We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast Service & Good Food”

Wharf House Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 106 Restaurants in Capitola
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fast Service & Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Located at the end of the pier, nice scenic walk. Great views, affordable prices. I had the fish & chips, very generous portions, very fresh tasting. Waitress sort of rushed us to order, food arrived fast. Restaurant has a lot of character, very comfortable & quaint. Worth the experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    21
    14
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

While staying the weekend for the Art and wine festival, we went out on the wharf and had a lovey dinner. I love the inside of the restaurant, the decorations and the friendly staff. I had fish and chips and it was delicious. We also had breakfast as well, very good. Its very relaxing and pleasant to have a glass of wine as the sun goes down!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcie8146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A TERRIBLE WAITRESS WITH A BAD ATTITUDE !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

It is a great place to walk to the end of the pier,and see this restaurant with the best view. We figured there has to be great seafood there,but all we caught was a bad waitress! We just wanted appetizers,and she said "THAT'S IT!",like we were wasting her time. It took way too long just to get water. When we asked again, we got an attitude,and my water was dirty! Then come to find out,there is a service fee for parties over four people! So we got a terrible waitress with a bad attitude, and she took us for 18% tip. Oh, I was hot! It was a rip off,it is like people taking advantage of tourists!! I will never eat there again!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chepo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
199 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Have to agree about the wait staff... Just a bit odd”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Went for Sunday late brunch. Had a short wait, considering we were a party of six. Decor? Lets just say the place has character. A bit run down, but that adds he the charm. We had a calm sea so the pier wasn't moving.

The table was not well cleaned, and had a pile of crumbs on the floor from when the child in the group before us decided to just crumple his food rather than eat. The waitress took our orders, but had a few weird comments about some of the choices. Water was ordered but took a second ask to come. One of our group has a food allergy and ordered gluten free, and when the food came, their orange muffin came right on top of the food.

The hostess could have set the tone better by being positive and smiling, but seemed preoccupied.

The spinach and avocado omelette I had was fine, even though I went off menu for a different kind of cheese. Three of our group ordered a crabmeat omelette that was very good. Overall, the food was good.

We almost got an indoor visit from a pigeon, and from other reviews, it sounds like that would not be the first time.

Overall, a nice setting. And the food was Ok. But the wait staff could be so much better.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank taxman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felton, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth trying one time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Check it out, but don't go with expectations. It is a seafood restaurant that wants to be fancy and expensive, but it falls short. Glad we tried it since it's fun walking out on the pier, but we won't dine there again given all the great food around town that is much better for the price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelfire82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wharf House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wharf House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing