We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast needs to open earlier”

The Fog Bank Bar & Grille
Ranked #51 of 106 Restaurants in Capitola
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Restaurant details
Clovis, California
1 review
“Great breakfast needs to open earlier”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I have eaten here 3 times with my roommate Great joes special. Opens 10 am. Should open a little earlier. Needs to open around 8 am

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
313 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The view and setting are better than the food”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is your typical water-front restaurant in a high-tourist-traffic area where they lure you in with the setting, and then serve just-average food. By no means was it bad, but it was not great either. Fried fish is fried fish, right? Lunch prices were OK, so we did not feel like we were totally ripped off. The bar had a nice beer selection, and they seem to make a decent bloody mary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDBCDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great View...Food is Okay”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stopped into Capitola for lunch on our way down the coast, and we chose this little bar. The seating was fantastic. We were on a deck looking out at the beach and the beautiful multi-colored beach cottages. The service was also excellent with an extremely friendly staff. The food, however, was average. I know not to expect much with bar food, but the french fries were so overcooked that they looked greasy but were in fact crunchy where they stuck in your teeth. The hamburger was good, and the fish that came with the chips was fine, but I would stick to having a few drinks here on the porch. For that, the place is great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shalottlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
313 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Deafening music but fun otherwise.”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We went for the live music, which was pretty good, but amped up to the extent that we regretted we had not brought earplugs. We're not sissies when it comes to listening to rock, but there's no reason to break ear drums in such a small venue.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hopsalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garden city
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Needs a little attention.”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Hate to give this place a poor rating because the staff is so sweet and food wasn't bad but the place needs some attention. We ate outside on the patio and there was bird poop everywhere. I understand that happens when there are sea gulls everywhere but at least disinfect the table before you seat you customer and keep the patio swept, neat and clean. It had an outdated, run down look. The bathroom was disgusting. Filthy dirty. I wondered if the cleanliness of the kitchen was consistent with everything else I had seen. One cool attraction was the big gull named Fred that perched nearby on the roof overlooking the patio and his job was to run off any other birds that may come to beg or steal your food :0). It was trained by one of the waiters. Cool.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fog Bank Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Fog Bank Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing