We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ocean Palms Beach Resort(Carlsbad)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Terrace Inn(Carlsbad)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
Hyland Inn Near Legoland(Carlsbad)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
202
99
39
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
99
39
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrecreation roomacross the streetwithin walking distancegreat locationfirst floorocean viewstreet noisecarlsbad villagetime sharefree underground parkingcontinental breakfastping pongprivate patiorestaurants and shopscan't beat the locationyogurtthoroughly enjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Wonderful location, set up, and ambiance. Everything was just as we expected. We highly recommend this location. There are a limited number of hotel rooms available as most of the patrons seem to be from time shares. This makes for a nice environment. We also like the breakfast that was included and the coffee/tea area at all times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not over the underground parking garage door. Some noise but not late at night from this.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buster843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I have stayed here on two occasions and loved it each time. We look forward to a return visit. Close to the beach, dining and great accommodations...all at a very reasonable rate! We highly recommend the Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel!

Room Tip: We didn't use the Spa, but our room faced the ocean and we will be sure to request a room facing the ocean the next time we visit.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

They gave us a room by the court yard and wouldn't change it! People partied till 2pm by our window in the court yard. We called the lobby and was told court yard is OPEN 24/7. The room had a sheer curtain ONLY and we got the court yard light in our room all night. On Sunday at 6am the cleaning crew started cleaning the court yard, moving chairs and mopping making lots of noise. Overall, the worst motel room I've ever had. Don't stay in this motel. you will be sorry!

Room Tip: do not stay here
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ellie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Not knowing San Diego much, asked a friend who got us a room at Tamarack. It was GREAT.
Hotel staff is awesome. All extremely nice and helpful. Our room was ocean view... awesome to sit outside at the patio.
Beach is literally across the street with a mini shower conveniently located closeby.
Hotel surroundings have plenty of restaurants and cafes so you dont really need to drive if you dont want to.
About 30 min away of downtown San Diego which makes it close enough that you can go as many times as you want and far enough that it aint that busy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arbonfieti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel was great! We had a small problem and the way they handled it was fantastic. The fire alarm went off a couple of times in our room at 2:00 AM. We initially thought the battery was dead, but it never made a sound after that. Also, the coffee maker in our room was broken. We went to the front desk in the morning and spoke with Shelly. She was great. We told her about the alarm and coffee maker. She called maintenance immediately as we were standing there to fix both problems and offered to change our room. We agreed and she gave us an upgrade from our courtyard view room to a partial ocean view room. We had such a great time in Carlsbad and liked the hotel a lot, so we decided to stay an extra night. We went to Shelly and, although our current room was reserved for the following night, she would move us to another partial ocean view room. We were fine with that. When we were ready to move, we found out that Shelly had once again upgraded us from a partial ocean view room to an ocean front room!! What a great stay! The rooms and grounds were very clean. They mopped the courtyard floors and cleaned the pool every morning. Everyone who worked there was friendly and accommodating, especially Shelly. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews