We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay could easily go either way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Krabi Tropical Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sai Thai
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in jan with 2 children (6 & 8). There are certainly ups and downs to the place;
Ups -
The restaurant food is delicious, limited menu but everything tasty (plus we made friends with the restaurant staff and they gave us weird tasty fruits to try!)
It's quiet, the days we stayed at the hotel, the kids pretty much had the pool to themselves
It's small. We sat in the restaurant and enjoyed several laid back beers whilst the kids slept in their beds within eyesight (priceless). Also met other travelling parents who made our holiday! Like our own private bar :)
Free taxi to Ao Nang twice a day or cheaper than normal cab other times of day. (200baht each way)
The room was spacious, two king sized beds in the room plus lounge dining room separate.
Restaurant staff, super friendly, helpful and eager to please ( plus yummy food)
It's cheap
It's very chilled out for reading a book and watching the sunshine/view in a nice poolside location and as it's a small place there are never many people to share the place with.
The breakfast isn't outstanding, but they will cook fresh eggs for you if you ask.

Downs-
The room was a bit tired, beds clean but pillows shockingly uncomfy &bathroom not great
Cleaning staff were very sporadic and only seemed to turn up when we were all getting ready to go out at 5pm ish (and in states of undress) then grumpy because they couldn't clean!
They didn't clean each day so we had to ask for water and toilet paper.
Reception staff were a bit standoffish and frankly, at times could not be bothered!
It is away from the life and soul of ao nang so you do feel a bit away from it all.
The room safe did not work (and did not get looked at despite asking) the shower handle fell off the wall. Other residents had terrible problems with sewerage coming through floor plus sewer smells in other rooms, although we didn't .

Overall, we had a nice, safe stay as a family. It wasn't hard to get into town for a bit more atmosphere and was just right for the age of our kids to retreat to on a night. The price was exactly what you pay for 3 star thai style. Don't know that I would recommend to friends with kids and certainly not to people without.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SazzleDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Krabi Tropical Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

It is not a bad hotel very quiet and just a few minutes to a long boat to railey beach the only negative points are it needs some maintenance. ie shower door needs replacing as it is broken and we have a water leak in the ceiling but luckily it happens on our last day at the end of day it didn't spoil our holiday it is a lovely location you feel at home as it is very quiet and very relaxing place to stay

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monnette123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Arrived at 2:50pm and was told to wait a few minutes in the lobby for the room to be ready. Check-in is meant to be at 3pm. At 3:25pm we were still sat in lobby waiting for our room. We only gained access to our room when we asked out of frustration if the room was ready yet. Not sure why we weren't notified as soon as it was ready. We were given an adjoining room with two bathrooms, one of which had a disgusting smell as a result of their plumbing. The hotel was clearly aware of it as it was decorated with multiple air fresheners whereas the other bathroom had none. Both bathrooms had bathtubs with a shower installed but no shower curtain which made taking a shower without making a huge mess rather tough. After one night we asked for an exchange of rooms and were given a new room. Upon returning to our new room the next day after a long day out visiting islands and snorkelling, we came back to find the room devoid of towels and complimentary water and had to hunt someone down to ask for it. On the plus side, the rooms are huge. The second room we were given was a family room with two king-sized beds in one room (with air conditioning) which connects to an open plan living space/kitchenette that didn't have an air con which made it quite stuffy to sit there.

The male receptionist has a really bad attitude. He is very unfriendly and always sighs or makes a face whenever we ask for anything. He will also ignore us until we address him directly. He also appears to have limited grasp of English which makes communication more difficult. The female receptionist speaks decent English and is very helpful. We liked communicating with her.

The pool which we had read so much about was a sickly green with no further notice/explanation when we arrived. It wasn't until our third day that the pump was fixed and the water was clear again. That was a disappointment that it took so long to be fixed.

Breakfast is served buffet style with tables set outside overlooking the water. It was very scenic and we thoroughly enjoyed the setting each morning. The hotel is located in Ao Nam Mao rather than Ao Nang so be prepared to either take the local bus or a tuktuk for approx 200 baht into Ao Nang (5-10 minutes drive). There is a convenience store (Family Mart) and a couple of restaurants down the road (2-3 minutes walk) within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Great place place that's a little out of the way. The view in the morning when you have breakfast is outstanding.
I would recommended trying the hotel restaurant for lunch or dinner, some of the best Thai food we had. There's also a few places just down the road that serve amazing Thai food. The best soup we had in Thailand(and top 10 ever) was just down the street. Next door to that place the best Pad Thai(that includes Bangkok and Chaing Mai) we had on the trip.
*Tip - The that stops regularly in front of the hotel will take you to Tiger Cave temple for only 100 baht per person if you ask.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I loved the staff here. They were all nice and considerate. it could be because i was pretty much the only guest at the time (around June). good value vs quality, though the location is too far from the main town. getting back at night was a struggle. especially since i can't pronounce the name of the town to tell tuk tuk drivers where to take me back. take the hotel brochure with you whenever you leave.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarknKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed in room n°4, next to the reception. After taking a shower, there was terrible smell in the badroom, which soon spread to the whole room. We complained at the reception, the reply was a bit unexpected "Yes, I know, it smells terrible!", and as corrective measure they came with a spray!!?? Without the terrible smell, the room would have been good.
Still, I have absolutely no idea how they earned their certificate of excellence...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank svenkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We book a family apartment for 4 pax. It come with 2 king or extra big size bedding. The bed can easily fit 3 ladies. Plus point are the wifi everywhere in the resort, great service and scenic view. It is approx. 10 mins drive to Ao nang but hotel provide shuttle service at 2 timing (1pm & 5pm). If miss the shuttle, catch a cab at a cheap cost. Down part are room has a musky smell but generally clean. Lots of mosquitoes be prepared with repellent. Nevertheless, very satisfied with the resort and will recommend to those looking for a peaceful retreat.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Darkcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sai Thai
5.6 mi away
Islanda Hideaway Resort
Islanda Hideaway Resort
#1 of 1 in Khlong Prasong
281 reviews
2.9 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#31 of 109 in Ao Nang
831 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
8.0 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,398 reviews
3.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Tropical Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Tropical Beach Resort

Address: 194/13 Moo 5, Fossil Shell Road, Ao Namao Beach, Sai Thai, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Sai Thai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sai Thai
Price Range: £27 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Krabi Tropical Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Quiet and secluded -for those who like to stay away from the hustle and bustle , Krabi Tropical Beach Resort offers the perfect time for relaxation. "Opened in 2006 , Krabi Tropical Beach Resort is one of the few resorts with direct BEACH ACCESS and Sea View in the area around Ao Nang and Ao Namao. It offers the perfect location to relax and to spend a memorable time in Krabi. Our resort is located in a private and quiet surrounding, sharing this beach with just a handful of small resort. We only offer fifteen rooms, ensuring privacy for those who like it quiet and far away from the hustle and bustle of Ao Nang. Hence our small resort suits young families as well as couples and friends of nature. Entertainment and shopping are available at the touristy Ao Nang Beach (4 km by shuttle bus or taxi). Ao Namao Beach is just at our doorstep, providing a breathtaking view over the surrounding islands and famous rock formations.CHICKEN ISLAND, PODA, the SANDBANKS and RAILAY are reachable within minutes by boats. As this is NOT A TYPICAL SWIMMING BEACH, you can relax in our swimming pool and beach front Jacuzzi during low tide and watch your children play in the playground, kids pool or at the beach. Furthermore, enjoy our FREE of CHARGE facilities and services, such as kayaks, mountain bikes, Wifi access and shuttle service to Ao Nang. Local busses depart every fifteen minutes. Easily book tours and trips at reasonable rate at our tour desk. There is a lot to do here, from horseback and elephant riding, rock climbing, island hopping, diving, adventurous ATV rides and rafting to pampering massages and cooking courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Krabi Tropical Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Tropical Beach Hotel Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing