We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - location & staff were awesome!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel was great! We had a small problem and the way they handled it was fantastic. The fire alarm went off a couple of times in our room at 2:00 AM. We initially thought the battery was dead, but it never made a sound after that. Also, the coffee maker in our room was broken. We went to the front desk in the morning and spoke with Shelly. She was great. We told her about the alarm and coffee maker. She called maintenance immediately as we were standing there to fix both problems and offered to change our room. We agreed and she gave us an upgrade from our courtyard view room to a partial ocean view room. We had such a great time in Carlsbad and liked the hotel a lot, so we decided to stay an extra night. We went to Shelly and, although our current room was reserved for the following night, she would move us to another partial ocean view room. We were fine with that. When we were ready to move, we found out that Shelly had once again upgraded us from a partial ocean view room to an ocean front room!! What a great stay! The rooms and grounds were very clean. They mopped the courtyard floors and cleaned the pool every morning. Everyone who worked there was friendly and accommodating, especially Shelly. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

What a beautiful location for a marriage retreat. Awesome Hotel with a beautiful room overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Pacific Coast Hwy. Accommodations were great and everyone here is very friendly and polite. Great game room, Continental breakfast and court yard area for swimming and spa with bar b ques

Room Tip: Get the Full Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have now stayed 2 x's ( May and August) at the Tamerack in the Village of Carlsbad. Wow so close to the beach and everything else in the area I can walk all over, not only to the beach but also the shops and restaurants in the area, plus they have the best staff, always friendly and helpful...they have courtyard and beach view rooms I've done both in the last few months and was not disappointed. They also have a pool and spa off the courtyard. This is my new favorite place to stay. Going back in October...

Room Tip: if you want a view of the beach then ask for that upgrade I stayed in the courtyard room 1x and part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Small, dark (but nice) room off courtyard. Sheer curtains did not provide the privacy I would have liked. AC rather loud (but efficient). The bed was comfortable. Loved the location near the beach and restaurants. Will stay here again but will upgrade to a room off the courtyard.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is probably a very nice hotel, but we were let down by a room that only had a small window out to a courtyard. It made the room seem very confined and dark.
The location was great and a very good breakfast was provided.
The room was very expensive for what we got and was one of the most expensive rooms we stayed in during our Southern California holiday and by far the most disappointing.
Of the 6 hotels we stayed in during our trip this is the only one I wouldn't bother returning to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meganshawnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We loved the quiet ambience if this hotel. My 6 year old and 15 year old niece and nephew loved the pool, and my 92 year old mother enjoyed the view and the nice room. Four generations spent three nights and enjoyed the amenities.

Room Tip: Partial views ar almost as good as full view and on quieter part of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at the timeshare portion of this resort. We were on the third floor and had a partial ocean view. We were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the beautiful ocean view in the morning and the sunsets in the evening. We had a one bedroom that was very large and was big enough for my family on the weekend and my friends during the week. We stayed a week. The Village is within walking distance with many good restaurants. The beach is accross the street with very easy access.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank redhatelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
2.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel

Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £129 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California, just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to the Village. Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with non obstructed Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach. We offer accommodations with Hotel rooms, Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) and a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room. We can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast with hot items, Microwave, Small Refrigerator, In Room Wireless Internet, Secure Gated Parking combined with resort amenities such as a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs, Gym, BBQ Area and Recreation Room. Our Condos have a fully equipped Kitchen, Stack-able Washer and Dryer and a Private Patio. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience "A Touch of Paradise" with our immaculate views, friendly staff and beautifully decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing