We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Beach Terrace Inn(Carlsbad)
US$299
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$114
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Palms Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$202
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$404
US$365
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$220
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
LEGOLAND California Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$359
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,408)
Filter reviews
1,408 results
Traveller rating
986
254
96
38
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
986
254
96
38
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswithin walking distancethe mexican restaurantacross the streetadult jacuzzibeach chairsboogie boardsbedroom condohot tubdaily newssan diegothe coasterdaily activitiestime shareunderground parkingocean viewrestaurants and shopssouthern california
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
715 - 720 of 1,408 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was a very nice hotel. Just a walk across the street to the beach which was a huge plus. The hotel itself is clean and has an adults only hot tub which was nice. There are a lot of great features here and I would recommend it for a relaxing getaway.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank JonasSellsHomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We visit Carlsbad every year and always choose the Carlsbad Inn for our accommodation. The resort is beautiful, as beachfront as you can get, and has planned activities for the whole family. This year, we were able to participate in the ice cream social and the wine tasting. It is just a laid back resort and a perfect backdrop to the beach. The rooms are perfectly clean and the toiletries are yummy! It books almost a year in advance, though, so plan ahead!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atlsuburbanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at the inn From October 16 to 26 and had a wonderful time. My husband and I were in a kitchenette on the second floor. The room was clean, comfortable and in a perfect location for us.
We went on several day trips from here...Torrey Pines, the Botanical Garden, the San Diego Zoo and Coronado Island. The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially Carolanne Petz who helped us arrange our stay. The place has an almost ski lodge/European feel to it with a beautiful lawn area that has gorgeous flowers and an awesome view of the sunset. It's a short walk to the beach, restaurants or shopping from here. We loved the "send off" party on Fridays with music, wine and snacks. The Daily News Cafe is right next door for delicious breakfast or lunch. We were offered a timeshare informational meeting which we declined, but there was never any pressure to go-something I appreciated. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1crazyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend at this resort and we had a fabulous time. We stayed in a king room on the third floor and it was nearly perfect. We agreed this is one of the best places we have stayed recently. The room was comfortable and clean. Our balcony overlooked the front entrance, but the location of the resort is so nice that we really didn't mind. We didn't have to drive when we didn't want to. We walked to several restaurants and the beautiful beach across the street is breaktaking. One morning we sat on one of the many benches facing the water and watched dolphins swimming in the shorebreak. My young nephews who live nearby had a ball in the resort's pool. We walked across the street to Boards (excellent by the way) and brought back sandwiches for lunch, which we ate at a table by the pool while the kids swam. Large flocks of pelicans flew overhead and we could see the ocean across the lawn. Great memories. The resort has a comfortable lobby with an adjoining tv/computer room. Coffee, tea and cold water are available in that room, which is very convenient, especially in the mornings. Two computers and a printer are also available in that room. The bed was exeptionally comfortable. I plan to contact the hotel to ask what type of mattress we had because it was amazing. The marble finishes in the bathroom were beautiful and I particularly liked the large walk-in shower. There's not much to complain about at this resort. The wifi never worked in our room (I tethered our devices to my phone, so this didn't create a major problem). One thing I would suggest is that the resort install wall-mounted makeup mirrors. The bathroom lighting was terrible for applying makeup and, due to the depth of the counters, it's impossible to get close enough to the mirror to actually see what you're doing. A swing-out mirror would have been really helpful. I can't wait to go back to this resort. Because we have family in the area, I hope to have many future stays at this resort.

Room Tip: (1) Nortes Mexican restaurant and the Daily News Cafe are literally in the resort parking lot. Both are excellent. (2) Rooms on the top floor seem to have fewer problems with noise. Around 11:30 one night we heard security knocking on the door across the hall asking that the children in the room be quiet, as they were disturbing the people in the room below. As a side note, I liked that security would actually address that issue.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pickytraveler56_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here on a timeshare exchange because it actually had space available near the coast. This property is only a convenient block-long walk from the sandy beach and actually does have a water view from the interior grassy area and from many second and third floor units. Furthermore, it sits at the edge of the Carlsbad commercial district so you are within walking distance of over a dozen restaurants and numerous businesses. Of special note are Café Elysa for breakfast and Sub Zero for ice cream just across Carlsbad Blvd from the resort.

It is best approached by driving west from I-5 on Carlsbad Village Drive to Carlsbad Blvd. Then turn left onto Carlsbad Blvd. and then right into the property. A concrete island blocks access from the south on Carlsbad Blvd.

This property seems somewhat small for a resort and is laid out in a "u" shape with the open part facing the ocean to the west. There are three floors with some units facing the grassy interior and some facing structures to the south and north. Most second and third floor units seem to have at least a partial ocean view. First floor units are slightly below ground level and so are somewhat dark inside, though, you can leave the sliding door shades open if you don't mind sharing your privacy with passersby. A small porch area is outside the sliding doors on all units. The interior grassy area is nicely landscaped with a couple of hot tubs (one for adults only) and a too-small, but fenced in, pool that has a max depth of about 4.5 feet. Scattered around are tables, a number of chairs with comfortable cushions, and a couple fire pits. Sunset views are very nice, though, you can not actually see the beach since two-story homes line Ocean St. to the west. You can see the ocean and horizon.

When we arrived we were introduced to the property by friendly staff in the lobby area and then given a parking pass. The resort has underground parking accessed from either the north (Carlsbad Village Dr.) or the south (Oak Ave.). Unfortunately, only one permit is given per unit so any guests will have to look elsewhere, though, there are a few spaces out in front. Also, there is a $14 per day "resort fee" for timeshare exchanges which is kind of an irritation. One real positive is that the resort has lots of luggage carts to move luggage from your car to the room. Often these are hard to find at other hotels because people take one to their room long before they actually get around to packing up.

The resort sponsors several activities each day and has an activity center at the garage level with exercise equipment. They will also help you find tours or other off-site activities like a trip to a casino, a sailing trip, or a Hollywood tour. Towards the end of a week they hold a free bon voyage party with free sodas, wine, $2 hot dogs, and live music which is a nice touch. Of course, they also would love to schedule a presentation for you about "buying in" but make sure you do your homework about timeshares before every going to one of these even if they offer you a fabulous dinner or trip to Disneyland. The salespeople are very slick and there are down sides to ownership that they do not tell you.

Our room was actually a 2 bedroom unit, though, we had only scheduled a one bedroom unit. However, there were only two of us so we couldn't use the second room anyway. Both bedrooms had king-size beds with very comfortable mattresses and pillows. The second bedroom also had a separate shower and toilet. There was plenty of storage space in both rooms. The main living room had rather eclectic furniture including a hide-a-bed couch, a recliner, a chair, and large-screen flat panel TV. The bedroom had a smaller flat panel TV. The kitchen seemed to have all the cookware and flatware we needed. I would agree with others that overall the room was rather dreary during the day and we spent considerable time sitting out in the grassy area. On Mondays and Fridays the staff would replace towels and collect trash and on Wednesdays they would do a "minicleaning" of the room.

For us, the construction noise was not an issue since most work was being done on the units across from us. What was a problem, however, was the thump-thump-thump of children running across the floor in the unit above us. Obviously, someone shaved on costs when these one-time condos were being constructed and I doubt that the current remodeling will be able to solve this structural and insolation issue. At times the pictures on the wall would vibrate from the running feet. However, the little dears seemed to go to bed at an early hour so they didn't disturb my sleep.

Room Tip: For less noise from your neighbors try for the third floor, then the second.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GenoNorthridge_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews