We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay for a Reasonable Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea
Ranked #3 of 4 Capitola B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel was set a bit off the beaten path, but still close to the freeway. The room was nice enough for the price and quite clean. Bed was comfortable. The staff was pleasant. The area felt safe, which I appreciate when I'm traveling alone on business. Will consider another stay the next time I'm in the area on business.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyTheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

My daughter went to UC Santa Cruz, and we used to stay in this hotel a lot (it was the Capitola Inn then).

We were in town for a wedding, and decided to stay there again.

The clerk at reception was great - very helpful. The beds are comfortable. There was good hot water and wi-fi.

The floor in our bathroom was very sticky - I requested that they scrub it, and they did (somewhat poorly). A lamp by the bed did not work, and I had to ask them twice to fix it.

They have done a super job with their landscaping. We really enjoyed the flowers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We just stayed at the Quality Inn this past week as we were in town to meet with some friends. The Front Desk person was nice. The room appeared clean with no issues. We then went out and came back at 10pm. My wife pulled the covers back and on the bed there was a pair of women's dirty underwear between the top and bottom sheet. This meant the sheets were never changed and that the housekeeper had just made up the bed to look as if it had been changed. I informed the front desk person who was nice and they apologized then moved us to another room---The second room had the seams to the carpet coming apart which shows a lack of maintenance. They did give us a bottle of wine at the end of our stay and again apologized. As I said the people were nice but I will never go back.

Room Tip: One room had dirty Linen and the other room had rips in the carpet---so I would not be able to give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Price made me choose but by far I would recommend beause of Excellent staff and Clean accomadations.. Beautiful gardens,quiet , excellent location, friendly caring staff from front desk , breakfast staff and cleaning staff. I recommend to all go relax and enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: I loved blg 4 room upstairs was private and close too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marji831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent 1 night at this centrally located hotel just off Highway 1. The property is up on a little hill away from the street backing up to a neighborhood and very quiet. It is only a few blocks walk from a small shopping center with a Nob Hill foods and Starbucks and only a short drive to the main shopping are of Capitola. The 2nd floor room furnishings were average but the beds were comfortable and overall the room was a good size with every room having it's own balcony.The sliding glass door to the tiny balcony in room 123 needs repair as it was a struggle to latch the door although not a real theft issue due to location. The in room fridge made a tapping sound as it turned on and off during the night. The hotel landscaping needs to be completed as there were numerous projects left half finished throughout the property. The biggest surprise came with the complimentary breakfast which included make your own waffles, eggs and sausage as well as numerous cold selections. The dining area was clean, cozy and convenient to our room. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banjo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed here on several occasions for business. There are several restaurants within walking distance. The beach is close enough that you could walk....if you were so inclined (maybe 1.5 miles?). Peets Roast and grocery store very close. If you have children and you don't want to have to drive far to get all your needs then this is a great place to stay.
Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here for one night on business in April. I used Hotwire and got a price of $90 plus tax, a pretty good rate for this area. The stay was nice. The room was a little small and there was a large stain on the bedspread. I was on the second floor and there are no elevators. I had a nice, small balcony and opened up the door to let in the fresh air. There was no screen and I didn't think anything about it until a pretty large wasp came in for a visit. I was pretty scared and spent about 5 minutes locked in the bathroom trying to decide what to do. Eventually it flew out and I was forced to close the door, which was a shame, because the fresh air was so nice. I was also near the pool area and the noise was noticeable. But I can't complain because it was around Spring Break time. I slept pretty well, there wasn't much freeway noise as others have described. There was a child who I could hear pretty loudly in the hallway but when they went into their room, I didn't hear it much.
The best things about this room: affordable, the room had a fridge and microwave which was great, the water pressure in the shower was better than most other hotels I stay at (this must just be a thing with me, but I really appreciate good water pressure) and the area was super nice. I took a jog down to the Capitola Village and back. There is a grocery store, a drug store, and a fabulous bakery (Gayles' bakery) within walking distance. And it's just off the freeway. If you can get a good price for this place, it's a nice stay.

Room Tip: If you choose a second floor, just remember there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uclachexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
0.7 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#2 of 4 in Capitola
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 54 in Santa Cruz
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea

Address: 720 Hill St, Capitola, CA 95010-2187
Region: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Capitola
Price Range: £71 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the endless beaches of Capitola, CA and the lush Santa Cruz Mountains, the Quality Inn(R) & Suites Capitola By the Sea is surrounded by famous wineries, golf courses and state parks. This Capitola, CA hotel is only minutes away from popular attractions like Pleasure Point, Seacliff State Beach, Capitola Village, Wharf and Beach, Mystery Spot and Monterey Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitola Hotel Capitola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing