We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Value in the Santa Cruz Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was our fourth visit to this hotel and we have always been extremely satisfied with our stay. The hotel is meticulously cleaned and cared for and it shows. The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is heated and the hot tub is great after a day at the Beach. The location is near a mall, restaurants etc, but is a very short drive to Aptos, Capitola By the Sea or Santa Cruz. We recommend O'Neil Charters from Santa Cruz Harbor for their Wed night sailboat races cruise! Go to the Boardwalk in Santa Cruz on Mon or Tues nights after 5 and it's Dollar night...One dollar rides ,Pepsi and Hot Dogs. Have a tropical drink...A Lava Flow is our favorite and a melted grilled sourdough Crab sandwhich at Zelda's on the Beach in Capitola. Can't wait to come back next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

all the staff go out of their way,to please guests. Hotel was extremely clean and fresh smelling .Beds very comfortable, with plenty of pillows .. Frig. and micro . provided too. .the only disappointment was the statement of "one mile from the beach" that was a stretch of the imagination.Oh well , maybe it was as the "crow flies"But over all we had a great stay and, will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Gweneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Very clean and comfortable. Walking distance to grocery store, mall and many fast food restaurants. Nice pool and hot tub. Standard breakfast with cereal, waffle maker and assorted breads. Not very close to beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Took our grandchildren to the broadwalk and to Capitola Beach, where they had a ball. Arrived late and Blake at the front desk was very helpful. We were given our requested adjoining rooms and were told were everything was. The breakfast buffet was very good and was enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humbert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

At the last minute, we decided to make an overnight trip to Santa Cruz. Most of the hotels were booked or too expensive. So we checked out this Best Western in Capitola and we were very pleased. The hotel was very nice, particularly the Koi Pond around the pool. Absolutely beautiful. Try to get a room overlooking this area as it is worth the extra money. The other nice surprise was the Breakfast Buffet that was included with the rate. Much nicer than the Buffets I have had at other hotels. Our experience at this hotel was so nice that we decided to become Reward Members and stay at Best Wester Hotels whenever and wherever we can.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool/Koi Pond. It's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leannekmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our check in was a breeze. Front desk staff asked if we knew the area and were ready to suggest some great restaurants and other local information.

The Paradise Beach Grille in Capitola Village was fantastic with optimal service and delicious food. It was easy to see why it was highly referred!

Although the hotel looks modest from the street, the room was clean, quiet and had easy elevator access. The soaps, shampoo and amenities were above average.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LetsGoPlay218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Clean, clean and did I say clean? Searched trip advisor and out of all the hotel reviews this hotel was the one that had what I look for in a motel so I booked it. Upon arrival I was very pleased to find the hotel as promised. Although it was the most expensive rate for all the hotels we stayed during our four day mini road trip down the coast, I was perfectly satisfied with everything the hotel provided us with and felt we got our monies worth. Free parking and excellent breakfast. Comfortable king bed, quiet location and friendly service. Blake at the front desk is a wonderful host with helpful hints and cheerful demeanor helping us to feel welcome and appreciative for every penny spent here. We walked 15 minutes to Capitola Village and beachfront where we saw lots of people enjoying the sunshine and water activities. We even say a pod of what we think were dolphins swimming just outside the kelp bed. Benches, bathrooms, little shops and bars rounded out the beachfront experience. Dinner at Paradise Grill in the outdoor seating section was scrumptious and worth every penny.

Room Tip: If possible walk the distance to Capitola Village and save the cab fair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terriccha46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
0.8 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
306 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
128 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites

Address: 1435 41st Ave, Capitola, CA 95010-2912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Price Range: £98 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Best of the Best" award-winning hotel is only eight blocks from quaint Capitola Village, California's oldest seaside resort, and three miles from the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk & Santa Cruz Wharf. We are at the center of a vacationer's paradise. Stroll through art galleries, antique shops, local wineries and majestic redwood forests. Observe the migration of elephant seals, gray whales and Monarch butterflies. Miles of beaches offer world-class surfing, fishing, boating and kayaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Hotel Capitola
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn And Suites
Best Western Capitola
Capitola Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing