We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thip Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sai Thai
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Having read numerous reviews here and elsewhere I was really looking forward to our stay. However, arrival proved to be just one big let down.
I knew it was quite remote though close to ao nang so that wasn't actually a problem.
Our double room that we booked turned out to be a twin room. It was clean...ish but the main thing was the smell. I don't even know what it smelled like. Just not pleasant. Bed linen was clean and aircon worked well. There was a safe that worked which was good.
The main reason I booked was the garden and pool area which was an even bigger disappointment than the room. The garden was pretty much dead. Brown grass or just muck everywhere. Tatty bits of leather covered sponge to sit on. I expected a lot more. My partner turned on the pool shower and the knob just fell off. Everything just seemed old and tattered and to have seen better days. I've no idea how they were able to charge so much as they do. I'd have liked to have moved after one night but we had paid in the well kept lobby, the one area that seems to see care.
All in all, hugely disappointing and drastically overpriced for what it is: a run down, musty hotel in dire need of refurbishment.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Q-qlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    118
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
70
160
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nürnberg
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have chosen this nice little family hotel in Aonammao 3 times since 2011 and have never regretted it. It is very quiet here and the owner(s) and their staff are very friendly people and always helpful when you have to solve a problem. If you only want to relax and read a book or magazine the pool and the garden are good alternatives. In 3 little huts or under sun shades you will be well protected from the hot tropical sun and you won't be disturbed by loud noises. All in all this hotel ist the perfect hideaway for people who intend to stay longer in the beautiful surroundings of Krabi because you have time enough to plan various excursions to islands (Koh Lanta, Koh Jum, Koh Phi Phi..etc). We always stayed there for 4 weeks. If we are still in good health we will come back again.
For 20 THB p. P. you can take a "songthaew" to Aonang which is only 5 km away. There many longtail-boats and speedboats go to nearby islands.
But the Aonammao pier (a stone's throw away) is another alternative. Here you can buy tickets (80 THB p.P) for Railay Beach. In less than 15 min. you will arrive there. For newcomers, however, it is advisable to find out when there is high tide. At low tide you will be disappointed when you see the muddy ground... The drive to Railay Beach along the rocky coastline is a very nice experience.You shouldn't take luggage with you because at low tide the ground is very slippery and will have to walk up to 100-200 metres to the shore...
We belong to the elderly and travel a lot. We have seen many countries and beaches all over the world, but the Krabi beaches are unrivalled, especially Railay (East and West !) with the magnificent limestone cave (Princess Cave). In the morning this is a quiet place where you can have a wonderful swim, but in the afternoon when the tourist boats arrive the beach is very crowded.
Outside the "Thip Residence" there are also little eateries where you can get a simple meal with rice (ca. 40THB), but hygienic conditions are unknown. We always preferred dining at the "Th.R." The menu offers a lot of choices and we appreciated the spicy Thai food, especially the curries (Panang C./ Green C. Indian C. or seafood. Of course you can also find spaghetti, burgers and French fries, but we didn't understand why so many foreigners are not courageous enough to try the famous Thai cuisine.
Every Wednesdy and Sunday there is a big market near the mosque (ca 800m away from the hotel) where we bought fruit (mangos, mangostine, papaya..) The fridge in the room is big enough to store food that has to be kept cool. A new "Family Mart" is just round the corner where you can get everyday necessities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinemascope67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The owners and staff of this hotel do all they can to make this one of the best small hotels I have stayed at. The standard of the rooms and service are excellent and the restaurant serves great food both Thai and Western at very reasonable prices. It might seem at first to be isolated but this is not so, although in a quiet area it is located in and excellent position for all the surrounding resorts etc. Tuk, Tuks pass the door regularly and for a few Bhat you can travel to Ao Nang, Krabi or visit the fossil beds etc near by all of which are in easy reach. The gardens the hotel are also excellent and the pool area tranquil and relaxing.
Great Value for money and would always go back there if staying in the Karabi area.

Room Tip: Well worth paying a little extra for the spacious superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buenavista C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

As everyone has said, friendly staff, nice relaxing feel about the hotel. Big room. Breakfast could have been a buffet one, but nevertheless we weren't left hungry. Just missed having more fruit to start the day. Nice pool area, very quiet.

Special points to the owner Ju who did more than she had to to help me get something I had really wanted for years from Thailand, she was ever so friendly and it just proves how willing they are to make you feel at home and enjoy your stay at the hotel.

The location is a bit remote, but we didn't mind. We knew it beforehand so it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesky Krumlov
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. As we were on our way to Phi Phi, and have had a number of beach/jungle days, we were only happy to take a break from "touristing" and to just chill out by the pool and listen to the birdsongs in the lovely manicured garden. As a family group ranging from 11 to 75 years old, we were all able to find something fun to do. I had an excellent Thai massage by "May," (300 baht for an hour) who later gave me a great pedicure (250 baht). Grandma and my husband went on a wonderful cooking adventure with "Ya" at Ya's Cooking School (note: it's better to make a booking directly with Ya either by calling her yourself or booking directly online, otherwise, she has to pay the hotel 30 percent for a "finders fee"). Ya sends a car to pick you up and deposits you back at the hotel at the end of class.They were lucky to have Ya all to themselves for three hours, and came back with six or seven dishes for the rest of the family to try. The hotel staff were only happy to reheat the food and serve it to us in their restaurant. An unexpected and very appreciated kindness. Also of note: The owner of this hotel is so very kind, and offered to take Grandma and son to a special cooking goods shop so they could get all of the "bang bang" and "chop chop" stuff they need for making good Thai food at home. Again, unexpected kindness.
The hotel is located in Ao Nam Bay, not Ao Nang, but it is an easy tuk tuk ride into Ao Nang. We didn't even bother with going to Krabi (about a half-hour drive), as there was more than enough to see here. The local roadside restaurants were very friendly and although their English was lacking (understandable!), they were only happy to communicate with us. We had some of our best Thai food at the roadside restaurant, although many guests said the food at the hotel was excellent. It certainly looked good to us, but we prefer to challenge ourselves a bit more. If you're interested in going to the roadside restaurant, just go out the doors of Thip, take a right and then another right along the main road. Two or three buidings down the road after Family Mart...Can't remember exactly, but just look where all the locals are eating. It's sooo good.
Breakfast at Thip was very good and served by attentive staff.
In all, very clean and comfortable accommodation, nicely appointed rooms, flexible and kind management. Good air con, strong wifi, firm mattresses. Stay here. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Our two rooms on the first floor were excellent. Didn't see any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynZukowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We were very pleased with our short stay here. Rooms are clean comfortable and plenty of amenities, staff quite friendly and helpful although we thought the taxis they ordered us were slightly over priced.
Can get the boat from down the road to railway you might be waiting a while to get there/back as they wait for 8 people and these piers aren't quite as busy as ao nang. Taxi to town costs 200bhat each way, or day time can get the bus.
Very nice pool at hotel and restaurant was good. We did a day snorkelling and deep water solo climbing with Hot Rock which we'd recommend!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chantssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Not so much a review of the hotel as it is as many have previously stated - clean, comfortable and staffed by friendly helpful people.

The worst experience we had concerned our decision to spend the afternoon on Railay and then take the longtail back to Ao Nam Mao pier.

In order to get to the departure point on Railay it is necessary to walk to the east side of the island which is not so nice as the central area is festooned with rubbish.
Once there it is a long walk along a very slippery causeway out to the boat (the tide was out at 5.30pm).
At the end of the causeway it was necessary to wade through about 6m of fairly choppy water to the boat so all the passengers removed their footwear. As the water was so choppy it churned up the sand so it was impossible to see the beach/ocean bed under the waves.

Upon stepping off the causeway up to our knees in water it was like walking on razor sharp coral. It was an agonising, slippery and dangerous wade to the boat, several passengers, myself included had blood pouring from cuts to the feet once we made it onboard.

We found out later that there is a tractor and trailer service which takes you right up to the boat but at that time no one was informed of it - apparently it costs 100 Baht which would be money well spent.
If we had known we would have taken the boat to Ao Nang and then a songthaew to Ao Nam Mao.

As stated this is not a reflection on the hotel, rather a warning to anyone else who may think it an easier option to take the boat straight to Ao Nam Mao from Railay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sai Thai
2.1 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,481 reviews
2.1 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#47 of 108 in Ao Nang
290 reviews
6.9 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#29 of 108 in Ao Nang
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
2.6 mi away
Aonang Paradise Resort
Aonang Paradise Resort
#31 of 108 in Ao Nang
688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krabi Tropical Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thip Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thip Residence Boutique Hotel

Property: Thip Residence Boutique Hotel
Address: 222, 222/1-5 Moo 5 Ao Nam Mao | Saithai, Krabi, Sai Thai, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Sai Thai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sai Thai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thip Residence Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thip Residence is a small hotel located opposite to Ao Nammao pier,the departure point by a longtail boat to Railay,the most beautiful beach in Krabi. Aonang beach,the prime tourist center of Krabi is only 5 Kilometers reached by car.We provide 20 rooms in a green and peaceful environment. The highlight of our place is every room with private balcony opening to seaview,mountain,garden or poolview.The salt chlorinated swimming pool among the green garden is always private and fascinated to every guest.The rooms are well equipped with air con.,Hot shower and safe .Free wifi and satellite TV program in English ,German and French are our privilege offer.Our staff and me (Ju) are ready to take care and give you a warm welcome like staying in your second home at Krabi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thip Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing