We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really lovely but s bit precious !!”
Review of Capitola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capitola Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Really lovely but s bit precious !!”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We only stayed one night. No surprises with our room it was as shown on website. Spotlessly clean and modern fittings. Just found it (the accommodation and Capitola generally) all a bit "twee" and precious. The weather for us was unseasonably cold so beach and sea not too appealing. Would recommend Mexican restaurant round the corner close to sea front. Don't rely on hotel continental breakfast - they would be better not bothering as if makes them look cheap.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1968WW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    66
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
54
157
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
tracy ca
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Great location to beach and all activites in Capitola.Front staff was very nice and helpful.
The rooms are very small and really hot at night.We had a wedding at Shadowbrook and they called the schuttle to pick us up.Like I said ,very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cavino100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Murieta, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

They tell you there is free parking. There is if you can find it on the street or hike up past the police station to a public lot. We had to take the hike as the street parking was non-existant. Also the downstairs room we stayed in was real noisy. First thing in the morning the desk clerk and clients are chatting it up, the kids upstairs are running around and the noise on the street through-out the night was impossible to sleep through. They do provide ear-plugs, now I know why. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Creelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capitolahotel, Owner at Capitola Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Capitola Village is a very popular destination, particularly in the summer months. That's because its so much fun when you arrive! During the peak summer season, parking can be challenging. Here are some tips:

1. Take advantage of reserved parking. We have a limited number of reserved spaces for an additional fee. Call the hotel for details.

2. Arrive early or late. Peak parking hours are between noon and 4pm during peak beach hours. There are many parking spaces available in the morning and evening.

3. Use one of the pay parking lots on either side of the hotel for an hour and then move your car once you've unpacked.

If you have any questions about parking, please call the hotel. We're here to help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Cozy and cute hotel. If you want quick access to the beach, beachfront shops, restaurants, and bars, then this is probably the hotel for you. The hotel is conveniently located on the main beachfront drag in Capitola, and, when you stay here, you are literally right across the street from all the above mentioned establishments and steps away from sinking your feet in beach sand and ocean water.

However, the great location is both a blessing and a curse for two reasons. First, on popular weekends, the parking is horrendous, and second, the nightlife from the bars and restaurants is really loud. The first issue is easily resolved because hotel offers some paid parking placards (recommended), or if you are patient and lucky, you can probably get a street parking space because the turnover in spaces seemed pretty good--we just seemed to always be a car or two late.

The second issue is not so easily resolved. At night, the noise level from the bars and restaurants is very loud and disruptive. We were there on a warm Saturday, so we needed the windows open and the ceiling fan on. A rock band was playing in one of the bars. People were going in and out and standing on the street talking, laughing, and shouting. It was difficult to relax, have a romantic moment, hear the waves, or even to watch TV. We were in the Curacao room, so maybe in one of the other rooms on the other side of the hotel (away from the street) the noise might have been less disruptive. But I doubt if the noise would have been unnoticeable. The music stopped at 12:30 AM. However, patrons mulling around on the street and the band packing up for the night went on for another hour. By one AM I could finally hear the waves breaking on the beach.
The hotel is cozy and charming. The "continental breakfast" consisted of those prepackaged breakfast and granola bars and a single serve coffee maker. However, there are a couple of coffee shops just down the street and the restaurants (that kept you awake until the wee hours of the night) are open and serving a real breakfast.

Room Tip: get one off the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I booked this hotel because I was doing the Strawberry Fields Road Bike Century in Aptos. This hotel was in a great location, the parking was a bit funky but we figured it out. This hotel is in the middle of town were all the bars and restaurants which was great for us. The hotel offered rooms that exact straight into the street which we used to bring our bikes in and out. I loved this little hotel soo much that I am going to book again when the Strawberry Fields Century comes around next year.

Room Tip: My room was small but both our road bikes fit. It may get load depending on when you go since the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hockey_Tish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The hotel was built in the 40's. It has been entirely renovated and is very clean. It is in downtown Capitola, across the street from Maranitaville Restaurant and approximately one short block from access to the beach. Drawback is the parking. The hotel gives a placard to be placed on the dash that is good in any downtown parking lot. However, available spaces are sometimes scarce on busy days.

Room Tip: Make reservations ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This hotel is perfect if you want to visit downtown, and not drive. The staff were very, very friendly. The rooms were small, but very clean and cute. Our room was upstairs and across the street from Marguaritaville Rest. The band across the street started loading up their equiptment around midnight, and it was very loud. After that, the restaurants that are across from our room went into cleaning mode. This included taking or rolling out garbage containers, and spraying down the sidewalk and street. Very Loud! I would stay here again if I took a room on the other side, and ear plugs are a must. The location is the best. It allowed us to stroll the many restaurants and bars, and not have to drive:) As mentioned in other reviews the bedding and linens were nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitola Hotel

Property: Capitola Hotel
Address: 210 Esplanade, Capitola, CA 95010-3226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel in the heart of Capitola Village. Steps to the beach, restaurants, wine tasting and shopping. Beautifully appointed rooms with private bathrooms, high quality linens, continental breakfast, complimentary gourmet coffee, afternoon tea and cookies and weekend wine and cheese service. Free high speed internet, refrigerators, plasma televisions, microwave. Free village parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Capitola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing