We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only you have time to burn...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sweet Pea's Cafe

Sweet Pea's Cafe
Ranked #20 of 106 Restaurants in Capitola
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Rio del Mar, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Only you have time to burn...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Went there about a year ago. The employees couldn't care less about how long we waited to even be aknowledged by them. They were just yakking..once we ordered,it took 23 minutes (yes I timed it) until we got our food. There were only 2 other customers at the time. Food was OK,nothing to write home about. Kind of pricey for what you get.Glad I had a restaurant.com voucher, I would have been way miffed to pay full price.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
capitola
1 review
“Great food & gluten free selections!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Great place to eat breakfast or lunch. Wonderful, delicious crepes, and egg dishes and sandwiches! Quality ingredients ! So nice to have gluten free choices !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiann f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our Secret Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Sweet Pea's Cafe is near and dear to my heart, as is my stomach. They've been doing sweet and savory crepes since way before the concept caught on in the US and all of their sandwiches are fantastic. I know the owner's been having some challenges with the staff, but every meal we've had there is superb. Darn it, I'm getting hungry just writing about their food. For a cafe, their variety of foods provides a lot of good options for a group of picky eaters (i.e. my kids).

We've been going to their Los Gatos location since it opened and always try to drop into one of the Sweet Pea's when we're in that part of the world.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Surfbrutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cozy,with locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

good food,generous portions. small place in a nook,the buiding(s) have afew other businesses so you have to hunt allittle. watch the cook--interesting "wall art".i had an unusaul omlette,very filling.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rushrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“good food AWFUL service!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We have been going to this place for years. I guess the owner just hired the wrong people because customer service was awful last time we went there. The young brunette seemed frazzled, and not friendly at all. They totally messed up our order. My husband went to check on the order after about 20 minutes. The girl at the register just brushed him off saying that "there were others before us" instead of looking into what happened to our food. A few minutes later I went inside and asked and she finally figured out that our order was never made. First she thought that someone else got our food so she ran outside and started asking customers about it. I thought that was stupid like she is going to grab their plate and give it to us? Anyway, she NEVER APOLOGIZED FOR THE MISTAKE that she made by placing our check into the 'done' pile. Everyone around us already ate their food and left by the time we got ours. They managed to mess up another family's order right next to us . Maybe it would be a good idea to screen people before hiring them for better coordination and organization skills. There were at least twice as many cooks in the kitchen as well but the speed or the quality of their work did not seem to have improved. I don't think we will be back here anytime soon. She should have said sorry at the LEAST. I would have given 1 star only but the food is excellent but the service will drive customers away very soon!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maria e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Pea's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Pea's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing