We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!”

Caruso's Tuscan Cuisine
Ranked #6 of 106 Restaurants in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$33
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Halibut, broccolini, and roasted potatoes all cooked to perfection. Combine that with a nice glass of wine and great service and this is a can't miss restaurant in Capitola. Bravo!

Helpful?
Thank rocky-mtn-way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    20
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

It's always crowded for 2 reasons - it's tiny, only about 6 tables and it's really, really good. Go early on a weekday for a special treat. Have the eggplant involtini's - it will take you back to the old country. Fairly prices, large portions - a great place to spend a special occasion.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cara f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
262 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Legit and worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Go in knowing you might have to wait. This place is small and seems to specialize in parties of 4+ so get there a little early, put your name in and stroll around town while you wait (also, they only do reservations for parities greater than 4 so couples, you are on your own!). We were told it might be two hours (!!), but based on the great feedback, we decided to go for it. I'm so glad we did! The owner is great, so friendly, as is the rest of the staff. And, the food is melt-in-your-mouth, damn good Italian. My husband and I split the special appetizer, which was a kind of bruschetta — the cheese was fresh off the ship from Italy that morning, we were told. I believe it! Cheese, prosciutto, tomato and bread = yum. For our entree we shared the tricolor Gnocchi Italiana with homemade gnocchi. For dessert we went for the three-layer chocolate mousse. It was surprisingly light and had this delightful and curious little crunch inside, like the crispy waffle layer of a Kit Kat. It made the dish interesting to the senses on multiple levels. Love, love, loved this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Very friendly gregarious owner. Very small space makes it intimate, but not necessarily romantic. Very friendly, happy, gregarious owner. We took two small children and felt comfortable. We had the risotto and the vodka fettuccine, they were really good. The carpaccio was outstanding, maybe the best we've had. You will leave well-fed and happy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Authentic Italian Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The food is better than fantastic. Davide Caruso is a fabulous chef and has a great personally too. He jokes and sings as he cooks. The restaurant has a very romantic atmosphere too, but we took small children and it was equally as comfortable for an entire family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmichelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caruso's Tuscan Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Caruso's Tuscan Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing