We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was fantastic and that's the reason they stay on top of the list”

Caruso's Tuscan Cuisine
Ranked #6 of 106 Restaurants in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$33
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Danville, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This place was fantastic and that's the reason they stay on top of the list”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Reasonably short menu with no fancy frills, but the food is excellent, the staff is friendly and personable, and prices are very reasonable. The owners love what they do and have a lot to be proud of. I counted seats ... maybe 18. They don't take reservations. Deal with it. Get there early, put your name on the list, and go wander around. They'll call you when a table opens up and it will be worth the wait. The service is quick, but everything is made fresh. The flavors are all fabulous ... this is the real deal! Leave room for dessert. And have an appetizer with mozzarella -- it is to die for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank deanoh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    20
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Tiny restaurant with great food. Perfect for romantic evening or night out with the teenagers. Beautiful location on the village of Capitola. Good prices, great food. Make a reservation or you may have to wait a bit. Not open on Monday or Tuesday but worth visiting

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delight your taste buds!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Always putting my trust in the daily special, I ordered the fresh, literally just caught, halibut. It was the best I've ever tasted. Cooked perfectly & more than generously sized, I thought there was no way I would be able to finish this beautiful meal that was set before me. Wrong! I savored every morsel!
Halibut prepared ala Tuscan is fresh, tasty, beautiful, a bit of Heaven......Caruso's way!
The interaction with the owner & staff, in this wee corner of Italy set in a California coastal village, adds to the ambience. You will want to return--again & again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nswvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Authentic italian place with delicious food!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you like italian food (I mean the real italian food), this is the place to visit!
The owners are very friendly, you can talk italian, spanish and of course english, so we had great chats with them.
But of course, the italian food is delicious!
The restaurant only has about 7 tables and they take reservations only for parties of 6 or more. So my advise is, go there early (they open at 5pm) or visit them, let them call you once they have a free table and in the meantime explore the great small town of Capitola, it's always worth it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Micha-07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capitola, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This is our favorite restaurant in Capitola. The only bad part is when they are closed! I lived in Italy and search for real Italian food...this is it!!

Helpful?
Thank ckerker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caruso's Tuscan Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Caruso's Tuscan Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing