We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We are a family of my husband and I, my four year old and two year old, and my mother in law. We were pleased with the one bedroom condo. They have been updated since our last stay. We enjoyed the festivities in the day of the 4th of July. Beach was nice with the chairs, umbrella and toys provided. I would not choose this place if I was kid-less. It can be noisy, the bathroom is shower only, and the tv is kinda blurry. But the place is comfortable. Clean. Great location. 400 a night for Carlsbad on holiday weekend was pricey but it was easy.

We will come back

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sherilynn010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    928
    238
    91
    36
    32
See reviews for
567
425
62
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have owned a condo at this resort for 25 years. Most people trade their week for a different resort, but we have never missed a summer here since we find the Carlsbad Inn to be ideal place for our annual family reunion. The condos are nicely furnished, will a full kitchen (full refrigerator with freezer at the top, dishwasher, microwave, stove, real oven, plates, pots, pans -- everything you need to cook or prepare snacks). There are a few grills at the end of the two condo buildings where you can barbeque.

The resort is located across the street from the beach. Beach chairs, towels and sun umbrellas can be checked out by guests. The ocean is fairly warm and the water clean. We usually see schools of dolphins swimming past at least once every year.

Our unit is one of a few that sleep 6 adults. It has a bedroom with a king bed, a sofa bed in the living room, and a Murphy (pull-down) bed that can be isolated via a large curtain that draws across the large living room. The unit has a balcony that overlooks the green and that has an ocean view in the distance through the transparent wall around the back of the resort. The condo bathrooms were just remodeled this year (2014) and each one has a fireplace.

My fave activity is relaxing in the fabulous hot tub. It's therapeutic, with strong water jets and lots of room to sit and soak. There is a separate hot tub for children near the swimming pool.

There are three fire pits on the green, and on one or more evenings each week, there is live music for a few hours on the green. There are activities for kids and adults everyday of the week.

There is a well-equipped gym with sauna. You can borrow a bike for the day. There is free parking for guests in the underground garage. Restaurants and shops are nearby.

Part of the Carlsbad Inn is also a hotel (no kitchens or living room in the hotel rooms). Staff is friendly and helpful.

Staying at the Carlsbad Inn has been a fun and exciting highlight for our whole family every single year!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I've owned a timeshare here for > 25 years but mostly exchange it out. One of the nice things about the resort is that they keep it well maintained and recently refurbished the units and landscaping so it always looks nice. The staff is very helpful and there are nice restaurants and shops nearby. I love to take the train from here to San Diego and wander around there too.

The wifi has been frustrating because log-in is required frequently.

Room Tip: All condo units are located well with second-story ones having balconies with view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
Green Features: The resort is very environmentally conscious with trash bins located strategically to place reclyclables. Water is also conserved.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArleneB435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and found it to be a great place for us, including our kids who are 10 and 14. They have lots of activities for families.

The staff were super accommodating and nice and the hotel is clean and close to many restaurants. The property is also patrolled by security and the covered parking garage was a plus.

Our first night we stayed in a non-ocean view room that had traffic noise from busy 101 (loud motorcycles). The air conditioner, however, drowned out the noise just fine. The next 2 nights, we had an ocean view room which was bigger and had a deck with a fantastic view of the ocean (in my opinion, well worth the extra money). We slept with our sliding glass door open and could really hear the crashing waves during the night It also overlooked the pool area which was generally busy with kids which could be annoying to someone looking for a quieter experience.

A big plus was the beach cabana that is run by the hotel. It has chairs, umbrellas, beach toys, and boggie boards that can be checked out. The first day we went there around 2 p.m. and I figured there was no way we were going to get anything. Much to my surprise, the hotel has 2 chairs, 2 boogie boards, an umbrella, and beach toys for EACH room. Last but not least, the beach was great (perfect waves for boggie boarding, clean, lots of families, etc.).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OscarColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I visited the resort for three nights in April because I was attending a meditation retreat across the street. Previous reviews had stated if one wanted quiet, they should ask for a room with a view of the water. I booked 5 months in advance with that request. When I arrived, I found the room I was given was next to the elevator, which gave a very loud "DING" whenever the door opened, loud conversations in the hall carried, I have a view of the building next door, and I was just a few rooms down from the pool, which is very busy/noisy with people having fun. Not very zen-like.

The woman at the front desk was very understanding and apologetic. Unfortunately, they didn't have any other rooms available that evening (even though I was there right at check-in time), but they moved me the next day, after many delays, to an end unit on the ground floor with a patio overlooking a garden. It was perfect.

The resort itself is clean, well run and very bustling with lots of amenities geared towards families. It just wasn't what I was looking for during this particular trip.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, you should talk to someone when you make the reservation, rather than doin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikki33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Mikki33,
Thank you for your review. We are really sorry for not being able to accommodate you promptly in a quieter location. We understand the importance behind having a peaceful atmosphere for meditation retreat. However, we are delighted to hear that our staff was able to help you get set up near the courtyard of the resort and that you were able to enjoy the beautiful and peaceful views. We hope you visit us soon for another visit!
Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn, the weather was only in the 70's during our week long stay so we weren't able to spend every day at the beach like we wanted however the location can't be beat!! The Inn was super clean and cozy for my husband and 3 kids. I loved that the kids could stay in the heated pool, had their own tv, had a chance to hang out on the patio and watch the bands, could check out toys and beach gear whenever they wanted. We truly enjoyed every aspect. The village was right outside our door and there are tons of eateries, shops and things to do to keep you busy in the area.

Room Tip: We had three kids and they all shared the pull out sofa in the living room while we had the
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChanceWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We just spent a week at Carlsbad Inn. We had a very busy week filled with lots of activities! Very family oriented resort. Karoke,family movie on the lawn (Frozen) Kids sack races,Hulahoop contest., Live music,a clown,snacks and lots more! The rooms were very nice! Everyone at the resort was friendly and helpful,even the security staff! We had a blast! The computers need updating but no big deal. We will definitly return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Chuck S,
Thank you for providing us with your review. It is great to hear that you and your family were able to partake in some of the family oriented activities here and that you enjoyed them. We hope you chose to come back during your next visit to California!
Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,323 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.1 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
661 reviews
6.7 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Property: Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Address: 3075 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park your car... You won't need it! Steps to the beach, in the Village of Carlsbad with shops, restaurants, wine bistros and bars. All of life's comforts are conveniently included in each guest room with our signature Sleep Therapy beds, iHome, flat screen TV, DVD player, small refrigerator, Keurig coffee brewer, plantation shutters and luxury linens. Our resort offers heated pool, ocean view courtyard with fire pits, adult hot tub, fitness center with sauna and an activities center with beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sand toys, bikes (for guests over 16 with ID) and many other amenities to make the most of your stay. Please note a Daily Parking Fee of $20 plus tax will be collected at the property upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Inn Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hotel
Carlsbad Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing