed great for an extended stay, or lots of family or friends. They are funky bad due to the none upgraded fixtures and somewhat cabin/apartment old feel. However, it was super fun wondering around the walk ways and checking out the exterior of all the units. Plus it's right on the water and across from the heart of the Capitola scene. I warn you, DON'T get a room on the bottom floor, we were kept awake all night by some crazy people above us, pacing back and forth all night! The bed was ok, but it was placed in a strange spot, making it hard to see the tv from it. Overall, it was totally worth the rates due to the amazing location and the size of the room.Our room was not suited for a romantic getaway, but great if your just there to enjoy Capitola.

Room Tip: Don't reserve a downstairs unit, you can hear everything above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Visitin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback. Our hotel is an older landmark and isn’t as up to date as some newer hotels. We are trying go upgrade many of the fixtures while keeping the antique feel of the place. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be staying with us again soon.

Thank You,
Duane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The location of this hotel was great. When it was time to go to bed I felt uncomfortable. It didn't feel clean like the marriott hotel which we stayed at the night before. Wish we would have Never left. Brought home BED BUGS!!!! So disgusting. I had to buy a complete new bed set......NEVER AGAIN.......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi,
I'm sorry for your negative experience. Thank you for the feedback. I can't respond specifically since your stay was five months ago and I don't know your name or the room you stayed in etc.. We take any such reports very seriously. Any time we've had a guest even hint at something of this nature we strip and carefully inspect their room. We have not had any problems with bedbugs reported by the hundreds of other guests we've had in the last five months. You mention that you stayed at other hotels during your trip. Is it possible that the problem wasn't from the Capitola Venetian? I don't mean to be dismissive in any way. I'd really like to get to the bottom of this.

Regards,
Duane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a 2 night stay at the Venetian. Accommodations were
clean and comfortable- beds were great! Location is fabulous! People in shops very friendly and prices reasonable. Paradise Grill has wonderful food and a great happy hour. Beach quiet this time of year so great place to bring your book and relax. Will definitely be coming back here!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Capitola. The unusually nice weather this winter has made this a great time to come. We hope you'll be staying with us again soon.
Thanks again,
Duane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My daughter and I just got back from one of our Mother/Daughter weekends where we stayed here at the Venetian. We stayed in room 123 which was like having our own little apartment on the beach. There was a fireplace which we really enjoyed in the evenings. Great view and location. We were sad we had to leave but are looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabowaboElkGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting the great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be visiting us again soon.

Take Care,
Duane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Venetian is all about the view. Situated right on the sand at the lovely Capitola Beach, this historic motel/lodge is a fun place to stay. The proximity to all the charming shops and restaurants in Capitola is very appealing.

The management is very helpful and friendly. We had a 1 bdrm unit near the office, which unfortunately is also near the street. Very noisy and busy. The unit had a small, fully furnished kitchen. Since it was built in the late '20's, it doesn't have an open floor plan. Each room is separate with it's own door. The bathroom is small and the shower is even smaller with alternating hot/cold water. The most important thing is the bed. And luckily it was luxuriously comfortable. The wireless connection was just ok....the room did have a nice flat screen TV.

We stayed during the week in the off season so the nightly rate wasn't too scary. Probably the main con was the tiny parking lot. There is enough spaces for each unit but it's an adventure getting in and out. The view, hearing the waves crash and waking up in a vintage California "motor lodge" - priceless!

Room Tip: ask for a room as far from the noisy road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandybeach818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be joining us again soon.
Regards,
Duane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.1 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitola By-the-Sea Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monarch Cove Inn
Monarch Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Capitola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Chaminade Resort & Spa
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitola Venetian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitola Venetian Hotel

Property: Capitola Venetian Hotel
Address: 1500 Wharf Road, Capitola, CA 95010
Region: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capitola Venetian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Capitola Venetian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing