We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid Freeway Rooms. No ESPN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
185 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Avoid Freeway Rooms. No ESPN”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

There are about eight or nine rooms that will drive you mad with freeway noise even with the doors closed. Once you get a room near the pool, it will be Ok for a short stay, even shorter if you can't live without ESPN. Beds are Ok and it was a pretty normal stay. The one thing is although the owners are nice people, they need to keep the lobby area smelling better. Some people might walk out when the Indian food odor overwhelms them right when they walk inside. Coffee is the only salvageable thing at breakfast, but like I said, its decent for short stay, but not worth over $100 in summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We appreciate your time in making this review. We sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. We are also thankful for bringing to our attention ESPN and the food odor in the lobby and rest assured that this will be discussed on our regular meeting for us to improve our service. Your satisfaction means a lot to us, and we look forward to seeing you soon. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    122
    50
    18
    3
See reviews for
232
61
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canoga Park
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here as we were going to spend the next day at Sea World on day two of our honeymoon with our kids. The place was a little hidden and right next to the freeway but the noise didn't affect our sleep. I was amazed at the quality of the rooms, cleanliness, amenities were ample, and the price was outstanding. The continental breakfast they offered the next day was very good and the quality of the food was great. Our kids enjoyed the waffles as well as the different types of cereal. Jay the attendant there at night was very amigable and polite. He was up early to make sure the food was stocked and fresh. I seriously recommend this place and will stay here each time I pass this way. Thank you Jay for being honest on the phone with us!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your recent stay. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I gave this an excellent rating with a note that this is an economy hotel. It had everything I needed, comfortable bed, big rooms, great lighting, very clean and maintained property. Includes internet access and a light breakfast. I've paid three times as much for hotel rooms that were not as nice. Only downside was some traffic noise and no fitness center. If you are expecting fancy or new, this is maybe not for you, but I certainly will be back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgciesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
It is with utmost appreciation that we extend our gratitude for taking time in giving us your feedback.It is our goal to not only attend to the needs of our guests but also find ways to offer a comfortable place to stay in while giving them the best value for their money. We sincerely apologize that you felt inconvenienced due to traffic noise, during your stay. We look forward to seeing you back here very soon. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I have stayed here multiple times and we love it so much. Great price for a weekend getaway/break from the kids. Rooms are nice, spacious, very clean and love how they have a microwave and fridge. Great for leftovers or snacks, I've stayed in places that don't have them on purpose I believe. It's not too close to the beach but it's not far away either. Perfect distance and close to all the food places. Yes there is a freeway near it but you can't hear it at all which I love. Very quite and peaceful place. We loved this place so much we stayed here the weekend after we got married in march. We may also be celebrating our 1st year anniversary here as well. Great service too. I think the only complaint we have is the busy hoilday weekends we have stayed the parking is so packed at night. I know a couple times there were no spaces to park, we had to wait until someone left. If they were to expand on parking spaces that would be great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
It is such a pleasure that we have been great in providing you quality services during your multiple weekends/break from kids stay with us. We were privileged to serve you during your weekend after marriage in march. And the good thing is that you were able to have a wonderful experience.Thank you for commending us on great service, appreciating our rooms and particularly enjoying the location in total.Thank you for also pointing out the improvements we can make regarding parking. We will definitely make proper amendments for us to better serve our valued guests. It is our goal to not only attend to the needs of our guests but also find ways to offer a comfortable place to stay in while giving them the best value for their money.It would be our pleasure to have you stay on your 1st year anniversary. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough about how well this hotel is managed. I've stayed at several Marriott and Holiday Inn properties and payed up to $279 a night and haven't been as pleased as I have been here. I really have no complaints and usually have 1 or 2 at the more expensive places. Next time I'm out here this is where we will stay. If your concern is cleanliness, nice pool, great location, friendly staff, GREAT customer service, just right Continental Breakfast then this is the perfect place for you! Note: We were not bothered at all by the noise from I-5. People have different mattress preferences so expect it may not be your #1 choice but they do seem to be in the middle between firm and soft so it works.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Loraelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We truly appreciate the time & effort you gave to share to us your positive experience. We were privileged to serve you during your stay, & the good thing is that you were able to have a wonderful experience. We are pleased to know that we have successfully shown you just how dedicated our staff is to give our valued guests the service they deserve. Your feedback regarding our hotel room cleanliness, pool, location & just right continental breakfast inspires & motivates us to give our guests the best. Your satisfaction means a lot to us, & we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Jefferson Station, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I went with this motel mostly because of the reasonable rate with breakfast included and the reviews I read on Tripadvisor. Hanna was very nice and always there to help. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was comfortable...what more could you ask for?? Very convenient to the freeway and all local areas. Look no further, book this motel now!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
The very positive feedback you gave following your recent stay is indeed heartwarming.Thank you for commending our reliable staff (Hanna in particular), for appreciation you gave for the breakfast served as well as liking the hotel room, cleanliness & comfortable bed. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our convenient location to the freeway, as well as all the local areas.We can't wait to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here just 1 night for our trip to Legoland. We arrived very late, but were greeted by a friendly staff member at the front desk who gave us our key. The room was very spacious, with a microwave and refrigerator. Everything was immaculate and well-maintained. The beds were comfortable.

Breakfast was included and was quite nice. There was cereal, toast, danishes, fruit, coffee, hard-boiled eggs, and you could even make your own waffles.

The hotel is only 5-10 minutes from Legoland, which was very convenient.

I noticed in other reviews that some people were bothered by the noise from the nearby freeway. This was not an issue for us at all.

So, in summary, this is an excellent motel and perfect if you're visiting Legoland.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
The very positive feedback you gave following your recent stay is indeed heartwarming. Thank You for commending us on great service we have given you & for appreciating our rooms & for particularly enjoying the location in total.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed what we offer for breakfast. We are glad to know that the traffic noise from the nearby freeway was not inconvenience to you. We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#24 of 36 in Carlsbad
320 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
3.7 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
990 reviews
2.4 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
Address: 3666 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Near Legoland
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing