We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short stay at Carlsbad by the Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent short stay at Carlsbad by the Sea”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at CBTS towards the end of our 16 day road trip across California and Nevada. There is an outlet mall across from the hotel and also lots of eating places within easy walking distance. We ate at BJs and has superb steak and craft beer there.
Breakfast was actually better than expected and you could eat either in the breakfast room or on the tables outside which was good.
The resort is a few miles from Carlsbad village itself so you need to take a taxi or else drive if you want to sample the nightlife. We did a bar crawl on our second night (taxi both ways) and our favourite spots were Pizza Port and Hennesseys for the karaoke (if you haven't seen a middle aged couple doing Fifty Cent's Candy Shop then you haven't lieved ... hilarious !).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citlec67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    263
    148
    51
    39
See reviews for
378
81
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Generally okay. It was just too pricey for me. The room was cute. We noticed a portion of the floor carpet was wet next to my bed which we noticed right away when we arrived to the room. I wonder what happened to it and why it wasn't even checked by the management before we the room was handed over to us. Just saying.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

You couldn't ask for a better location. Walking distance to outlet mall, Legoland and numerous restaurants. Beautiful grounds big rooms and spacious bathrooms. My only complaint was the breakfast was sub par mix in bacon and waffles and you have 5 stars hands down.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O-killz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. We usually travel with 1-2 kids, but would definitely recommend for any age/groups. It is centrally located to shopping, dining, Lego Land, and is a perfect distance from San Diego to not be overwhelmed by the bigger city. We have taken many day trips (both North and South) and feel like it was the perfect half way point to everything we wanted to do! The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff is always friendly and helpful! There is a good continental breakfast as well. We will definitely be back here again and again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamers05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix, az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, In for legoland and beach. I have to say it was a bit better that expected. The building looks pretty weird and old from the outside but Rooms are roomy and decent size bathrooms. Breakfast was pretty good as well although it was full every morning. Staff was friendly. The heated pool was pretty nice...The mall across the street is ok I think is a bit small tho. The TGI Friday restaurant next door to the hotel was horrible, food was very dry. Location is excelent. Over all it was worth the $$ we paid, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank latinalove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Everything Was Good, From The Room Service To The Shuttle. The Pool Area Was Very Clean, The Breakfast In The Morning Was Really Good. The Room We Stayed In Was Clean And Real Nice. We Had A Good Stay There, Across The Street Was A OutDoor Mall.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chucky562cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Checked in to our resort while staying in the San Diego/Carlsbad area. We were given a complimentary room upgrade, so the room was larger and had access to an outdoor patio, which was nice. We also had a pull-out bed in the form of a couch that came in handy, since it was 2 adults and 2 kids.

Check-in was Thursday around 4pm. They were clearly understaffed. One lady was helping a line of 4 families get checked in.

The breakfast was above average - nice selection of juices, coffee, bagels, toast, cereal, Denver omelette one day and cheese omelette another, fruit, etc

Loved that it was across the street from the Carlsbad Premium Outlets - great shopping and dining there.

Glad that they had a shuttle that could get us to Legoland, and it wasn't a huge bus, but a regular vehicle.

Beautiful grounds and the units are kept in good shape.

There was some kind of leak in the bathroom sink.

Wi-fi connection was incredibly inconsistent. Found myself using my mobile hotspot more than I would have liked.

Telling friends that it was a pleasant experience but a big question-mark on whether we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad by the Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad by the Sea Resort

Property: Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Address: 850 Palomar Airport Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4443 (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlsbad by the Sea)
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad by the Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your best vacation - a vacation in Carlsbad California is like no other in the world. And choosing Carlsbad by the Sea Resort guarantees the perfect location for a fun-filled experience for the whole family. LEGOLAND(R) California Resort is located just a mile away and Carlsbad by the Sea Resort is a designated LEGOLAND "Preferred Hotel." We offer special packages that include hotel rooms, tickets to the theme park, and a shuttle ride to the entrance after you enjoy a full American breakfast. Carlsbad by the Sea is centrally located to everything the San Diego region has to offer. You are only 30 miles from the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo's Safari Park and SeaWorld. Pristine Carlsbad beaches or a game of golf are just minutes away. Spend time relaxing at the resort, walking on 22 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, and playing and exercising in our year-round outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center. And when it is time to dine, More than a dozen popular restaurant choices are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carlsbad by the Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing