We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legit and worth the wait”

Caruso's Tuscan Cuisine
Ranked #6 of 106 Restaurants in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$33
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Legit and worth the wait”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Go in knowing you might have to wait. This place is small and seems to specialize in parties of 4+ so get there a little early, put your name in and stroll around town while you wait (also, they only do reservations for parities greater than 4 so couples, you are on your own!). We were told it might be two hours (!!), but based on the great feedback, we decided to go for it. I'm so glad we did! The owner is great, so friendly, as is the rest of the staff. And, the food is melt-in-your-mouth, damn good Italian. My husband and I split the special appetizer, which was a kind of bruschetta — the cheese was fresh off the ship from Italy that morning, we were told. I believe it! Cheese, prosciutto, tomato and bread = yum. For our entree we shared the tricolor Gnocchi Italiana with homemade gnocchi. For dessert we went for the three-layer chocolate mousse. It was surprisingly light and had this delightful and curious little crunch inside, like the crispy waffle layer of a Kit Kat. It made the dish interesting to the senses on multiple levels. Love, love, loved this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    20
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Very friendly gregarious owner. Very small space makes it intimate, but not necessarily romantic. Very friendly, happy, gregarious owner. We took two small children and felt comfortable. We had the risotto and the vodka fettuccine, they were really good. The carpaccio was outstanding, maybe the best we've had. You will leave well-fed and happy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capitola, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Authentic Italian Food!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The food is better than fantastic. Davide Caruso is a fabulous chef and has a great personally too. He jokes and sings as he cooks. The restaurant has a very romantic atmosphere too, but we took small children and it was equally as comfortable for an entire family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmichelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Tuscan Italian”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent Italian. Best in SC. I am a long time SC local & can't believe that I've missed this place. By far, the best Italian in SC. Very reminiscent of country Italian in my trips to my families homeland. NOT TO BE MISSED BY ANY ITAILIANOPHILES!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soifdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvas, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic Little Gem”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Because of the reviews we decided to try this place on our last night on CA. Wow. It was fantastic. I would definitely recommend trying this hidden gem for a great Italian meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SherriB4306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caruso's Tuscan Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Caruso's Tuscan Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing