We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A charming choice”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My daughter and I recently spent two nights here in July 2014. Although this is an older property, it is clean and well maintained. The room was a bit larger than average, and it looked onto a very pretty garden with mature trees. The back of the property has a little highway noise from I-5, but with a little white noise, it was no big deal. The breakfast was average but did the trick. I would definitely stay here again in the future. It's also a really great location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Blessed_Travel_Buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    260
    143
    48
    36
See reviews for
369
79
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We really liked the outdoor entrances to rooms and how the buildings were situated to make the courtyards and pool area. Very quaint. The rooms were updated, clean, and comfortable. Upon arrival, we did a full mattress inspection for bed bugs and didn't bugs, or even lint, hair or dust. This of course led to comfortable, sound sleep. We had a wonderful vacation. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tu2142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in October 2012 and can say that everything went fine but it is more a motel than a "resort", the breakfast was frankly bad, although the service of the staff was kind. They are very near from Legoland (you can even walk because it is not far away), but they have the shuttle service to Legoland without extra cost. They are just in front of an Outlet, which is good for the people who like shopping. There is also a Costco very near. The room was spacious and clean. However, next time I rather decide to book in the Sheraton which is right in front of the entrance of Legoland and looks nicer (at least in photos).

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Diana256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is perfect for legoland, shopping, dining etc.... The staff was helpful, free ride to legoland, free breakfast etc.... People who have anything bad to say about their stay may just be looking for something to complain about. Sure it isn't fancy, but for the price what are you expecting. We had a wonderful 2 night stay. we would stay again

Room Tip: Floor pool view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegasqueen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
208 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

From the outside, this hotel is not appealing at all. You see a door with two very small windows (bathroom windows) and it does not look good. Inside, the rooms are pretty nice and clean. There is a microwave, fridge, and coffeepot. All the units have a balcony, so that really helps once you walk inside the unit. There is free continental breakfast, free WiFi, etc.. Located across the street from outlet shops with plenty of restaurants close by, but it is a 10 minute drive to the ocean. Beds were comfortable, pretty quiet for sleeping (appears to be well built), and the shower had great pressure. It is a bit pricey (average $200/night in the summer). The front desk was very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for Legoland and is also right near outlet stores. Quiet rooms. Outside of the hotel looks older but the rooms are nice inside. Would stay there again. They also provide a free shuttle to Legoland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great staff, room was a little dated but comfortable.
Breakfast wasn't great, but it was edible.
This hotel is not located in walking distance to anything but an outlet mall and some fast food joints which makes the service was very handy, drivers were most obliging.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are easier to access, especially if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
1.0 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad by the Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad by the Sea Resort

Property: Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Address: 850 Palomar Airport Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4443 (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlsbad by the Sea)
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad by the Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your best vacation - a vacation in Carlsbad California is like no other in the world. And choosing Carlsbad by the Sea Resort guarantees the perfect location for a fun-filled experience for the whole family. LEGOLAND(R) California Resort is located just a mile away and Carlsbad by the Sea Resort is a designated LEGOLAND "Preferred Hotel." We offer special packages that include hotel rooms, tickets to the theme park, and a shuttle ride to the entrance after you enjoy a full American breakfast. Carlsbad by the Sea is centrally located to everything the San Diego region has to offer. You are only 30 miles from the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo's Safari Park and SeaWorld. Pristine Carlsbad beaches or a game of golf are just minutes away. Spend time relaxing at the resort, walking on 22 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, and playing and exercising in our year-round outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center. And when it is time to dine, More than a dozen popular restaurant choices are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlsbad by the Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing