We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
Capitola Hotel(Capitola)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Santa Cruz Inn(Santa Cruz)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    Pelican Point Inn(Santa Cruz)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Harbor Inn(Santa Cruz)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (720)
    Filter reviews
    720 results
    Traveller rating
    459
    198
    46
    12
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    459
    198
    46
    12
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssanta cruzmini suitewafflescookiesgreat place to staypool and hot tubvery friendly and helpful staffhard boiled eggsmovie theaterbreakfast sandwichrooms are nicewithin walking distancepleasure pointfront desk staffhome away from homebreakfast roomshort drive
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    447 - 452 of 720 reviews
    Reviewed 11 August 2014

    The reception was superbe. The room was roomy and clean, and quiet. We enjoyed the provided free breakfast. Although the hotel was full there was enough food for everyone to enjoy. Location is easy to find and is close by a shopping center and few resturants. Also a short drive to the beach.

    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Best Western
    Thank Jasmen/seda A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

    Jasmen/seda,

    I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. From our reception staff to our housekeeping staff, we appreciate the fact that you noticed our efforts and we look forward to welcoming you back.

    With Hospitality,

    Jason Raney

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 August 2014

    You won't find a better place to stay than Capitola By-the-Sea Inn & Suites. I always spend my birthday there, plus other times throughout the year. It is a pleasure to stay where you get treated like a Queen. Thanks Best Western!

    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Best Western
    Thank Dawn E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

    Dawn,

    I'm so happy to hear that you love spending your birthday with us each year. Thank you for continuing to stay with us. We will look forward to your future visits and we will continue to treat you like a queen on your special occasions.

    Kindest Regards,

    Jason Raney

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 August 2014

    This is the third time we have stayed at the Best Western in Capitola. We absolutely love it here. We stay here anytime we are in this area. Christine and Blake at the front desk are so friendly and welcoming. The hotel is always so clean. We have stayed in three different rooms there and we love them all. The breakfast is always fresh and well stocked. They give you great cookies at check in from Pacific Cookie Company in Santa Cruz. It is centrally located between the boardwalk and Capitola Village. This is just the best place to stay in the area!!!

    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Mason S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

    Dear Mason,

    Thank you so much for your loyalty. It is an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. Be sure to book your reservations directly with us and identify yourself as a return guest. I hope you're having a wonderful summer and we look forward to your next return.

    With Hospitality,

    Jason Raney

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 August 2014

    Check in at this hotel was quick and efficient. Front desk staff was welcoming and friendly. There was not much of a view from our 3rd floor room, we faced the parking lot, but the room was very quiet and clean. The beds were comfortable and we were able to have the window open at night to let in the fresh sea air. Breakfast was the only thing I was not crazy about at this hotel. The layout was not very efficient because all of the food (waffles, cereal, toaster, pastries, fruit, juice, and plates) was on one long counter. That meant that if two people were making waffles and another was toasting a bagel, it created a backup where you couldn't even get cereal or milk because everyone was standing in line waiting for their turn to make a hot breakfast. Perhaps the management staff could rethink the layout and utilize the coffee counter for waffles and/or toaster which would create a better flow for guests to get their breakfast items.

    The proximity to the Village in Capitola was a short car ride away (about 1 mile) and the drive to the Santa Cruz Boardwalk was convenient as well. We will be returning to stay in this quaint town again and will definitely stay at the Best Western Plus Capitola By the Sea Inn and Suites again.

    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 1vacation2
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

    1vacation2,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I was very pleased to hear that you found our property and our staff enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon.

    Kindest Regards,

    Jason Raney

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 August 2014

    I have stayed several times at this Best Western in Santa Cruz. It is centrally located and I am easily able to access Capitola and Santa Cruz spots. The prices are reasonable, the rooms are nice and the staff is fabulous.

    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Kathleen T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

    Kathleen,

    Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to our hotel and our brand. As you know we pride ourselves on being "The Friendliest Staff By-the-Sea" and will continue to provide the level of service you have become accustomed to experiencing here at the Best Western Plus Capitola By-the-Sea.

    With Hospitality,

    Jason Raney

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews