We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for location”
Review of Capitola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capitola Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The hotel is right in the thick of things in Capitola and the price is really competitive. The staff go out of their way to take care of you, unfortunately the paper thin walls and mini sized rooms let it down a bit. Most people have complained about the noise from the street and bars outside, but we found the noise from other rooms to be much worse.
On a more positive note, everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. We may go back again, but we would need a bigger room if available.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonitone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Capitola Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

Being in the middle of the village we expected noise. We stayed two nights Friday and Saturday. We used ear plugs to sleep. Closing the window did help too. We heard there is one room with no windows. Those guests heard no noise!

The hotel is very clean, stylish and comfortable. The complementary coffee and muffin are okay. We skipped the Costco muffin.

It's a great hotel location wise. The price is fair.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisapickup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I love this place. It's small and easy to go back and forth to the beach. Across the street, up the small flight of stairs and your there in your room. It was so convenient. I got the best parking spot across the street with the provided parking pass. No problems with noise from across the street. Ignore people's dumb complaints about the makeup removing cloths, they are people who are in a habit of complaining. Just enjoy your stay, relax and be happy. And of course you have to return the park pass, it's like gold, they can't just be given to every guest for eternity. Those were dumb complaints. Coming back ASAP!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoubleBlessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Enjoyed our Capitola get away. The village is crowded but more sedate mid-week. Our room was small but stylish, comfortable and very clean. (Not for folks who like to spread out their belongings.) We savored the flavored coffee and muffins in the patio. We were not in our room for long as the beach and shops beckoned. We found quite a few treasures at bargain prices. The locale is excellent as we parked our car once (no fee with the Hotel parking placard) and walked everywhere.

Room Tip: Martinique room has interior window no view to the outside
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2onvacaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Our stay at the Capitola Hotel was pleasant and quiet (weekday), the room (Aruba) small, but comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful.
We were disappointed that the complimentary cooked to order breakfast (which was praised for on the hotel website at the time of our reservation) had been terminated without notice, and that coffee was only available for a short time in the morning.
Nevertheless, it is good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Seriously - do some research before you decide to stay at Capitola - this is a holiday town with Party weekends. If you're after a quiet getaway - go to Carmel.

In saying that, we stayed one night in the middle of the week - Nice quiet time in the town - & it was awesome - no noise complaint (as some other reviews have mentioned) - restaurant over the road was awesome and our sleep was uninterupted. The receptionist was really helpful and pretty chatty. We asked to look at the room before checking in - and this is a handy tip for everyone - check out the room first before you lug your bags everywhere.

The room was small, but space is a premium at Capitola and your time in the room should be only for shower & sleep - the key to this town is out the door & explore. Bed was comfortable & clean - a space really good for sleeping, but don't expect room to swing your cat here. (disclaimer - please don't swing your cat - anywhere). Also - the room was cheap - so do you expect a big room at a small price?? Not if you're a realist.

Overall - great little hotel. Would love to come back in a pumping Spring or Summer weekend and really enjoy Capitola when it is in full swing.

Also, get out and check out the little shops through the town - cute, quaint and needing your business.

Room Tip: Check out the room first.
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoreLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate a friend's 40th b-day party.  We stayed in the Paradise room directly off the lobby. The room was spacious with a very large bathroom. The bed was surprisingly comfortable with great pillows! The staff was pleasant.  Our only complaint was the noise that was heard being directly off the lobby. Our 2nd night we had to ask the night clerk at the desk to please turn down the movie that he was watching on his computer. He immediately apologized and turned it down.

We enjoyed the fact that we were right off the main strip and so close to everything! We were given a parking pass so that we could park directly off the main street! Each morning we walked about a half block up to the Capitola coffee And patisserie. Here we enjoyed wonderful coffee and yummy cinnamon rolls and homemade blackberry raspberry bread pudding!

We would definitely stay at The Capitola Hotel again, but next time further from the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms off main lobby are noisy
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newlywedds2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
124 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
2.3 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
0.5 mi away
Monarch Cove Inn
Monarch Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Capitola
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitola Hotel

Address: 210 Esplanade, Capitola, CA 95010-3226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Price Range: £143 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel in the heart of Capitola Village. Steps to the beach, restaurants, wine tasting and shopping. Beautifully appointed rooms with private bathrooms, high quality linens, continental breakfast, complimentary gourmet coffee, afternoon tea and cookies and weekend wine and cheese service. Free high speed internet, refrigerators, plasma televisions, microwave. Free village parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Capitola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing