We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location for the Price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea
Ranked #3 of 4 Capitola B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Convenient Location for the Price!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Capitola is a beautiful little village in the Central Coast of California. If you want a reasonably priced hotel in a convenient location, the Quality Inn can fit those requirements. The units vary, but we stayed in a king size bedroom that had a private patio. Nice for catching some rays and fresh air. The location is about 2 miles from the beach, but the hotel offers a nice pool, complimentary breakfast and a fairly large room for a reasonable price. There are several great restaurants within waking distance and my favorite coffee shop and local super-market are just down the hill. We stayed four nights and appreciated that the rooms include a small refrigerator and microwave oven. The room and especially the bathroom was very clean. The only small downside was the bed was a bite too firm for my liking. However, for the price and convenient location, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    40
    34
    12
    15
See reviews for
36
36
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This weekend we were in town for a 40th birthday party. We decided it would be prudent to stay after the party versus driving home. At the last minute we booked this motel and were pleased with our selection. It is off the main drag a bit, though next to the freeway. It is somewhat insulated from the sound and very insulated from the sight of the freeway. I would suggest not getting a room on that side of the buildings though, if you are sound sensitive.

Upon arrival we did have a bit of a snafu.... Couldn't find reservation. When I called I talked to someone with a heave accent and apparently she didn't get my name. So, I suggest getting a confirmation number. When I used it, the room was found instantly.

The room was clean. The set up of the buildings was unique and made for privacy. No elevator, so if hauling luggage is a problem ask for a 1st floor room.

The desk staff was helpful.

Breakfast was typical, but on the good side of selection.

Overall the experience was good..... If you can, book in the off season (not summer) for a better price..... also Sunday through Thursday is the best pricing. Weekends in the summer are a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the freeway for a more quiet experience. 2nd floor no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdncd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverbank, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family and I have stayed at this hotel in Capitola numerous times. We have returned due the reasonable rate for this area as well as it's easy to get to location and proximity to the beach and the Santa Cruz Wharf/Boardwalk area. The rooms are clean with a small frig and microwave. Breakfast is fresh and warm with a variety of offerings. Great for a family get a way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralCABeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at this hotel multiple times in the past 8 years. And it is the best hotel in capitola. It is not in the village. But you can take a free shuttle to the village and beach area. There isn't any good hotels near the beach anyway. The staff is excellent. And the free breakfast in the morning is great. Thank you quality inn capitola. For all the good work you do.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank res0nshn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay, the room appeared clean, bed was comfortable had a small refrigerator and microwave. There is a Nob Hill market directly across the road a dairy Queen on the corner and Gayles bakery just up the street, nice quiet area but not within view of the pacific. However two blocks south and four or five blocks west is Capitola's small beach town. With parking tough to find we parked about three blocks away and walked. We walked around the coastal shops and bars, down to the end of the pier and back. Had drinks and crab cakes on the rear deck of a small bar with a view of the pier beach and water inlet. Drove along the cost to Santa Cruz Boardwalk for free concert on the beach. Had free breakfast in the morning and a good time. Lots of things to do in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are a little dated but priced fair for this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southrn California
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel was set a bit off the beaten path, but still close to the freeway. The room was nice enough for the price and quite clean. Bed was comfortable. The staff was pleasant. The area felt safe, which I appreciate when I'm traveling alone on business. Will consider another stay the next time I'm in the area on business.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyTheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolling Hills Estates, CA
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My daughter went to UC Santa Cruz, and we used to stay in this hotel a lot (it was the Capitola Inn then).

We were in town for a wedding, and decided to stay there again.

The clerk at reception was great - very helpful. The beds are comfortable. There was good hot water and wi-fi.

The floor in our bathroom was very sticky - I requested that they scrub it, and they did (somewhat poorly). A lamp by the bed did not work, and I had to ask them twice to fix it.

They have done a super job with their landscaping. We really enjoyed the flowers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
0.7 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
483 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea

Property: Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea
Address: 720 Hill St, Capitola, CA 95010-2187
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Capitola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the endless beaches of Capitola, CA and the lush Santa Cruz Mountains, the Quality Inn(R) & Suites Capitola By the Sea is surrounded by famous wineries, golf courses and state parks. This Capitola, CA hotel is only minutes away from popular attractions like Pleasure Point, Seacliff State Beach, Capitola Village, Wharf and Beach, Mystery Spot and Monterey Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitola Hotel Capitola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing