We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, comfortable but far from the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel is a great location only if you are a family wanting to go to Legoland or a shopper wanting to check out the premium outlet mall. Because it is located a half hour from San Diego, the only way to get around is by the Coaster (train). The hotel offers a shuttle to catch the train station that is about 2 miles away. A taxi from the airport to the hotel goes for $100.00
Most of this info we found out on our own as the hotel staff seemed to be a little unaware of what is available to their guests. As for the hotel, it was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast provided was average but great coffee. NIce pool but the hot tub was under repair for the full week we were there. Lots of place to eat within walking distance.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that is not behind the shrubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Nice place, bed pretty hard. Power went out in the breakfast room and the hotel was going to send us to a local restaurant for breakfast but the power was restored quickly by the local power company so they were able to provide us breakfast there. Not a bad place and good location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We wouldn't have picked this hotel at the offical rate but when bargain popped up I grabbed it.

While the signage to the hotel of the main road isn't convenient the staff is 100% available and accommodating to the best of their ability.

The room was smaller than I expected but reservations knowing that I some difficulty walking provided me with an excellent location. The room itself if showing it's age was spotless and comfortable. Wi-Fi which is important to me was up to the standard of any hotel I've stayed in ... usually good and never great. The location across from the Outlet Mall or Legoland etc. was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friedkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I like the service there. Very close to Legoland and 5 minutes walking to the Carlsbad Outlet. Very Good Price and ok breakfast. Overall it is good for family trip and budget.
I will bring my family again for sure.
Thanks

Room Tip: Call first if you want the first floor or late check out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We selected the hotel due to it's free breakfast and free wi-fi claimed online. However, during our stay, we connected to their wi-fi which did not connect to the internet. So basically, no interent. The breakfast was like self-service with bagels, hams, cereals and some drinks. With a rate of $220 per night, these are below our expectations.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Francine97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The room was beautiful and very relaxing. The bed was unbelievably comfortable! The location was really convinient with a starbucks and outlet mall accross the street, a TGIF on the property and a liquor store caddy corner. I won't even bother shopping around for other hotels next time i'm in the area, this one was perfect, can't wait to stay next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We feel the front desk clerks are NOT very freindly and accomidating to the guests--other than that, the rooms, breakfasts and grounds are excellent. We have stayed several times and this visit was not as good due to the front desk ladies.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad Beach
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad by the Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad by the Sea Resort

Address: 850 Palomar Airport Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4443 (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlsbad by the Sea)
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: £73 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad by the Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your best vacation - a vacation in Carlsbad California is like no other in the world. And choosing Carlsbad by the Sea Resort guarantees the perfect location for a fun-filled experience for the whole family. LEGOLAND(R) California Resort is located just a mile away and Carlsbad by the Sea Resort is a designated LEGOLAND "Preferred Hotel." We offer special packages that include hotel rooms, tickets to the theme park, and a shuttle ride to the entrance after you enjoy a full American breakfast. Carlsbad by the Sea is centrally located to everything the San Diego region has to offer. You are only 30 miles from the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo's Safari Park and SeaWorld. Pristine Carlsbad beaches or a game of golf are just minutes away. Spend time relaxing at the resort, walking on 22 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, and playing and exercising in our year-round outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center. And when it is time to dine, More than a dozen popular restaurant choices are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carlsbad by the Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing