We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This is a somewhat older property that is in a great location.

The property is a split hotel & apartment complex on the edge of Carlsbad's center.

It is a little tired in places but the rooms are a great size and have pretty much everything you need including a good quality free Internet.

Ocean view rooms have nice balconies which are great for watching the sun set over the ocean.

Breakfast is pretty poor but that's really the only true negative.

There is a pool, spa & for the family a games room.

I've stayed here many times & I guess that says it all!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 171,959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

Sara you’re the bomb! my wife booked before we could research, as our plans were changing by the minute and was till my wife’s Birthday. I use Tripadvisor to check most if not all places I go, AAA had us booked 148 "garden view".... Trip advisor had an offer from the property of ocean view king and 150 and what she could do… In a minute it was don’t literally… when we arrived the staff was great the view true oceanfront Beds comfortable, we had a GOOD weekend… If you travel there are thing you expect…
Sara you brought above that bar and did a good job… I will come back and the boss owes you lunch…

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oceanview Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

this is the 2nd time we have stayed here my name is carmen rizzo and we stayed in room 108 both visits nice acomadation easy acess to beach and resturants nice pool and recreation area all employes very helpful

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarackBeachResort, Director of Sales at Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Thank you for the nice comments and look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We did a "Getaway Weekend" at Tamarack Beach Resort based on what we read here plus various other I-Net sources. The place lives up to its billing as a modern, clean, nicely located property tastefully decorated in California pastels. The resort is actually a Timeshare, with a limited group of "hotel" rooms for we non-TS people.

The room was reasonably large compared to others in the SoCal Beaches, and our private outside patio a swell spot to sip wine and ocean gaze. One factor that may bother some folks is the very close proximity of Carlsbad Blvd and its sidewalk. I'd guess around 15 feet from the patios. Traffic (and pedestrian) sounds begin early and last until midnight. We're early risers - even on vacation - as we always seem to run out of time to do "everything". So that was not a big issue for us. Persons inclined to sleep in late would do far better at that on the "land side".

Its an E-Z walk to the beach businesses and restaurants - they begin a half block North.

BTW - we had a very nice grazing meal at the restaurant (Nino's?) located in the S.W. corner of the bldg. Fresh, tasty seafood, burgers, etc and tropical drinks without the exposure to John Law.

On that point - California is deadly serious about DUI enforcement. Don't even think about drinking and driving there. A local resident said the fine & legal costs for a first offense is around $10,000. Plus extended jail time, no matter where you are from.

Since we enjoy refreshing adult libations during the course of a holiday outing, we walked a lot, and used readily available taxi cabs while our car relaxed in the complimentary guest parking garage below the building.

Next time there I plan on visiting more of the restaurants in C-B-T-S. Our 10 hour day trip to Catalina Island (from and return to Dana Point Marina) was Big Fun and highly recommended, but soaked up most of the Saturday that we would have otherwise spent in the Carlsbad area.

P.S. - O'Sullivan's Pub in Carlsbad is a blast for the real deal Guinness, Grub and Good Times.

Room Tip: Early Risers Ocean Side / Sleepers on the Other Side
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cactusbill23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarackBeachResort, Director of Sales at Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Thank you for the nice review we did want to clarify that although we are a Mixed Property with both Timeshare / Condo's and Hotel we do rent the Condo's (1 and 2 Bedrooms) and you do not need to be an Owner. The Tamarack Beach Resort has 23 Hotel Rooms with most having Private Patios and 54 (1 & 2 Bedroom Condos). Thank you again for the nice review and hope to see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

no problems.,no concerns,nice enough. pool was very clean and the staff really cares. for those not familiar with the area, it is probably 1 block south of where the action is....not a bad location by any means but about 1 or two blocks north of here is probablly preferred.
if renting, you get free daily contenintal breakfast....nothing fancy but it sure helps with the budget with traveling with kids. one special thing i reallly liked was the family atmosphere here....the "game room" is large and has 2 very nice pool tables, a ping pong table, bingo and games and there were many young kids and teens enjoying the supervised activities, here while parents grilled food at the complimentary grills at pool side. much nicer than it sounds and your kids can pick out a new DVD to watch in the room as they have a library of over 200 DVDs , a very current and wide variety selection. i can't rate this place "very good" because there was nothing special....just a nice clean comfortable place with nice staff. Better than average but they don't let me put 3 and a half as a rating.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1999Spurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Great location near downtown Carlsbad. You will wait longer for the crosswalk than actually walking. First floor rooms facing the beach can have traffic noise issues. Would stay here again if I was staying in Carlsbad for less than a week.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JQRFDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Our stay at the Tamarack was wonderful! The rooms are clean and the ocean view from our balcony was great. The staff were all helpful and friendly. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cacovert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,330 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
669 reviews
3.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel

Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £121 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California, just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to the Village. Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with non obstructed Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach. We offer accommodations with Hotel rooms, Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) and a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room. We can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast with hot items, Microwave, Small Refrigerator, In Room Wireless Internet, Secure Gated Parking combined with resort amenities such as a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs, Gym, BBQ Area and Recreation Room. Our Condos have a fully equipped Kitchen, Stack-able Washer and Dryer and a Private Patio. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience "A Touch of Paradise" with our immaculate views, friendly staff and beautifully decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing