We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Castaic, California
2 reviews
“Great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Loved that our room had outdoor access to the courtyard. The Legoland shuttle was very convenient. Also loved that we could walk to the outlets. We also took advantage of eating at TGIFridays on the premises. The free breakfast buffet was nice as we'll.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    257
    140
    47
    35
See reviews for
363
79
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel while visiting family in San Diego. The location was very convenient to shopping, restaurants and Legoland (which my kids loved). The free shuttle to Legoland was a huge plus as it was less than 10 minutes away. The staff was very friendly, especially the shuttle drivers who were so personable and accommodating. The pool was great and my room was cleaned early enough in the day and done very much to my liking. The free breakfast was a bonus and the staff did a great job keeping the dining area clean and running smooth. I did not give it a full "5 stars" because I feel it could use some minor fix ups such as the screen door to my balcony did not work, some painting needed touching up and the pillows on the beds were not comfortable. But, that's very minor compared to the overall experience I had, which was very pleasant. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are visiting in the Carlsbad area.

Room Tip: I selected the pool view which was so pretty to view in the early morning and convenient so I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blossom208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This is a nice Hotel to stay with a Big mall next. The rooms are clean. You find a nice Pool in the garden.
For breakfast you find a Starbucks a few steps across the road.
A Special sign of the Place is the windmill, which is used as Training center.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrobo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Has the best location if u go to legoland .Just in front of the flower fields and the outlet. Restaurants are just nearby even walking distance. Room has a good size and even has a patio.Bathroom has a nice size.Will stay here again.Also has free breakfast but theres a lot of restaurants nearby if u really want good food

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gertLasVegas_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel was a good choice for us. We wanted something affordable but not cheap. The room was standard and most importantly, clean. The service was good and the staff was nice.

One of the reasons we choose this hotel was for the proximity and shuttle service to Legoland. The trip to Legoland was good, we waited only a few minutes for a returning shuttle, even though there were multiple groups waiting. The shuttle driver are great, they are full of suggestions and tips. The pick-up however, was not as prompt. We waited over 40 minutes for the shuttle to pick us up, we could have walked back faster. Although after a long day of walking at the Park a ride back is just what we needed.

The complimentary breakfast was better than most places I've been. They actually offered eggs and sausage one morning, a step up from just cold cereal and pastries. And unlike other hotels there was plenty of seating.

The location was great. Close to shopping and many restaurants. When staying at a hotel for multiple days it's nice to have different dining options. There's even a Starbuck across the street.

Overall we had a great stay. We would stay again!

Room Tip: Bring a bathing suit and enjoy the hot tub and pool after a long day of playing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicandDav88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is very family friendly and walking distance to Legoland even though the hotel does offer complimentary shuttle. The location is also convenient to the outlet mall across the street, many restaurants and a Starbucks. Don't even waste your time on the complimentary morning breakfast. It's overrun, not maintained and simply not good food.

Other negatives, and they are slight but will remind me not to stay here again: the hotel rooms are dated in styling, pillows are horrible, TV is a flat screen but NOT HD and the building itself is older and showing many signs of wear and tear and not deep cleaning of rooms. There were many small mold stains in bathtub, fabric worn off desk chair, etc. Stuff that is minor but certainly noticeable.

But all in all…it's a good location for a couple nights. I wouldn't want to stay longer. Kids will love it though because it feels like a "theme" hotel and they don't notice the flaws but parents will quickly want to be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMEPasadena_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I came to the resort for spring break and I like the area that the resort is in. The only thing that I didn't really like was the complimentary breakfast. The food was cold and with little options. Everything else was fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
1.0 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad by the Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad by the Sea Resort

Property: Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Address: 850 Palomar Airport Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4443 (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlsbad by the Sea)
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad by the Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your best vacation - a vacation in Carlsbad California is like no other in the world. And choosing Carlsbad by the Sea Resort guarantees the perfect location for a fun-filled experience for the whole family. LEGOLAND(R) California Resort is located just a mile away and Carlsbad by the Sea Resort is a designated LEGOLAND "Preferred Hotel." We offer special packages that include hotel rooms, tickets to the theme park, and a shuttle ride to the entrance after you enjoy a full American breakfast. Carlsbad by the Sea is centrally located to everything the San Diego region has to offer. You are only 30 miles from the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo's Safari Park and SeaWorld. Pristine Carlsbad beaches or a game of golf are just minutes away. Spend time relaxing at the resort, walking on 22 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, and playing and exercising in our year-round outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center. And when it is time to dine, More than a dozen popular restaurant choices are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carlsbad by the Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing