We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Placerville, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We always stay at this hotel when we go to the Santa Cruz area. It is close to the beaches and surfing. Also near a shopping center and lots of places to eat. Also there is a movie theatre near the hotel. It is great and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Diane,

You're the best. We always love it when you two come to town. Sorry I wasn't around much this time. But we'll see you again soon.

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    178
    40
    12
    5
See reviews for
258
200
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This little hotel is a great value. You are walking distance to Pleasure Point restuarants & shops and a 5 minute drive a number of beaches - our favorite is Capitola Beach. Breakfast is included, heated pool and hot tub for relaxing after a long day at the beach with the kids. It is clean, there is a mini fridge and a big jacuzzi tub. Great value for the price when you need a quick family getaway. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Elizabeth,

I'm so glad that you enjoyed the comfort and convenience of our hotel. Those Whirlpool tub rooms are very relaxing. Call us directly next time you need a beach getaway, we're more than happy to assist with your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. Stayed in the 2 bedroom suite with our 3 children. Had a wonderful time. Pool and hotel very clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely come stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 165alexandrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Alexandra,

We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time at our hotel. We look forward to your return. When you are ready to make another reservation call us directly, we are happy to assist in making your reservation personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capitola, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Our babysitter checked out our children as I had to leave early for work (we had a few nights out due to home repairs) and she left my son's shoes and nightlight. Our housekeeper put our items with our room number at the front desk so when I called we could easily find them. I was impressed with her thoughtfulness and the cleanliness of our room. Our kids also loved the pool and the make your own waffles at breakfast. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly/cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Kelly/cynthia,

I'm glad to hear that we were able to accommodate your family in a time of need. Nobody likes being displaced from their home even temporarily. If the need ever arises again, don't hesitate to give us a call.

Kindest Regards,

Jason Raney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have stayed at the Best Western Capitola By the Sea many times over the years. I have never had a negative experience there. In fact what keeps me coming back year after year is knowing that I can count on clean rooms, comfortable beds, a good free breakfast and (most importantly) friendly front desk personnel that make you feel 'at home'. It isn't exactly "by the sea" but it is only a few minutes drive or a very easy walk to get there. Several years ago my mother was going through cancer. I traveled down for a week each month to spend time with her. I stayed at one or two other places in the area but after I stayed at BW Capitola by the Sea I decided that was THE place. The front desk staff is always friendly & accommodating. They even went over and above - for my mother's 75th birthday we were having a large family reunion bash but needed an indoor space to hold us all. The Front Desk allowed us to decorate and use the conference room for the occasion. Mom passed away 6 months later but I am forever grateful that they accommodated us for that special day. The conference room is now the breakfast room & a really lovely space. The hotel has been remodeled in the last few years and they have done an excellent job. The space is nicely decorated, the rooms are clean, the beds are heavenly, there is a very nice pool & hot tub and they always have fresh baked cookies & hot coffee on hand - excellent! I recommend this hotel highly to anyone traveling that way.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank JFAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear JF,

It is amazing people like yourself that really appreciate what we do, that make us love our jobs and continue to put in the effort that you see in the level of service we provide. Thank you so much for the kind words. I will share your comments with the entire staff. With Hospitality, Jason Raney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great place to stay, near highway and beaches... clean, quiet, very friendly and considerate staff. Close to restaurants. A few other places to stay in the area that offer different amenities, but this suits business traveler and families, alike.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Michael,

I"m glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We do pride ourselves on being very clean and having the Friendliest Staff By-the-Sea. We'll look forward to your return. Kindest Regards, Jason Raney, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A very good place to 'headquarter' for a visit to Capitola/Santa Cruz. The hotel is very clean, convenient, east to find! We enjoyed 3 nights in a very comfortable room. My only complaint would be the breakfast which left much to be desired. We ended up eating away from the hotel, which was no big deal. However, the fresh baked cookies offered at the front desk every afternoon were definitely a plus! The staff were very helpful and pleasant! Will stay there again when in the area!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suebrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Suebrad,

Thank you for your kind words. When you are ready to come back and visit, feel welcome to call us directly to book your next reservation. We are happy to help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
0.8 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
290 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,657 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
Address: 1435 41st Ave, Capitola, CA 95010-2912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Best of the Best" award-winning hotel is only eight blocks from quaint Capitola Village, California's oldest seaside resort, and three miles from the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk & Santa Cruz Wharf. We are at the center of a vacationer's paradise. Stroll through art galleries, antique shops, local wineries and majestic redwood forests. Observe the migration of elephant seals, gray whales and Monarch butterflies. Miles of beaches offer world-class surfing, fishing, boating and kayaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Hotel Capitola
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn And Suites
Best Western Capitola
Capitola Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing