We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WONDERFUL”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had been on the road for more than a week so when we arrived at the Capitola by the Sea, we were very pleased. My husband was looking for coffee and, unfortunately, there was none in the lobby.....by the time we checked into the room and were settled, the front desk called and said "coffee is ready!" What outstanding service! The entire experience was great, room was very comfortable and clean. We highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bob and Wanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    166
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
236
191
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Needed an affordable, clean hotel in the area and was lucky to find this one. Was upgraded to a bigger room which was a nice surprise. Hotel was very clean, quiet and the pool/gym were super clean and fun to use. The breakfast options were top quality and I love that they open so early (6am). Check in and check out was easy and the staff was super friendly. Parking was a breeze and I plan to stay here in the future. Everything was comfortable, especially the bed and the huge TV was super nice too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Eugenia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Clean location when visiting UCSC compared with locations in Santa Cruz. Located near major shopping center and Capitola Beach. Plenty of restaurants in the general area. We walked everywhere and left our car at the hotel. The fitness was lacking. I would like to see some free weights such as dumbbells.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Clint C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Had my heart on visiting Capitola and chose the Best Western for our stay. Great accommodations, clean, comfortable. The employees were very friendly, continental breakfast fine for our needs. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minitravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Overall, this hotel met our needs & it would definitely be one of our considerations if staying in this area again. Although a short drive to the beach, the location was very good. We probably walked over to the adjacent plaza every day to get one thing or another at the different food & grocery options. The staff was excellent. Most were very friendly, accommodating, & on top of things. The continental breakfast was pretty much as expected. It would have been nice to see more juice options (i.e. apple juice). The rooms were fine although I thought it was weird the bathroom door didn't have a lock. Maybe it was just the room we had?? All I know is it made things sometimes interesting with kids constantly looking/threatening to barge in. I thought the beds were comfortable and the microwave & mini-fridge were great to have. We didn't spend much time at the pool or jacuzzi. Everything was clean & seemed to be running fine. My only knock was the area wasn't inviting. I would definitely recommend checking this hotel out. It's a pretty good balance given the price/location versus the other options in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We thought this was a really good stay. The rooms were big and very clean. The hotel is pretty new and though it is not right on the beach or right in the action of Santa Cruz, that may be a good thing. It was in a quiet nice area. It is right next to a store and very near the mall. It is just a couple of miles from Santa Cruz and only takes a couple of minutes to be in down town Capitola (a cute little shopping area) and a couple of minutes to get to a beach. Lots of little eateries and shops are in the area and the freeway is handy as well.

Check-in was quick and there was a cookie, coffee, and a mint waiting for us. The staff was friendly and helpful with places to eat in the area. This is a hotel with an elevator which is nice if you are on the 2nd or 3rd floor. The parking in the back is well lit and feels safe.

The rooms are typical in terms of the sound proof qualities. If you have noisy neighbors you will hear them. I would suggest asking for a room on the third floor so that you don't hear the person above you. Also, you might want to ask to be away from the elevator.

The breakfast was full of variety. You could make waffles, heat up an egg sandwich, have fruit, yougurt, cereal, and pastries. All were typical, but good. The coffee was good and had creamers and half and half.

We stayed in the off season and since it was not on the water, it was reasonable. All and all, it was a good stay.

Room Tip: Third floor on the backside away from the elevators is a choice for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdncd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian, Alabama
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Even though I used my Marriott points for my stay, I still think this hotel would be good value if you are paying. It is in a great location, within walking distance to the cute waterfront town center and lots of good restaurants. It was very clean, the staff friendly, the rooms large, and the breakfast included in the rates had a little something for all tastes. I would definitely recommend this hotel if needing a place to stay in this area. Within a short driving distance to Santa Cruz, and Monterrey.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hulagirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.8 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
0.7 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
3.4 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
Address: 1435 41st Ave, Capitola, CA 95010-2912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Best of the Best" award-winning hotel is only eight blocks from quaint Capitola Village, California's oldest seaside resort, and three miles from the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk & Santa Cruz Wharf. We are at the center of a vacationer's paradise. Stroll through art galleries, antique shops, local wineries and majestic redwood forests. Observe the migration of elephant seals, gray whales and Monarch butterflies. Miles of beaches offer world-class surfing, fishing, boating and kayaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Hotel Capitola
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn And Suites
Best Western Capitola
Capitola Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing