We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This hotel is a gem.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I just enjoyed a wonderful weekend stay at the Tamarack. In the past we have stayed at a nice resort down the street, but the Tamarack is our new favorite hotel in Carlsbad. We had an ocean-front room which was truly spectacular. Although I understand all of the hotel rooms are located on the first floor (the second and third floors are timeshares), the patio is more like a balcony, as it sits up above street level. The panoramic ocean view from the balcony is beautiful. I will say there was quite a bit of street noise Saturday night, but for me that’s not a deal breaker at all. It’s just a byproduct of the hotel’s great location. Easy underground parking, wifi and a continental breakfast are included and there is no additional resort fee. Our room was updated and clean (no dark blue walls like those shown in some of the room pictures online). The pool/hot tub(s) area is very nice, with plenty of tables and chairs. There is a rec room near the pool with a ping pong table and pool table, among other things. I'm picky and this property was very clean. We saw the most beautiful sunset I have seen in my life from the third floor deck overlooking the beach. Jessie at the front desk was especially helpful and accommodating. In fact, all of the staff we encountered were friendly. I kind of hate to rave about the place online because I want to have ready access, but this hotel is a gem. I have already reserved an ocean-front room in a few months to celebrate my birthday. Family members who visited us there have also reserved a room. I can’t wait to go back. [Some older reviews mention a problem with water pressure. We didn’t experience that at all. Water pressure in the shower was excellent.]

Room Tip: It is well worth the few extra dollars for an ocean-front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickytraveler56_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    91
    38
    8
    8
See reviews for
142
112
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Central Arizona, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great stay again at the Tamarack. Opted for the partial ocean view room which still has great ocean views and less street noise. Daily breakfast is very good which includes hot choices as well as cereal, breakfast bars, yogurt, juice coffee/tea (coffee pot in room also). The hotel is well maintained/clean, and staff friendly/helpful. The resort has pool and spa (hotel provides beach towels for use) as well as rec. room which also has a microwave available for use. The hotel is directly across the street from the beach and easy walking to Carlsbad Village. There is a patio/viewing area on the 3rd floor that is great for sunsets. Plenty of restaurants nearby and within walking distance. Stayed here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank explorer9180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

After researching every single ocean view lodging option all the way up the coast from San Diego, we finally found this one. It was perfect! What originally sold us was that when we called to check, they were willing to give us a government rate for being a non-California state employee (the others all do California only). The free parking and breakfast cinched the decision.

We did the full ocean view, which I highly recommend. Yes you can hear the street traffic, but the view makes up for it. Although the room wasn't fancy, it was quite spacious. We had two queens, which still left plenty of room for our daughter's Pack 'n Play. Everything was clean.

The beach is easily accessed by crossing the street (at a signal) and walking down a gentle, paved ramp. My mom took our daughter in her jogging stroller with no problems.

We ate the breakfast, which was definitely continental. However, the area was clean and the items attractively displayed. Dense waffles were also available at the desk.

Although the upper floors apparently are condos/time shares rather than hotel rooms, we were able to go up to a 3rd floor public balcony to watch the sunset over the ocean. Beautiful!

The grounds were tidy and the staff friendly. We never saw anyone swimming, but the pool did look clean and inviting. We will definitely stay here again if we're ever in the area!

Room Tip: Go for the full ocean view! Room 104 was great if you want two queens.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank civil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

During a road / surf trip with my girlfriend we had a pleasant stay at the tamarack. We had an oceanview room with a big bed (don't if its a queen or kingsizebed cause i'm not a pro hotel booker) anyways..... Nice to get up in the morning and jump on the promenade for a quick surf check and relaxing in the late afternoon after a smashing burger in the fish restaurant which is based on top of the promenade.
Rooms are clean and basic. As carlsbad in usual there are bit more older guys and familys.
The breakfast was pretty american, but hey you are in america right? Very friendly staff at the reception desk, so the the housekeeping is.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andypico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I am back from spring break in Carlsbad and have been busy online making sure I secure another stay at Tamarack Beach Resort. We loved everything! Garage parking under the hotel was free and simple. Our check-in was efficient and pleasant, and the friendly person at the front desk gave us exactly the room with an ocean view and balcony that we reserved (this is noteworthy, considering how late we arrived!). The room itself was clean with white comfortable bedding and subtly-scented bath amenities. There was no charge for Wi-Fi or breakfast. I was in sheer heaven with the spectacular complimentary coffee my husband kept bringing. My daughters said there was a ping-pong table and pool table, along with magazines. Location is paramount, and where the hotel is situated is unbeatable. We loved finding unique eateries, shops, and the beach itself, just steps from the resort! Now back to completing my reservation for May...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank K2A2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarackBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. We are truly happy you and your family had such an enjoyable time. We are excited you will be coming back soon and look forward to seeing you!
Warm Regards,
Shelli Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here during spring break for four nights, and it was absolutely fantastic. The king room with a full ocean view is the way to go! There was a very nice continental breakfast each morning that also included bacon and sausage, along with several choices, including bagels, danishes, yogurts, and cereals.

We especially enjoyed sitting out on our room patio each evening, watching the sun go down beyond the Pacific, while taking in the waves and the sounds of the surf, all while having a bottle of wine and a light dinner. This was the highlight of our day each day--stopping off to purchase a quality wine, some cheese, crackers, and other light snacks, and relaxing on the patio.

There are only about four handicap-parking accessible spots in the underground garage, but regular parking seems to be adequate. Please note that the first floor is hotel rooms only, while the second and third floor are time-share condos. The number of full ocean view rooms is limited, so book well in advance to assure a great view of the Pacific; these king rooms book out very quickly. The hotel is directly on the Coastal road that parallels the Pacific Ocean, making it very easy to travel a scenic route to one's destination. Access to Interstate 5 is very easy as well, and the beautiful Carlsbad Village is a great way to spend the afternoon or evening. A nice, quiet little town that has plenty of local shops, as well as locally-owned restaurants.

To really enhance the stay, avoid the franchised and chain restaurants further east into town. Stick to the local establishments for dining.

Overall, an extremely wonderful trip, enjoyable, and definitely a memorable experience that will warrant another stay in the near future.

Room Tip: King room with full ocean view is the way to go. The queen rooms do not have a full ocean view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarackBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your great review!!! We are elated that you had such a memorable and enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Until then, the ocean air and wine and cheese will anxiously await your return!! :)

Kind Regards,

Shelli Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
208 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were very happy with this hotel. We were given a room with a corner balcony facing the ocean on the 1st floor, amazing view. While this hotel is a bit older, it is built well and the rooms are a bit larger which is nice. We were concerned about the noise of the traffic at bedtime, but the heavy curtains muffled the street noise nicely while we could still hear the ocean, which was nice. There is a nice pool and lounging area in the middle of the hotel which also keeps the wind to a minimum. They also have an activity room with ping pong, etc. Also a free continental breakfast which we didn't try. Staff was great, courteous and attentive. We will be back! Free underground parking was nice too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wbforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
2.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
654 reviews
3.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel

Property: Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California, just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to the Village. Dini's by the Sea, a local favorite is located on the premises, best known for there Sunset Dinners.Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with non obstructed Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach. We offer accommodations with Hotel rooms, Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) and a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room. We can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast with hot items, Microwave, Small Refrigerator,In Room Wireless Internet, Secure Parking combined with resort amenities such as a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs, Gym, BBQ Area and Recreation Room. Our Condos have a fully equipped Kitchen, Stack-able Washer and Dryer and a Private Patio. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience "A Touch of Paradise" with our immaculate views, friendly staff and beautifully decorated rooms and resort amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing