We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sandwiches !!”

Village Grill & Creamery
Ranked #4 of 10 Dessert in Capitola
Restaurant details
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Sandwiches !!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Delicious sandwiches, easy, relaxing and yummie ice cream for dessert. Casual and comfortable, not too crowded, owner, manager very accommodating to kids choices.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandyP9100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    17
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream at a very affordable price”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This review is for the ice cream and not for the grill. This place has something close to 50 flavors of ice cream. The line was long, but moved quickly. They serve huge portions. My wife and I got the kids scoop size which was around $2.50 each and the serving size was the one scoop size you'd get anywhere else. The chocolate peanut butter is excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
367 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fun Flavors of Ice Cream”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had only ice cream here. It is a small store but we had fun selection of ice cream flavors. The staff was very gracious in sharing samples w/us when we wanted to try different flavors.

We were actually staying in Capitola for a number of days and visited here 2 times. Each time we were able to find a flavor we wanted to have.

There are a few tables and counter area for sitting - I liked getting my cone and walking around the time; the inside of the restaurant is very small and hence noisy.

While we did not eat any food from the grill, in seeing what others ordered, we wouldn't eat a meal there - it looked greasy.

So 4-starts for the ice cream and gracious and patient staff. As shared previously, the staff was very nice. From reading other reviews it seems that there is an inconsistency with the staff and so don't expect a "polished" or professional little Creamery.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveGetAways70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the wait in line”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A wide variety of unusual flavors and combinations of flavors. The "normal" flavors are yummy, too. Natural strawberry is light and tasty. So is the coffee, the mocha chip, the butter brickle, the honey ollalaberry, etc., etc.
We were there on a summer weekend, so it was a wee bit crowded, but the servers were efficient & the line moved at a decent pace -- even with everyone asking for a taste of this one and that one. We can't wait to return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellsville, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Chai Latte and ice cream”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Kept coming back in spite of the presence of an off-putting smell. Wasn't exactly like the drains of Capitola, which are a part of the dockside area, so it led to lots of thoughts about why....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShellyD862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Grill & Creamery also viewed

 

Been to Village Grill & Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing