We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice budget hotel in a horrible location for traffic noise!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel in a horrible location for traffic noise!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Good:
1. Very pretty, well-kept grounds.
2. Large rooms with good decor and nice, newer furniture (nice flat-screen TV)
3. Free parking/wifi
4. Overall felt very clean
5. Microwave & fridge add convenience.

The BAD:
1. Traffic noise is TERRIBLE!!!! DO NOT get stuck in Room 203 (or one below it)!!! I assume traffic noise is an issue with all the rooms (to be expected for a hotel so close to a major freeway), but this room must be the worst with TWO windows facing the freeway. My husband and I are not light sleepers, but we both had an awful sleep. I realize the owners can't control the traffic (and they make no apologies for it), but they should #1. Offer a discount for room 203 (and one below it)!!! #2. Install some sort of loud fan that will help drown out the sounds of semi-trucks and motorcycles, etc. Unfortunately, the fan for heat/AC wa so quiet it was NO help! Very disappointing! They could make attempts to help minimize traffic noise. Heck, they could have a stock of new ear plugs to offer, at the very least!

2. The hotel felt clean overall, inside and out. However, there was long black hair on side of the shower that didn't belong to us (honest overlook by house-keeping). The carpet and chair in our room could use a good cleaning too.

3. The clocks weren't on right time (no big deal, but should've been changed)

4. Beds were quite hard an uncomfortable, but not any worse than most other hotels (including more expensive ones).

In summary, this is a clean, well-kept, pretty budget hotel. Our experience was simply ruined by the extremely loud traffic noise. If we could try a room further back from freeway and the owners made more attempts to help minimize the noise, then we might stay again. Otherwise, it's worth the extra cost to get a decent sleep elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey7755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. Thank you for pointing out the improvements we can make to help minimize traffic noise. Your feedback did not only make us aware of it, but also gave us an opportunity to correct it. We will definitely make proper amendments for us to better serve our valued guests. We sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience that you and your husband experienced during your stay. We are hoping that you'll still leave your doors open for Econo lodge on your future trips. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    122
    50
    17
    3
See reviews for
230
61
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queen Creek, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I don't usually write a review but we were so impressed with our stay that I wanted to make sure we let people know. Check in was easy and Malu was very helpful since we had two rooms. The room was great, the bed was nicer than some of the pricier hotels we have stayed at. The shower pressure was awesome and the water was nice and hot, and stayed hot through two showers! We were there with our nephew, and had two rooms, he said that his room was just as nice as ours. The freeway was close but we couldn't hear the noise, we also didn't realize that the pool pump was right outside our door because we never heard it even though it was on. We will be staying here again and will be recommending this place to everyone who asks us for a good place to stay in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weeksfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us, and taking time to share your wonderful experience. It's great to hear that you had pleasant and welcoming check-in experience and were provided great service by Malu. The comfort and satisfaction of our valued guests means so much to us, and to be able to ensure it without fail is our primary goal.Thank you for being such a great inspiration to drive us to succeed. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
185 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

There are about eight or nine rooms that will drive you mad with freeway noise even with the doors closed. Once you get a room near the pool, it will be Ok for a short stay, even shorter if you can't live without ESPN. Beds are Ok and it was a pretty normal stay. The one thing is although the owners are nice people, they need to keep the lobby area smelling better. Some people might walk out when the Indian food odor overwhelms them right when they walk inside. Coffee is the only salvageable thing at breakfast, but like I said, its decent for short stay, but not worth over $100 in summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We appreciate your time in making this review. We sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. We are also thankful for bringing to our attention ESPN and the food odor in the lobby and rest assured that this will be discussed on our regular meeting for us to improve our service. Your satisfaction means a lot to us, and we look forward to seeing you soon. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canoga Park
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here as we were going to spend the next day at Sea World on day two of our honeymoon with our kids. The place was a little hidden and right next to the freeway but the noise didn't affect our sleep. I was amazed at the quality of the rooms, cleanliness, amenities were ample, and the price was outstanding. The continental breakfast they offered the next day was very good and the quality of the food was great. Our kids enjoyed the waffles as well as the different types of cereal. Jay the attendant there at night was very amigable and polite. He was up early to make sure the food was stocked and fresh. I seriously recommend this place and will stay here each time I pass this way. Thank you Jay for being honest on the phone with us!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your recent stay. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I gave this an excellent rating with a note that this is an economy hotel. It had everything I needed, comfortable bed, big rooms, great lighting, very clean and maintained property. Includes internet access and a light breakfast. I've paid three times as much for hotel rooms that were not as nice. Only downside was some traffic noise and no fitness center. If you are expecting fancy or new, this is maybe not for you, but I certainly will be back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgciesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
It is with utmost appreciation that we extend our gratitude for taking time in giving us your feedback.It is our goal to not only attend to the needs of our guests but also find ways to offer a comfortable place to stay in while giving them the best value for their money. We sincerely apologize that you felt inconvenienced due to traffic noise, during your stay. We look forward to seeing you back here very soon. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I have stayed here multiple times and we love it so much. Great price for a weekend getaway/break from the kids. Rooms are nice, spacious, very clean and love how they have a microwave and fridge. Great for leftovers or snacks, I've stayed in places that don't have them on purpose I believe. It's not too close to the beach but it's not far away either. Perfect distance and close to all the food places. Yes there is a freeway near it but you can't hear it at all which I love. Very quite and peaceful place. We loved this place so much we stayed here the weekend after we got married in march. We may also be celebrating our 1st year anniversary here as well. Great service too. I think the only complaint we have is the busy hoilday weekends we have stayed the parking is so packed at night. I know a couple times there were no spaces to park, we had to wait until someone left. If they were to expand on parking spaces that would be great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
It is such a pleasure that we have been great in providing you quality services during your multiple weekends/break from kids stay with us. We were privileged to serve you during your weekend after marriage in march. And the good thing is that you were able to have a wonderful experience.Thank you for commending us on great service, appreciating our rooms and particularly enjoying the location in total.Thank you for also pointing out the improvements we can make regarding parking. We will definitely make proper amendments for us to better serve our valued guests. It is our goal to not only attend to the needs of our guests but also find ways to offer a comfortable place to stay in while giving them the best value for their money.It would be our pleasure to have you stay on your 1st year anniversary. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough about how well this hotel is managed. I've stayed at several Marriott and Holiday Inn properties and payed up to $279 a night and haven't been as pleased as I have been here. I really have no complaints and usually have 1 or 2 at the more expensive places. Next time I'm out here this is where we will stay. If your concern is cleanliness, nice pool, great location, friendly staff, GREAT customer service, just right Continental Breakfast then this is the perfect place for you! Note: We were not bothered at all by the noise from I-5. People have different mattress preferences so expect it may not be your #1 choice but they do seem to be in the middle between firm and soft so it works.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Loraelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We truly appreciate the time & effort you gave to share to us your positive experience. We were privileged to serve you during your stay, & the good thing is that you were able to have a wonderful experience. We are pleased to know that we have successfully shown you just how dedicated our staff is to give our valued guests the service they deserve. Your feedback regarding our hotel room cleanliness, pool, location & just right continental breakfast inspires & motivates us to give our guests the best. Your satisfaction means a lot to us, & we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#25 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
3.7 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
2.4 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
Address: 3666 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Near Legoland
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing