We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Small, dark (but nice) room off courtyard. Sheer curtains did not provide the privacy I would have liked. AC rather loud (but efficient). The bed was comfortable. Loved the location near the beach and restaurants. Will stay here again but will upgrade to a room off the courtyard.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is probably a very nice hotel, but we were let down by a room that only had a small window out to a courtyard. It made the room seem very confined and dark.
The location was great and a very good breakfast was provided.
The room was very expensive for what we got and was one of the most expensive rooms we stayed in during our Southern California holiday and by far the most disappointing.
Of the 6 hotels we stayed in during our trip this is the only one I wouldn't bother returning to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meganshawnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We loved the quiet ambience if this hotel. My 6 year old and 15 year old niece and nephew loved the pool, and my 92 year old mother enjoyed the view and the nice room. Four generations spent three nights and enjoyed the amenities.

Room Tip: Partial views ar almost as good as full view and on quieter part of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at the timeshare portion of this resort. We were on the third floor and had a partial ocean view. We were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the beautiful ocean view in the morning and the sunsets in the evening. We had a one bedroom that was very large and was big enough for my family on the weekend and my friends during the week. We stayed a week. The Village is within walking distance with many good restaurants. The beach is accross the street with very easy access.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank redhatelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed here Aug 3-8 2013 for a family vacation. This hotel is across the beach but have to cross a busy street to access the beach. My sister and her family had always stay here for the past 4 years vacationing in Carlsbad and loves the location. We were given a suite on our first night but was told we were going to move the next day to another room which was fine us. The room had an ocean view and we eat our breakfast on the balcony enjoying the ocean view. The rest of our stay we still had an ocean view room and ate breakfast every morning on the balcony or watch the sunsets in the evening if we were in our room. It's not a fancy hotel but accommodation are clean and comfortable. There are activities for the kids ie rock painting class, playing pool, table tennis or borrow movies and watch it in your room's dvd. The pool is small and there are 2 hot tubs.The are restaurants are all around the hotel and are walking distance. The new sandwich place on the next block is very good and cheap. There is a very basic continental breakfast and no eggs or bacon offered.
The front desk staff were always very friendly and helpful as well as the hotel maids.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RN2GO925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I read the review prior to our stay. Some mentioned that the rooms smelled funny and I thought so too but nothing to be concerned about, just a kind of old smell. The rooms have been updated with newer fixtures, toilet, flat screen tv, etc. The room and bathroom were clean and we enjoyed our night stay. As we were packing my husband noticed the biggest cock roach he has ever seen and that is saying a lot since we are from Houston TX. Roach motel?, probably not but I don't think I will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tluedtke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel/timeshare unit is across from a busy street, not directly on the beach like many other options in Carlsbad. We stayed 4 nights and our room was extremely small. The rec room is a nice addition because our kids enjoyed it. The location was pretty good. Not far to many good restaurants. Unfortunately it was just a very average stay. The front staff almost never acknowledged our presence. Hotel rooms are only the 1st floor, so you can't possibly move up, and the first floor street view would be so noisy. A free breakfast is provided but it is essentially just carbs, we generally made our way down to Daily News or Café Elysa. At almost 200 a night, I definitely expected better. Housekeeping was great.

Room Tip: King rooms near the hallway are really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DestinationAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,350 reviews
3.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel

Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £118 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California, just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to the Village. Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with non obstructed Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach. We offer accommodations with Hotel rooms, Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) and a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room. We can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast with hot items, Microwave, Small Refrigerator, In Room Wireless Internet, Secure Gated Parking combined with resort amenities such as a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs, Gym, BBQ Area and Recreation Room. Our Condos have a fully equipped Kitchen, Stack-able Washer and Dryer and a Private Patio. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience "A Touch of Paradise" with our immaculate views, friendly staff and beautifully decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing