We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and well situated....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea
Ranked #3 of 4 Capitola B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent 1 night at this centrally located hotel just off Highway 1. The property is up on a little hill away from the street backing up to a neighborhood and very quiet. It is only a few blocks walk from a small shopping center with a Nob Hill foods and Starbucks and only a short drive to the main shopping are of Capitola. The 2nd floor room furnishings were average but the beds were comfortable and overall the room was a good size with every room having it's own balcony.The sliding glass door to the tiny balcony in room 123 needs repair as it was a struggle to latch the door although not a real theft issue due to location. The in room fridge made a tapping sound as it turned on and off during the night. The hotel landscaping needs to be completed as there were numerous projects left half finished throughout the property. The biggest surprise came with the complimentary breakfast which included make your own waffles, eggs and sausage as well as numerous cold selections. The dining area was clean, cozy and convenient to our room. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banjo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed here on several occasions for business. There are several restaurants within walking distance. The beach is close enough that you could walk....if you were so inclined (maybe 1.5 miles?). Peets Roast and grocery store very close. If you have children and you don't want to have to drive far to get all your needs then this is a great place to stay.
Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here for one night on business in April. I used Hotwire and got a price of $90 plus tax, a pretty good rate for this area. The stay was nice. The room was a little small and there was a large stain on the bedspread. I was on the second floor and there are no elevators. I had a nice, small balcony and opened up the door to let in the fresh air. There was no screen and I didn't think anything about it until a pretty large wasp came in for a visit. I was pretty scared and spent about 5 minutes locked in the bathroom trying to decide what to do. Eventually it flew out and I was forced to close the door, which was a shame, because the fresh air was so nice. I was also near the pool area and the noise was noticeable. But I can't complain because it was around Spring Break time. I slept pretty well, there wasn't much freeway noise as others have described. There was a child who I could hear pretty loudly in the hallway but when they went into their room, I didn't hear it much.
The best things about this room: affordable, the room had a fridge and microwave which was great, the water pressure in the shower was better than most other hotels I stay at (this must just be a thing with me, but I really appreciate good water pressure) and the area was super nice. I took a jog down to the Capitola Village and back. There is a grocery store, a drug store, and a fabulous bakery (Gayles' bakery) within walking distance. And it's just off the freeway. If you can get a good price for this place, it's a nice stay.

Room Tip: If you choose a second floor, just remember there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uclachexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place is quiet the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable! But we had dirty towels to be exact the towels had hairs stuck in them. After that I had to examine all the towels which were awful. Only 1 bath towel, washcloth and hand towel person. The towels are small and thin they need better quality. The grounds are neat and tidy but probably won't stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

It wasn't anything special, but was nice enough accommodations. Hey, beggars can't be choosers at the beach. It's the friction' Taj Mahal compared to most other $99 accommodations in the area. The rooms were spacious and breakfast had a generous helping of choices, not just the staple toast and oatmeal that serves as a free breakfast in most hotels. If you prefer life by foot, it's also within walking distance — only about a mile — from the beach and downtown Capitola. Even closer is the drool-worthy Gayle's Bakery which will blow your baked-goods brain. It wasn't the best hotel ever, but I would stay here again for the price and convenience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were within walking distance to the beach and wharf (pier). There were many restaurants within walking distance also. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and fresh! We definitely like to walk and shop and found this hotel suitably located for that purpose.

Room Tip: We didn't have any trouble with the road noise. We were on the ground floor in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sstrudster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This property is comprised of 4 pods, each seeming to have about 8 rooms on bottom floor and perhaps same on top. There is no elevator and pool is not heated. It is right off the highway; however did not notice much noise. While I'm a frequent stay person with Choice Hotels and a platinum member, the front desk barely gave me the time of day and I know from my frequent stays with the chain that my status shows on the screen in front of them. The room was clean, large and bath was ample. Furnishings are indeed economy. There was the usual fridge, mico and coffee pot...didnt use any. With the 2 queen beds, there was a table, 2 chairs, desk and small chest with SMALL flat screen. There was a small outdoor patio and the sliding glass door to that space is the only natural light in the room. The location is about 2 miles from the beach and esplanade where the shops and restaurants line the area. Parking is impossible at the beach so start looking for side street parking which is both free and allows much easier access. The breakfast room and offerings were pretty much the same as you expect at the chains with cereal, breads, fruit, waffles, sausage, egg patties, coffee, milk, juice. This is not a place you want to stay for a special occasion. Great for quick overnight on your way to somewhere or business in the area. It is across from a center which has a market, deli, coffee shop, pizza, etc. You could do worse; you could do better!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki32414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
0.7 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
306 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea

Address: 720 Hill St, Capitola, CA 95010-2187
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Capitola
Price Range: £76 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the endless beaches of Capitola, CA and the lush Santa Cruz Mountains, the Quality Inn(R) & Suites Capitola By the Sea is surrounded by famous wineries, golf courses and state parks. This Capitola, CA hotel is only minutes away from popular attractions like Pleasure Point, Seacliff State Beach, Capitola Village, Wharf and Beach, Mystery Spot and Monterey Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitola Hotel Capitola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing