We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good gaucamole!”

Las Olas Mexican Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Since 1981, Las Olas Mexican Restaurant has served the best authentic fresh Mexican food near the beach!Please join us for margaritas, lunch and dinner specials, full bar and craft beers, Taco Tuesdays, Happy Hour Monday thru Friday till 6 pm, group parties, dog friendly patio dining, great service, and an amazing atmosphere!The menu allows customers a wide variety of options: Build your own seafood, chicken, pork, or carne asada tacos, enjoy delicious favorites like roasted chili relleños stuffed with fall-off-the-bone-tender carnitas, or delight in our seasonal grilled vegetable enchiladas. It's honest food, prepared fresh daily from scratch with wholesome ingredients - never powdered or granulated spice mixes like others tend to use - and their customers appreciate it.Want a Margarita or an ice cold beer? Las Olas Margaritas are famous, and many of our draft beer selections are from San Diego's own incredible breweries. Try the house infused roasted pineapple and jalapeño tequila in a Pineapple n' Chile Margarita some time. It's unique and delicious.Thanks for coming in we really appreciate your business!Visit us online or call any of our three locations for additional information.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good gaucamole!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We visited on a busy Sunday evening, after only waiting 10 minutes we were sat with a plate of nachos - always a good way to start! We ordered the guacamole to go with them and this was lovely - can tell it was freshly made.
We all ordered something different from the menu and all were very pleased with our food, came quickly and was a good standard. Lovely atmosphere and overall a good place to eat!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuckenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    118
    41
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Priest River, Idaho
2 reviews
“Great place for the entire family”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Good Mexican food, great beer, friendly service. Beautiful location right on the beach. eve been going for years.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poco1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location across from the beach”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We made a random quick stop for lunch as we were driving north up the coast. It had good prices and food was good. We liked that it was right across from the beach.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tab4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average, but average is good!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

This is a typical, "solid", predictable Mexican restaurant, which is a good thing. The food is standard, no chef specialty dishes (safe, predictable fare). Atmosphere is great - lovely, but not too loud. I have tried to get in here for years, but never could because it is always so crowded. I will say that the "Perfect Margarita" knocked me for a loop - very strong and only $8.50. Whew! After sipping that who cared what the food tasted like ;-)

Helpful?
Thank BelmarLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, MI
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Small- Food just average.”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Went her for lunch on the recommendation of some local people. Lower parking lot provides adequate space but it is very dusty. Lunch seating inside is very close together and rather loud. Drinks were OK but not great - hand made not from mix as advertised. Food order was mixed up for my husband - not what he ordered but sufficed. Chips and salsa were the best part of the meal and presented promptly as we were seated. Across from the ocean but can really only see the highway once inside. Servers are pleasant and friendly. Known as a landmark restaurant but probably would not visit again. So many beautiful places to eat in this part of California.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoTravelers-OntheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Olas Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to Las Olas Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing