We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - good for one night stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Krabi Tropical Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sai Thai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average - good for one night stopover”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in december. The name of place is misleading as not a beach resort as can't use beach and accommodation is like a normal hotel block rather than traditional Thai villas/houses. Room basic but clean but overlooked road so worth booking sea view room. Thai food Was excellent- some of best we had.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crispslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    38
    21
    7
    10
See reviews for
30
53
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This is a small family run hotel and is lovely. The staff are very welcoming and helpful and will sort out trips and transfers for you. The rooms are large and lovely and MOST have wifi. I say this because we booked specifically to use the wifi connection as I needed to take a skype call for business purposes. The connection in our room was not good enough but the staff did find me an office I could take the call in. The wifi in the public areas is fine. The swimming pool is lovely and the food is tasty and cheap. The beach is very nice, although as said in other reviews, you can not swim in the sea. Also, you are about 4km outside Ao nang town so a little isolated but the hotel runs two free buses a day and will take you in anytime other than this that you wish, for a reasonable fee. There are also longtail boats just down the beach to take you to Ao Nang or Railay. Overall, I would recommend this hotel, we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizBNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Staff helpful, location awful, room run down and not what I'd booked. Also lots of bugs.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is a lovely hotel and could be just what you are looking for, but read all the reviews here to check it matches the kind of stay you want.
This hotel is small (17 rooms) with a very pretty terrace with great views and elegant boutique style swimming pool with jacuzzi and fountains. It is family run with loving care and the food is very good indeed. Its small size, unassuming appearance from the road and modest reception make it feel more like a guesthouse than a resort hotel but we liked that.
Most of the other guests were international couples. We are a family with 2 kids aged 7 and 4. We live in Bangkok and came for 9 days as a break because of flood risk. This meant it wasn't exactly a holiday and we had work / homework to do. We had a family apartment which consists of a living room with kitchen area then a big bedroom with 2 Kingsize beds. This actually worked out great for us. The room opens onto the pool and faces the sea, as do most rooms.
This hotel is located on a beach and gives fantastic panoramic views but as other reviewers have said it isn't really the sort of beach you hang out on. I wouldn't say the beach was dirty, just a bit functional with the wrong kind of sand. The hotel is not in the middle of other tourist stuff but it is accessible. You can walk for about 10 minutes to the pier and catch a longtail boat to Railay Bay which we did several times and enjoyed. There didn't seem to be a ticket system for boats there so we would hook up with another couple of expats and pay about 400baht for a boat to East Railay (10 mins). There are buses outside the hotel to Ao Nang (10 mins) or the hotel has a shuttle at 1pm and 5pm. However we hired a car for the time we were there and really enjoyed exploring beaches up the coast and driving round the province a little bit.
The food at this hotel is the best thing about it. For breakfast you have quite a lot of choice and they cook it fresh for you - beautiful omelettes or fried rice etc. You get a lot of different things for breakfast including gorgeous homemade brownies, and great coffee. The menu for lunch and dinner was varied with both Thai and Western. They do Italian food well with homemade pesto, carbonara etc. Naturally the Thai food was excellent and my husband reckons they do the best Phad Thai he has ever had. Even if you just order a tuna sandwich it will be a superior one. The prices are reasonable too. My kids were very happy alternating between burgers, sandwiches, pasta, tomato soup etc. The wine was quite drinkable and the beer was always cold. We did eat out a few times but nothing compared to this.
We found the staff here really lovely and friendly. Most speak good English. It is true that there are some staff members without good English but they are probably the cook or the maintenance man etc. It is a little place with all hands on deck so during the day if you approach someone they may need to go and get one of the strong English speakers who is probably busy cleaning a room. We did have an issue getting our room cleaned at one point (partly our fault as we were in it more than your typical guest) but when I spoke to the management it was all sorted out from that point onwards.
The pool in particular is beautifully maintained. A couple of times I saw someone doing routine testing of the water with a kit which I haven't seen in Thailand before! I don't think this is a typical place for kids but ours were extremely happy there and there is a zip slide and a little playground. A previous reviewer mentioned lots of insects and it is true you need your repellent in the evenings. But you feel you are in a beautiful spot of nature with butterflies, birds etc to see.
If you are looking for a base while you explore the area this hotel is prefect. Likewise if you want a few days to relax, sit on the terrace or by the pool and enjoy great food this is the place. I would love to be there in a big group of friends - it would feel like your own villa. If you are looking for somewhere happening to base yourself for a week on the beach in walking distance of bars and other cafes and to make friends this is probably not the place - Ao Nang Villa or Railay Resort and Spa are both on great beaches and are nice places but you will pay 50% for one room. And the food won't be as good!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irnbru4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I was there last month, promised the staff to write the review but only to find myself barried in my work again after the vacation.
It's a bit distance from Aonang beach, but just the location i wanted to get away from busy life. It's cosy n quite (perhaps its because off season), and very friendly staff and a fantastic cook, i love the rice noodle soup.
Although its not a swimimg beach,but its very convenient to get a boat to Railey beach because the Aonamo pier is just few minutes away.
You will see fishermen busy preparing to go to the sea early in the morning, and some local ladies collecting shellfish during low tide.
Will definitely go back there again and will stay longer next time.
Thank you all for a nice experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peierl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We had planned to stay here for 10 nights but we could only stomach 2. When the driver brought us to this place we thought there was some BIG MISTAKE. Do not let the pictures or their website deceive you!!! Also the so called 'Good Reviews' on here are probably made by the owner and are FAKE'

NONE of the staff speak the bare minimum English, despite their claims.
The lounge and lobby would not be out of place in a budget hostel.
Full of bugs, EVERYWHERE, no attempt to control the problem (Unlike other hotels in Ao Nang)
They turn OFF the ELECTRICITY and WATER for several hours after 10am.
The bathrooms were AWFUL, why do you think there are no pictures of the bathrooms on the website?! The shower was out of date (like most of the items in the room) and the temperature went from cold to tepid).
Location was in the MIDDLE OF NOWHERE with nothing to do.
The shuttle bus runs ONCE a day. Takes you there at 1pm to Ao Nang and picks you up at 5pm at Ao Nang. So unless you fancy lunch after then you are stuck with the hotel restaurant (which isn't bad mind you, but has even more of a mosquito problem - yes we were coated with deet)
The beach has been heavily photoshopped in the pictures. We went on a horse ride that took us past their beach with horses leaving their 'business' everywhere. The 'beach' was filthy and if you look to your right, it's full of rubbish.

If you are on a budget, look for a place with less grand claims, they might just be real.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sw879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The Krabi Tropical Beach Resort is a wonderful hotel. Friendly staff, great food and cosy atmosphere. There is no swimming beach at the hotel but you can easily sail by longtail boat to the most gorgeous islands and beaches nearby. We are a family of 4 children and 2 adults and we absolutely loved staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenemosegaardsobjerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sai Thai
2.5 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
2.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,417 reviews
3.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Islanda Hideaway Resort
Islanda Hideaway Resort
#1 of 1 in Khlong Prasong
277 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.1 mi away
Thip Residence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Tropical Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Tropical Beach Resort

Property: Krabi Tropical Beach Resort
Address: 194/13 Moo 5, Fossil Shell Road, Ao Namao Beach, Sai Thai, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Sai Thai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sai Thai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Krabi Tropical Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Quiet and secluded -for those who like to stay away from the hustle and bustle , Krabi Tropical Beach Resort offers the perfect time for relaxation. "Opened in 2006 , Krabi Tropical Beach Resort is one of the few resorts with direct BEACH ACCESS and Sea View in the area around Ao Nang and Ao Namao. It offers the perfect location to relax and to spend a memorable time in Krabi. Our resort is located in a private and quiet surrounding, sharing this beach with just a handful of small resort. We only offer fifteen rooms, ensuring privacy for those who like it quiet and far away from the hustle and bustle of Ao Nang. Hence our small resort suits young families as well as couples and friends of nature. Entertainment and shopping are available at the touristy Ao Nang Beach (4 km by shuttle bus or taxi). Ao Namao Beach is just at our doorstep, providing a breathtaking view over the surrounding islands and famous rock formations.CHICKEN ISLAND, PODA, the SANDBANKS and RAILAY are reachable within minutes by boats. As this is NOT A TYPICAL SWIMMING BEACH, you can relax in our swimming pool and beach front Jacuzzi during low tide and watch your children play in the playground, kids pool or at the beach. Furthermore, enjoy our FREE of CHARGE facilities and services, such as kayaks, mountain bikes, Wifi access and shuttle service to Ao Nang. Local busses depart every fifteen minutes. Easily book tours and trips at reasonable rate at our tour desk. There is a lot to do here, from horseback and elephant riding, rock climbing, island hopping, diving, adventurous ATV rides and rafting to pampering massages and cooking courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Krabi Tropical Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Tropical Beach Hotel Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing